We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Can't believe it”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I seriously can not believe how overrated this place is. I booked a room when I saw it being number 1 here. Everything about the hotel looks and feels old, from the TV's, to the beds, to the pool, to the water sport centre, to the lobby to the showers to the restaurant. Everything. There is definitely a sense that its days of glory are gone and that it it has aged ungracefully. The open buffet lunch and dinner focuses on quantity rather than quality, quite unrefined selection. The hotel's beach is quite terrible, FULL of algue and pool's color is not reassuring. A final note: The hotel caters mainly to german package holiday makers so independent travelers avoid at all cost.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
10 Thank djopm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Your opinion is respected and appreciated. As Hoteliers we take in all comments and all are examined with the intention of making our delivery, services and products first class.
Indeed everything you have written will be analyzed and synthesized in this spirit.
We are glad you came and truly grateful you shared your feedback.
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,733
    852
    245
    86
    52
See reviews for
819
1,396
83
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at voyager this week and cant really decide if its good or bad ,
The good ,
- Overall food quality and variety is very good , buffet with lots of choices awesome.
- Sea facing Room was awesome
- Entertainment from the A team was on top especially the south African theme excellent energy
-Excellent service starts and ends at the reception , Kudos to the manager Margaret ( awesome person with great personality and attention to detail, ) , Eliud the porter as well, great customer service ( both Margaret and Eliud would be a good reason to come back)

Bad
- Service at the snack bar , is simply not there , arrogant waiters and only seemed interested with those who tipped heavily or not local ( we sat there for 15 minutes and waiters just stood there staring , until we had to go request for service,after it took another 30 minutes to be served ice cream and black forest.) Another couple came and sat near us and within 2 minutes two waiters were there and within 3 minutes ice cream and beer had been served all with big smiles) .

- All inclusive drinks are just there , with cocktails so dilute that you would prefer to have water only
- Waiter service at the main restaurant was poor with left over food left in the open attracting birds , you have to keep on beckoning at the waiters for water or extra drink, once a waiter came to the table cleared all the glasses and left we called later to ask him why didnt he ask if we wanted more drinks .........
- No turn down services in our room through out the stay

Will we go again? , well the jury is still out

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the main restaurant as they are noisy from the entertainment as well as traffic of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tandpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
I do pass through all the comments raised by Guests in both the Questionnaires and the TripAdvisor.
This is one of the very spicy ones i have read in a long time. Yet my work is to address all the individual matters raised point by point with the team on ground.
I have picked up this one. I acknowledge the good comments but i also recognize the negative ones which i will pass through with the detail of a toothpick.
I am so glad you raised them. You have given me another chance to do something differently.
We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully then all the negatives raised will have been addressed.
Kind regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My sister and I visited in March as part of our holiday to Kenya. I loved everything about this hotel from the first impression greetings of the staff to the fond final farewell. Rooms were very comfortable with all the essentials and excellent aircondition!! Good food choices from a varied menu. As much or as little to do as you wanted. Amusing entertainment.
It's not often that I use the same hotel twice, but I'd definitely stay at this hotel again when I'm in Mombasa.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Ahoy Guest,
We are glad you will be back. We shall be waiting. What a privilege for us to get a second chance to be of service to you
The Voyager Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

After reading lots of positive reviews we were looking forward to going to this hotel. First impressions were very good, greeted by some very friendly staff who brought drinks and a cold flannel. We stayed in room 1312 overlooking the gardens with a view of the sea too. The room was very nice apart from the bathroom which was a bit smelly. Every night someone came and turned the bed down and hung the mosquito net. I asked several times for the net to be changed as we were always finding holes. Everytime we got another it had a hole also so we were not happy. The hotel grounds were very nice and most of the staff were lovely. We were looked after well to begin with then standards dropped, such as finding our own table or given seats with no cushion on and a table that was only half set. It took ages before we got our drinks too unless we got our own.
We had two good meals in 11 days because they were in the Italian restaurant. It was difficult to find anything nice and tasty in the buffet restaurant. There was never fresh cooked vegetables just raw ones which they fried for you. The meat was always cremated or very chewy. So I lived on rice and potatoes. My husband had the soup which was good. Cake was very dry everytime we tried it, but the panacotta was lovely. The whole place is a little tired and im afraid we were disappointed. The staff were the best part about this hotel. Would we go again? NO

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merlot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Ahoy Guest,
I do respond to all Guest Comments. many of them are very good so this caught me off guard. However I am happy you posted it and i promise you Heads are rolling.
You will notice we have been rated the best Unit on this forum for quite sometime and we wish to defend this position with our all.
So glad you shared information with us.
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in the voyager from 14 to 19 November for 5 nights and really enjoyed the hotel. We were invited for captains dinner on one of the nights which was a nice touch . . . Robin was the captain, nice guy. It happened that one of the couples got engaged at the table, which was very exciting!! Congrats again florian and pia!!!!
Staff are very nice, beach is quiet, food is excellent, rooms are a bit dated but are manageable. Lookout bar is very cool . . . Really enjoyed the experience!

Room Tip: Sea view room is defo worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddytyrrell2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Ahoy,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Voyager. I am so happy you sat on the Captains table and were part of the Magic of an engagement.
The Team looks forward to hosting you again.
Regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had the best and most relaxed holiday ever here to help ease me in to my 5th decade..greeted with fruit and a bottle of wine in our room it just got better as the days went on. The food was always fresh and plentiful, the drinks were delivered to your sunbed when you raised your 'red flag' and the staff were the most friendly and helpful folks I have ever encountered on our travels. Special thanks to Margaret at the Quiet Pool (drink delivered with some great banter!!) and Winnie and Rebecca who welcomed us with a smile at the main dining room and snack bar. Also the trio of musicians at the Smuggler Cove..the wee souls sang their hearts out in broken English and really made my night :-)
Don't miss the massage (to the sound of the Indian Ocean) and the glass bottom boat trip..it is worth running the gauntlet of Beach salesmen who, lets face it, are only trying to make a living even if they are a bit pesky..Oh and the Mombasa Rendezvous safari was excellent too... a big thanks to Ali our guide for the 4 bumpy days of wildlife spotting!

Room Tip: we were in room 1323 which had a nice side view of the sea and was quite peacful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiolau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
So glad you came and enjoyed yourself immensely.
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

First time in Kenya. What a beautiful country, lovely people and the voyager was the icing on the cake. We had a lovely week here in October and can't wait to return.
The food was plentiful and available when ever you wanted it really. We were always served with a smile. Infact all the staff went out of their way for you. Like to say a special thank you to Jackson who cleaned our room daily, always with a smile on his face. All of the 3 pools were clean and plenty of sunbeds available. Nyali beach is beautiful and can't be missed!
Overall we had a lovely time - thanks voyager

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello,
So glad you liked the Hotel.
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Mombasa
973 reviews
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
536 reviews
4.9 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#8 of 14 in Bamburi
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
209 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Property: Voyager Beach Resort
Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing