We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is our family destination hotel every year on the all inclusive package. It is our destination of choice because of the package and also the activities which the children enjoy so much as well as the adults. The rooms are great; the food and the service. I would recommend it any day.

Room Tip: If you are a many the superior rooms are good with easier access to from the dinning and the fun poo...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest.
On behalf of the team at Voyager Beach Resorts, I would like to thank you for choosing Voyager Beach Resorts during your recent holiday and making time to share your wonderful experience in this forum.

We are excited to know that you had an enjoyable time and many thanks for your recommendation.

We will be honored again to host you in your next vacation.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,012)
There are newer reviews for Voyager Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 3,012 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed there for one week with my family between December 2013 and January 2014. The experience is simply awesome. The Animation team is so creative and committed. I love the diversity of the presentations. The zeal and passion of their delivery is amazing. ... The experience is very consistent. The New Year Eve celebration was wonderful... enjoyed the music fireworks and the food. This could be my 10th stay in the hotel and it feels fresh every time. I am looking forward to making another visit soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the Ocean. The view is fantastic and the lapping of the sea at night soothing...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest.

Many thanks for your continued support and we hope that your year began well.

I want to take this opportunity thank youfor making time to share your great experience at Voyager Beach Resorts in this forum.

The team really appreciate your positive comments and we appreciate your loyalty and we look forward host you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

it is the worst hotel ever
we went in a group and the service was so bad.
arrived at the hotel nothing was ready.then the service so bad you ask for a drink even water it takes almost an hour to come to you.
we asked them to join a table for use staff are rude the ignored us.We had to join the table ourselves.
service there staff, rooms and food all sucks
staff and recption staff are very rude
never ever go there it is waste of money..it so bad you will rather stay at home
when you check out they try to cheat you

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter" "Corner suites are large and sunny" &quo...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jai n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Guest.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Voyager Beach resorts during your recent holiday.

I have gone through your feedback in regard to your experience and I want to sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectation, truly speaking that is not our standards and we indeed dropped the ball.

Your feedback is an important tool for enabling us make corrective action and that process has been completed and I can assure you of a better experience in your next visit.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Rooms but tired and could do with a refurb and some tlc.

Staff bit mixed some charming and others totally disinterested.

Food was ok but bit repetitive although fish restaurant was very good.

Probably would not return even if the price was right.


  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holliegg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest.

Many thanks for taking time to share your holiday experience during your recent stay at Voyager Beach Resorts.

We want to thank you for choosing Voyager as your holiday destination. We have taken note of the areas that did not meet your expectation namely quality of our rooms and repetitive of the menu. We have began the process of improving on our room furnishing and also reviewing the menus.

We are confident that you will have a better experience in your next visit and would politely request that you give us another opportunity to be your good host in your next holiday trip.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Apologies for the delay writing this review, but we’re sure everything will be the same as it was when we travelled.

We stayed at Voyager Beach in October 2012 which was our first time there and had our wedding on the rooftop midway through our stay. What a fabulous place. The staff were amazing, so friendly and always with a welcoming smile and a happy ‘Jambo’ to greet you.
We read many reviews on Trip Advisor before we chose the resort and we were so glad to see that all the positive comments were true and the people that were mentioned actually do exist and live up to all those remarks.
Neither of us have ever done the ‘all inclusive’ thing before but as we were getting married out there we felt it needed to be a special holiday, with all the trimmings, safari and honeymoon at the same time.
The location of the hotel is right next to the beach with fantastic views out to sea and down the coast from the ‘lookout’ bar. There is so much to do whilst at Voyager, whether you want to relax on the sun loungers around one of the pools, wander round the beautiful grounds, chill out in the lovely air-conditioned shops or pamper yourself in the salon. There are bars inside or out, a snack bar where you can get food served all day and the choice at mealtimes in the main restaurant is phenomenal! The hotel caters for every taste and you can always find something new to try each mealtime. Which reminds me, thanks to the three guys that entertained us during several lunchtimes, playing such lovely relaxing traditional music, I could have listened to them all day.
We looked forward to the evening entertainment each night, as it was varied and always top quality. The guys and girls in the Animation team work very hard rehearsing for the shows and always put in 100%. Considering they also provide the sporting entertainment in the pool, and kids club games, they are kept busy all day!

As I said all the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, if there was anything they could do to help, they would, no matter what it was. To watch the gardeners climbing up the palm trees, barefoot, with a three foot machete in his teeth to cut the dead leaves & bring coconuts down was something else, (a world away from Health & Safety!!)
The organisation of the wedding went very smoothly with a few simple questions from Renson our co-ordinator who was very experienced and managed to arrange everything we asked without a hitch.
The girls in the boutique took care of the bride on the day with all the trimmings and nothing was too much trouble.

Following our lovely wedding we booked a three day safari to Tsavo East & West with JT Safaris (please see other review), but on our return we were back in the beach view room, although some hotels expect you to pack everything up and allocate you another room when you return, this was not the case at Voyager.

As part of our wedding package we were offered a free meal at the a la carte restaurant at Voyager which was magnificent and a lovely experience. We had our young son with us and although the meal was only for the newlyweds, the hotel kindly offered to provide him a place in the restaurant for free, this was arranged by Renson & it was a lovely gesture.
There were also a couple of other lovely surprises laid on by the hotel which we’ll keep secret in case anyone is intending going there to get married!!

The whole experience at the Voyager was one that we will cherish for ever and the lovely people we met there will remain our friends for many years to come. The rooms, the cleanliness, attention to detail, friendliness, choice & amenities were all much more than we could ever have hoped for.

Special mention must go to Merci our hotel rep and Renson our wedding co-ordinator, we’d rather not start mentioning the other fantastic staff we met as we’re sure to leave someone out but they were ALL amazing, friendly and professional in their duties with some of the biggest smiles you’ll ever see.



The only disappointment is that we were hoping to return this year for my husbands 50th and to see all the staff again, but we’ve learned that since we travelled First Choice & now Thomsons have pulled out of Voyager so we are very limited for travel agents.

If you are able to afford it we would urge you to make the effort, you will NOT be disappointed and hopefully you’ll have as memorable trip as we did.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a beach front room which gave us a magnificent view from sunrise to sunset.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest.

I would like to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience you had during your stay at Voyager Beach resorts and the memories of your wedding and we are so honored to have been part of this important occasion.

Voyager Beach resorts is one of the best wedding destination and you can a test to that, the friendliness of our staff makes this place a home a way from from.

We want to appreciate you for your detailed feedback and looking forward to celebrating your anniversaries for many years to come at Voyager.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We are still staying at this hotel and It is sometimes hard to believe that this is a three star as the standards of many things are outstanding. The food at this hotel is exemplary and outshines many of the 5 stars we have stayed at. The seafood restaurant is an absolute must visit and in my opinion isn't advertised enough, the food was exquisite and Jorge made the atmosphere just perfect, it cost approx £50 for 3 courses and a bottle of wine and the lobsters were the biggest I have ever seen in my life!! Mama milly gives THE best massages known to man but the boutique salon needs some big improvement. Margaret provides drinks around the adults pool and is very friendly while David is the main guy at the top bar and is always there to make sure everything is perfect. Rooms are a bit tatty but worth paying the extra for a superior sea view. There are a lot of staff and it is apparent that some work a lot harder than others which can let service slip at times! Overall great place, food and some of the staff are the main attraction here along with the lovely pools, the gym was out of use which was a disappointment but I would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank boyesystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest.

I trust you have started your year well, and many thanks for your continued support and most importantly getting time to share your enjoyable holiday experience in this forum.

My colleagues you have mentioned in your feedback are delighted and their names have been forward for employee of the months award scheme that recognizes those colleagues who go out of their way to turn guest moments into memories.

We look forward to another fantastic moments in your next visit

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Having made a return visit, found it just as peaceful and relaxing. Having stayed a bit longer this time, Food variety in the evenings was supposed to be different but the lack of distinct flavours meant that it all tasted quite similar. My previous review which prompted an initial response from management was never really addressed after so to be on the safe side we only consumed hot meals. Drinks menu, location and most importantly, staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Sea view room is the way to go!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your holiday experience at Voyager Beach resorts. We really appreciate you support.

We have taken note that you had sent a review before in regard to food offering and this was not addressed, my most sincere apologies.

The chef and his team have taken this into consideration and are reviewing menus to address different needs of our guests.

I am confident that you will have a better experience in your next visit and do no hesitate to let the management know should you have any special dietary needs.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 60 in Mombasa
985 reviews
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
554 reviews
4.9 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#8 of 14 in Bamburi
128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: $118 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing