We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOLIDAY OF A LIFETIME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“HOLIDAY OF A LIFETIME”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fantastic holiday destination, staff so friendly, lots of activites, it doesn't even seem real how pretty it is, and right on the private beach! What more could you want! Food lovely, well worth going all inclusive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello Guest,
So glad you came and enjoyed yourself immensely. We are excited you made it Voyager
Warm Regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,733
    852
    245
    86
    52
See reviews for
819
1,396
83
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed this visit to the hyped up Voyager resort. The reservation manager, Evelyn, was wonderful and called when we were there to find out if we were enjoying our stay. Nice touch.
The rooms were not standard. My parents room had no TV, ours did had the old type but poor reception it was not worth viewing. Promise of improvement was nil.
Restaurant had great buffet. Very, very nice food choices.
Kids program was the best part of this and my kids did not want to leave. The kids club attendants were also performers during evenings.
The room was smallish, but the bathrooms should be considered a hazard. Why would anyone build a shower block that one has to step down 1'25" to enter? The bathrooms could definitely have been cleaner especially the shower which had water drip stains.
Bars all around and the all inclusive option was great. Not cheap at all but nice all the same.
Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: All inclusive option is great. Kids program is worth the visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiru W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi,
I read all reviews posted by Guests and my work includes making amends where we have not delivered what we promised.
I am therefore eternally grateful to Guests like you who truly tell me what they thought of the place.
So glad you came.
With warmest Regards,
The Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cannot praise the staff too highly. They looked after us, and especially Papa - my 92 year old father - wonderfully well. Good food, decent entertainment and wonderful swimming pools. They arranged very helpful taxis for us as well. We would thoroughly recommend the hotel for quality of life and value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Ahoy Guest,
We are honored to have been of service.
Regards,
Wasike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Kenya and stayed at the Voyager Beach Resort - there is not a lot that can be said about the hotel, grounds, restaruants and staff and service except - WOW, FANTASTIC!!

We decided to return after a great trip to Kenya in 2010 and were not dissapointed!
It was all that we remembered it to be and more, some the staff that we remembered from our first visit were still there and remembered us.

Sammy, Kennedy, Margaret & Gideon (wet pool attendant) (pool) Peter (Chef, who by the way makes the best darn Naan bead in the world) margaret (Reception) and not forgetting Mercy the first choice rep.

The service provided by all staff is exceptional and they go out or their way to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible, if you take the time to speak to people they are so welcoming and friendly

The resort is so well suited for families and couples alike, there are busy and quiet areas so all needs can be catered for. If you like it busy and some noise the activity pool is for you or if you want peace and quiet then its the infinity pool.

The theme of the hotel is based on a cruise ship and could be seen as being "a bit cheesy" but it works well and adds something to the days.

The main restaurant is buffet style and if you cant find something that you like then you must be extreemly fussy and hard to please!

Breakfasts have everything concevable from fruit and pastries, pancakes and waffles, "full english" so what ever takes your fancy

Lunch - Buffet style in the main restaurant or there is a snack bar that has pizzas, toasted sandwiches & burgers and ice cream.

Dinner - Buffet style and themed to where you are docked for that day - Libia and a good old fashioned shepherds pie?

Afternoon tea - cakes and sandwiches are served up if you still need something else!!

On our last trip we wanted to do a safari and after reading all the reviews we could we saw that JT Safaris were being metioned time and time again..................... and with good reason!

We did the trip up to the Masai Mara and were not dissapointed so there was no choice to make this time and we booked up with Julias again for a three day two night tip up to Tsavo East & West.

As with our last trip we contacted Julius by email and let him know what we wanted and left it up to him where we would stay.
His choices were exceptioonal - Tsavo East was Ashnil Auuba and Tsavo West was Kilaguni Severin - both were fantastic but WOW! the Kilaguni lodge is what safari dreams are made of, the view of the watering hole at dinner was to die for, and to be able to sit and watch all the different animal groups comming in over the course of the evening was something that will remain with us for life

We managed to fit in a morning diving and did two dives just up the coast in the lagoon, the vis was not great but the dives were very relaxed and we had a fab time. The dive operation is well run and the equipment is in good comdition, safety briefings are thorough and the boats are great. Moses, one of the instructors/guides, is a great asset to the bussiness and very patient with youngsters in the pool doing try dives.

If you have the space in your luggage and get the time to make a trip out to a local school or orphanige then whatever you can take out will be most appreciated and needed.



Without any shadow of doubt we will be going back again and again..........

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor over looking the "lookout bar" 1315 upwards. We were in 13...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello Guest,
I will add nothing to this review. It is all too sweet and we at the Unit truly appreciate it. We are glad you came.
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here this February . And lived every min. Going back again next February cannot wait xx. Great location staff extremely helpful. Roll on February 2013 95 days and ill be back xx. Going to Masai Mara with jt safaris who we used last time and were brilliant (George our driver for the safari) .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are all waiting for you. I would wish to host you on the Captains table. Let me know when you are aboard.
The Captain and Crew of the HMS Voyager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

A great holiday the staff really friendly and the surroundings where great.

Food was great but got a bit monotonous on buffet part after a week. There is the snack bar that does a different menu for a break highly recommend a lovely fillet steak which was great with a wholesome salad.
I loved the breakfast and evening meals where if you eat about 19.30 -20.00hrs you can remain in your seat for the nightly shows.

The nightly shows where very good, the Amazing animation team are all real friendly and work hard to bring quality entertainment.

3 different pools we preferred the middle pool as that where most activities where held. Again great fun as where where lucky to be in some great company.

Can recommend the glass bottom boat trip about 2 hours and a bit of snorkelling.

The beach sellers don't leave you alone and spoils a visit to the beach, I know the Kenyan authorities to stop this practise but it is off putting and more work to be done there. I think if you weren't hassled so much more people would browse and buy over their time.
We had no problem with our room, though you pay for the mini bar regardless of all inclusive or not. That caught us out with a cheeky bill!

Officer Phillip from the Italian / seafood deck thank you for providing us a great birthday meal.
The staff where great though we feel a few worth a mention.

Johari the pasta station chef
Samuel the egg station chef
Josephine the waitress on middle pool
Margaret from the adult pool.

Also went to Haller park this was arranged by Dan from the beach, he got me a cheaper deal than the Taxi man offered me the day before.

Thank you Voyager team a great break

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nidvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Good Morning,
Thank you for this wonderful review. We truly appreciate your feedback.
God Bless
The Voyager Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

this was a hoilday within a hoilday for us, we were visiting family and wanted to spend a few days at the coast. What a great decision to make, the Voyager was second to none,for myself and my 14 yr old son, the welcome we recieved on arrival was just lovely the room was comforatable with lovely views, the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating without being in your face, the pools were lovely, the food was dellicious and plenty choice. The animations team were great at entertaining my son (no mean feat) In fact it was all so good we are already making plans to return again next year.

Room Tip: we were in a cheap ground floor room which was just beautiful, had nice view a/c, terrace, we were r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louicoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is always such a honor for me to acknowledge such a kind Guest Response. So glad you came.
The Group Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Mombasa
973 reviews
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
536 reviews
4.9 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#8 of 14 in Bamburi
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
209 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Property: Voyager Beach Resort
Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing