We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at this resort having booked while we were in Nairobi,that was a huge mistake and a tip for anybody who is planning a two centre break in Africa book before you leave home the travel agent we used took two days to book and confirm complete nightmare.We were mildly amused when we arrived at the hotel having waited in roasting weather for the hotel transport to arrive,it never did but they did send a local taxi which was a little scary as the lady I spoke to told me the driver was safe! So the first half of the journey we were petrified, the check in at the hotel was smooth and Peter who took us to our room was lovely,he told us everything that we needed to know.We had booked a garden room and the view was lovely.The room itself was ok but could have done with a little told.The hotel has catered for everyone with the swimming pools having a quiet adults only pool and two other pools as well.The package we had included free aqua sports and we had great fun taking out little boats and pedals,don't take your camera or mobile with you as we learnt when they were immediately soaked. For me the food was average with not a great deal of variety and some strange choices,one evening there were roasted meats available but no potatoes of any kind which I thought was odd,only downside in the restaurant was the fly zapper which goes off constantly,if you are close when an insect meets its doom you may get sprayed with debris not nice.The hotel has a theme each day which needs a little more thought by the entertainments team a banner tells you where you have docked for the day and you may find something relating to that place on the menu but there it stops I thought it was a little pointless given that the hotel Is in the most beautiful place promote Mombasa instead. The shops in the hotel were very good and stocked some reasonably priced souvenirs and also basics if you run out of Sun tan lotion etc. We had a very pleasant stay at the voyager and found the staff were extremely helpful and hard working,however given the number of hotels in mombasa I don't think I would stay there on my next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auburnaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Ahoy Guest,
We thank you for posting the comments that you have on the forum. Your comments are note and truly appreciated.
The few concerns raised will be addressed.
Regards,
The Voyager Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,031 - 1,037 of 3,052 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this place for 3 nights with a couple of pals. I took a double sea view room and it was amazing! Who said there isn't any sun during off peak season? The hotel was packed with local and foreign tourists alike! It only rained on the first day but later on, the sun came out. It felt like summer. Quiet, tranquil and refreshing... There is something for everyone; the quiet pool by the sea, family pool where there is music and slides for the kids to play on, snack bar that is well stocked and most of all, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. They had entertainment on some of the nights and waters sports like snorkelling, wind surfing etc everyday. I had the ' all inclusive' package and it was so worth it. Staff are friendly and ready to assist... Eli, Aziz and Rodgers were my fave! Very professional and helpful in every situation. The rooms were neat and clean only problem was the salty tap water but they stock the bathroom with mineral water (for brushing teeth) everyday. Camel rides on the beach and henna specialists that will pretty much draw any beautiful designs on whatever part of your skin you'd like to have the henna. To sum it up, Voyager is wonderful! I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SofieKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Ahoy,
Glad you enjoyed yourself.
The Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Visited with family for a weekend and wasn't disappointed. Very friendly and helpful staff, special mention goes to the lady on duty (forgot her name) on the night of 26th April 2013 who ensured we got a room and settled in nicely. Would definitely recommend it to friends and family looking for accommodation in the north coast....

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kiragu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Ahoy Guests,
So glad you had a nice time.
The Voyager Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Ahoy! We aren't "resort" people, but we enjoyed the respite here in the Voyager resort. Great customer service, and a fun and relaxing place to stay. The all inclusive set up was nice, but we didn't enjoy the super sweet free wine and the watered down local beers. The food selection at the buffet was outstanding (and great for vegetarians) and left us with no reason to venture to the other restaurants.
The beach wasn't ideal for swimming due to restrictions with the tides and lots of seaweed, but the three pools were good. Rooms were nice and large with fine amenities. Staff were very flexible and amenable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pay_and_Lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

ahoy Guest,
What shall i say other than Amen and Amen.
The Voyager Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have stayed there over the years with my family and it is wonderful. Thier kids club is wonderful and keeps the kids safely entertained while parents can have some time to themselves. Great place to holiday with the kids. Lots of kids activities and different restaurant choices. Ideal for family. It's important to note that not all hotels at the Kenyan coast fit this bill.

Room Tip: Garden rooms don't come with a tv while beach facing rooms come with a tv. My experience every t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mschana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited again at Easter and were as impressed as ever. This is a great value for money venue for families. Themed meals according to the country you are "visiting". Really nice pools, great animation team and first rate service. All inclusive is the way to go, take in the water sport, reef trip and snorkling. You'll find the KWS agent just as inflexible as at any park if you've forgotten your ID and want resident rates but that' KWS not the hotel. Don't hesitate a fun venue on the coast.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks for these comments including the one on KWS which i will share with them as i believe as service providers we must not be static.
Glad you enjoyed and have supported us over time.
Truly appreciated.
The Voyager Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

To book the voyager hotel was a advise from my business partner in Kenya and I spend two nights in the hotel. I was booked on full meal plan, all in! Absolute necessary as the prices for drinks and cocktails are heavy!
The room are more a three star accommodation and not for the spoilt tourist that normally travels to Mauritius. Therefor it is really cheap, $US 200 for two night....
The staff is really great and is trying to make everything happen...the beach is not very great, so you can relax in the three pools with a view to the sea.
food was bad the first night, but with a new shift, things changes drastically .....
I enjoyed my stay, as it is quick from and to the airport and can be a nice farewell from a business trip in Kenya...

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Ahoy,
We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Regards,
The Voyager Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 60 in Mombasa
995 reviews
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
570 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#20 of 60 in Mombasa
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: $124 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing