We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Gate away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Voyager Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Weekend Gate away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I went for an all inclusive weekend gate away with colleagues. The service was wonderful and the staff were friendly ad polite. The place is readily accessible by both private and public means. The scenery from the bar at the cliff's edge is wonderful.

Room Tip: Staff are customer conscious and will willing move you to a different room if not happy with what yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Ahoy Guest,
Thank you for this wonderful review. So glad that we delivered to your expectations.
Regards,
The Voyager Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,673
    822
    238
    85
    50
See reviews for
782
1,365
77
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

after an initial upset because of our room we exchanged rooms and our wonderful holiday started, the location on the beach, the staff, the weather, the hotel itself and restaurants, especially smugglers cove restaurant both fish menu and italian menu were excellent, this hotel is made by the staff who work there they cannot do enough for you they are sincere and obviously enjoy their job, Margaret(guest relations manager) was more than helpful, and Cecillia in the pool area was fantasticserving us our drinks, we used the adult pool because it was quiter than the others and overlooked the beach, entertainment every night. It was our first experience of all inclusive and was nice to see people not over abusing the all inclusive package, would i recommend this hotel most definitely

Room Tip: superior garden rooms are best NOT superior sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Ahoy,
So grateful for this awesome review particularly about the Staff who truly are the ones who make the Resort.
We are glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived @ 11.30pm a welcome drink and hot towel was ready after a 9 hr flight, our bags taken to the room whilst we checked in , i was up at 06.00 walking around the complex while the lazy one [wife] was still sleeping ,We have been going to Kenya for many years and we are going back to Voyager in Nov this year for a month, Yes the rooms are basic and need some refurbishment BUT suits me perfectly ,you are not in the rooms long enough to worry about anything ,food is very good there are choices for all tastes, try the Pasta station in main restuarant, We played every game both in and out of the pool and won quite a few certificates and prizes , The local beer Tusker is cold and very good , The A Team at night put on excellent entertainment ,[ie] The Lion King , Mama Mia, live bands and Acrobats, overall an excellent holiday ,see you all November 12th ......

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool are more expensive but they are quieter but a bit more money but well worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackpoolbabe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Ahoy Guest,
So glad you came, you stayed and you enjoyed.
The Voyager Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Recently celebrated my 65 birthday at this resort with a group of friends, wonderfull location ,the people running it are delightfull and the food and service first class, but Oh dear the rooms are really tired and in our case not as clean as I would have liked, TV didn't work, however, the staff made up for any complaints about the tatty state of the place, Senior Management should take note!, it is only the staff that keep the customers coming back.
Margaret, Christopher,steady Eddie, Barty, Kelvin, Wycliffe and so many, many more thanks for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Ahoy Guest,
I am grateful you wrote this review. I commit to pick up all what you have mentioned so we continue working towards excellence. So glad you liked the people who as you mention were awesome.
Kind Regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the voyager for 14 nights over the Easter break. The hotel is themed as a ship and each days menu represents a stopover in various countries. There is some variation and even the most fussy eater will find something they like. It's possible to eat healthily with lots of fresh fruit, salad and stir fries on the menu. The staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The pool attendants and pool bar service are exellent as is the organised entertainment both day and night. The Mombasa Root band are defineitly wirth a look. See Rodgers at the Lookout bar for one if his 'Rodgers special' cocktails, he's such a lovely guy. Rooms are very clean, we paid extra for a room with a sea view which was worth the money just for the view of the sunrise, moon rising and spectacular storms over the Indian Ocean at the beginning of the long rains. Our Room was fine, cleaned regularly with a confy bed and mosquito nets. The bathrooms could do with a facelift, towels were changed almost daily but look dirty as they are so grey which is a shame. The toilet in our kids room leaked and hot water was hit and miss. The grounds beach front setting and various pols are just lovely which makes up for the odd problem. See mustafa on the beach to book your safari (sunset tours) much cheaper than booking at home and you don't have to check out of the hotel. Our tour ran smoothly so not sure how well they would handle a problem. If we ever get stuck for a holiday destination we will go back to the Voyager. Ah yes, Don't bother lacking beach towels they're provided each day!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendyhouse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Guest,
We thank you for your comments. You have raised some important issues that I do commit to follow up and resolve.
We are so glad you came.
Kind Regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at Voyager for 3 weeks during the Christmas New Year period! Well what a change from the previous year. This hotel has really gone down, not many european guest as previous year mainly people on cheap deals from Nairobi! No working toilet for two days! 6 Hours to get replacement coffee for the room. Middle swimming pools closed for maintenance around Midday, many many kids in the pool with only two attendants, a disaster waiting to happen!

The worst holiday both my husband and I have had in Kenya! The Kids were unruly in the restaurant, wasting food and very noisy! Never again for us we hated every moment!

Room Tip: Don't bother just forget this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Ahoy Guest,
Thanks for posting this feedback. It is in my interest to contact you and understand your sentiments a little more closely and candidly.
I apologize that we never met your expectations which is a very rare occurrence under normal circumstances. I will be in touch.
Kind regards,
The Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is the best hotel we have ever been to. This was are second time to the hotel and to tell the truth i did'nt think it could beat the first time. But all the staff remembered us and made it feel like being back home. The staff are the best. They really look after you. Margaret from the adult only pool cannot do enough for you. Little Esther from the main bar is fantastic she brightens up any day with her smile. The food at the hotel is fantastic i normally suffer from a holiday tummy but staying at the voyager i have never had a problem it is that good we are looking at going back next year. If i had enough holiday from work i would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Rooms are good weather you have garden view or sea view we have stayed in both. garden rooms are big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle503918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Ahoy Guest,
It is responses like these that make me enjoy working for Heritage Group who also own and manage Voyager.
It is true Kenyans are the best people in the World. Certainly the ones in Voyager are a Gift from Heaven. Such a pleasure working with as Operations Manager.
So glad you had a great time.
Kind Regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Property: Voyager Beach Resort
Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing