We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3,368 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,524 helpful votes
“Decent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Paid $115 USD on Hotels.com for a junior suite with breakfast and dinner included but ended up getting a normal room. Probably should have realised before booking given that the price was relatively cheap: I wouldn't recommend paying for an upgraded room as you probably won't get it.

That said, I thought the hotel was still decent value for money. 3 pools, nice beach (but plenty of harassment from touts), scuba diving options, decent breakfast and good dinner.

Hotel itself is probably 3 star standard and the price reflects this.

Found the staff generally quite friendly and helpful.

Free wifi in the lobby only (not available in the rooms).

Agree with other comments that this place is best suited to families.

Once onsite you are captive to the hotel taxi mafia, so prepare to be gouged with 1800 shilling taxi fares to the airport and 1200 shillings into town, each way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Chief Operations Officer at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for posting your review. This is truly appreciated. We have taken note of what worked and what seemed to be a concern.
These are all on my desk now and you can consider it work in progress.
Regards,
The Voyager Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,701
    831
    240
    87
    50
See reviews for
801
1,375
80
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Am speechless totally amazing. The warmth and hospitality i received from the staff just blew me away.The cuisine i s out of this world. i especially enjoyed the live band music in the evening as i enjoy the scrumptious dinner .The chef on duty(i believe his name is Maurice) took really good care of us ,always checking on us to see how we are fairing . Voyager is officially my hotel of choice every time i visit the coast .kudos and keep it up

Room Tip: sea view rooms are always a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurumaajabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are honored to have been of service. We look forward to your next visit.
The Voyager Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

After reading the glorified TripAdvisor reviews about Voyager; we ended up booking Voyager beach resort for our Mombasa stay. I am always skeptical of these over the top all inclusive places and my wariness became reality just upon check in at Voyager. This place is just a big mess where no one takes responsibility. They messed up our booking and put us in wrong rooms and kept blaming us since we had made reservations “online”. In reality; we had NOT booked through Expedia, Bookings.com etc but had booked the reservation directly through Voyager website and their reservation staff was involved in our booking. Service at this hotel is REALLY REALLY slow too and it just never gives you a warm feeling about your stay. To make it worse the staff reminded us on 2 different occasions that this chain is owned by the President of Kenya (remind me now: is it the same gentleman that is facing trial in The Hague on charges of crimes against humanity). Not sure if it meant it is an excuse for slow and bad service or what?

The rooms in the hotel surround some common green area next to the main restaurant. From 9 PM to 11 PM they have loud music activities in this area which is really troublesome and obnoxiously loud. During our stay they had local conferences and high school kids from all over Nairobi stay at the property too. Obviously, that’s not bad in itself but if you are a foreigner visitor seeking some solace and relaxation then this may not be a good place for you. Mombasa now offers several other choices… Property next door such as Bahari Beach Hotel and Reef Hotel would have been MUCH better choices for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank World_Trvlr1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Clearly something very awfully wrong with your booking and the stay. I am working on it to establish and correct.
Further Ownership of the Hotel is irrelevant to you as a Guest and i must apologize profusely for this discussion you had with a staff member. It should not be the case.
Voyager is a Business entity and operates as such and it should really not matter who the owners are.
obviously this is one kind of review we have not received for a long time and so we are overdrive in getting to the bottom of it.
Thanks for coming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks in Voyager in January.
We have lived in and visited Kenya many times, but would rate Voyager as our best hotel.
The dining room food was excellent and varied. We did not find it repetitive - after all one doesn't need to eat everything everyday! The Italian restaurant was superb, only surpassed perhaps by the Smugglers' Cove fish restaurant.
Our ONLY complaint was that the snack bar frequently supplied cold food, fish, steak etc.. They seem to prepare it freshly for you, then leave it somewhere to cool down!
The animation team were all stars - great, original shows nightly - very professionally directed. Each one of the team was also able to supply Swahili lessons to me at a reasonably high level. I would single out Riziki, Sharon and Jacinta for high praise.
The look-out bar was magical.
We found the staff kind, courteous and efficient - without exception. One staff member misunderstood the nature of our 40 year black/white marriage and gave my wife some inappropriate advice, but never mind! We made friends later, and he got a good tip! We found that quite funny really.
Our sea-view room was pleasant and certainly quite adequate. I loved getting up for a convenient swim before breakfast.
We organised lovely Tsavo safaris through Humphrey of Natural World Safaris, Mombasa - 00254 41231 9808.
We will certainly go to Voyager again - not cheap though.

Room Tip: We didn't go to the spa - hence rating. Sea-facing rooms are worth the extra expense - lovely m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbo850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Chief Operations Officer at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
indeed. Thanks for this acknowledgement.
Regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

A truly remarkable all inclusive beach resort,my boyfriend and I had a amazing experience through out our stay.the staff are extremely friendly,and the animation team....just incredible,we never missed any of the activities,from the the sports on the volleyball pitch,to the performances at night.we had a beautiful view of the fun pool from the room(3311)and we just couldn't stay away,the relaxation pool,brilliant,!!!as we could directly face the beach.we enjoyed a nice romantic dinner in the Italian restaurant,and the sea food wow!!!we are definitely coming back!!!as for the following staff,James-the supervisor if am not wrong,kelvin, crispin,Susan,Nelson,riziki keep up the good work,not to mention johari and the lady the pancake area,you made us fat with all those goodies.we wish u all the best.

Tim & Angel

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, COO at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Magnificent indeed. We are so glad you came.
Good day
The Voyager Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

went there during the Christmas period and the hotel was jam packed. First thing finding the hotel is quite difficult for first time visits. we are Kenyans ourselves and we got lost a couple of times before finding the hotel.They should actually work on that. the rooms are okay but if u need a triple bed, that might be a problem. when did one double and twin constitute to a triple?????
the food is fantastic and the activities are quite good. we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves,everyday we would find something different to do. Compared to other beach hotels, we had no problems with beach boys.
all in all, a good experience. i am yet to make up my mind as part of me prefers turtle bay beach resort in watamu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, COO at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for posting this review. We hope you will soon make a decision to come back to Voyager. We all look forward to hosting you again and again.
Kind regards,
The Voyager Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights after our safari as we're keen to book following so many fantastic reviews. The people at the voyager are so welcoming and helpful, they really make your stay memorable. Everyone says 'Jambo' as you walk by! Evening entertainment was good and varied, the animation team work tremendously hard.
The reason we give the Voyager 4 stars instead of five is firstly the rooms could do with a little tlc. We didn't bother to upgrade as we don't go half way across the world to sit in our room, so it didn't really bother us, though they are looking a little tired now. And as lovely as the Buffett style food was, it is definitely 3.5stars as per the hotel rating, rather then five.
Would definitely recommend the hotel though - do get involved in their activities. The snorkelling trip was amazing, only an additional $15pp which covers the marine park costs. And do go and jive to the Mombasa Roots band when they are playing - fantastic live music evening!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank annie2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello Guest,
We thank you for staying in Voyager. We are grateful you got time to post the feedback.
Kind regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
4.9 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#18 of 58 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Property: Voyager Beach Resort
Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing