We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just returned from an amazing two week stay at the voyager. Our room was lovely and cleaned every day. There were three pools to choose from one of which is an adults only pool which looks onto the ocean. We found the food excellant with plenty of choice and it caters for those of us who are less adventurous on the food front too! The best thing we found about this hotel though was the staff. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming and they did everything to make your holiday special. That said we feel that the following staff deserve a special mention. Joy from guest relations made us feel at home. Our holiday rep Mercy went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure we had a fantastic holiday. Raziki from the animation team made us feel welcome and involved and Chrispine from the animation team made us feel so at ease and included that we looked forward to seeing him each day. It's thanks to these staff that we will definately be returning to the voyager next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,
So glad you came. Thanks for mentioning the people who made your Holiday. we have an internal way of rewarding people who do a good Job.
You are correct our biggest Asset are the People. It is such a pleasure for me to be their team leaders.
We are all waiting for you next visit
Good day
The Voyager Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,008)
There are newer reviews for Voyager Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,126 - 1,132 of 3,008 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Voyager in March 2010. We had a great time. We stayed in one of the less luxurious rooms for the first week which was still really nice. The food was fantastic and staff all very friendly. The swimming pools were great, with an infinity pool for adults and a large pool with games for children. We went windsurfing, pedaling in the water, snorkelling and scuba diving, all provided from the hotel, although we paid for the scuba diving. There was evening entertainment. In the second week we went on safari which was brilliant, then when we came back they upgraded us for free to a beach view room with was very posh. We really enjoyed our stay here, theres so much to see and do and the hotel was a great one to stay at. I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Beach rooms are quieter but we prefered the cheaper rooms overlooking the resort as we could take a...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex8771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

So glad you came and had a blast. Many things have happened since 2010 and we invite you to come and see them, specifically the advancement of the Teams attitude which by far is our largest asset.
The Voyager Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My daughter, her cousins and I stayed at the Voyager during our summer vacation in August and we were very pleased with their services. The staff were extremely friendly; there were a whole lot of activities for all ages, the kids enjoyed playing different games, scrabble, pool table, etc with the younger staff at the hotel; we loved the different pools that catered for different age groups; their rooms were clean; food and drinks were YUMMY; and the hotel is so beautiful and private, and I loved the beauty of the hotel gates and driveway as you entered the hotel, the front lobby and the way the hotel is divided into multiple entertainment areas!! You will love this hotel...trust me! Can't wait to return there next year

Room Tip: The rooms are located in different areas of the hotel so make sure you ask for the room suitable for...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junnette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We appreciate these kind comments. So glad you enjoyed.
The Voyager Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for two days / 1 night as wanted to be close to the airport for my flight the next night. I was in a sea view room which had a great view over the sports pool and onto the beach, however the room itself was a bit dated and the bathroom was dingy, old and smelled.

Although the choice for included drinks was limited and you have to pay for your drinks after midnight, I still think it was pretty good value for what was included and the great view of the room. I loved the Look Out bar in particular at sunset and then later it seemed to be the social hub where people itneracted. Wasn't that enamoured with the dinner buffet, but there was sufficient choice that one wouldn't go hungry.

The hotel guests seem to be more of the older age group or families and I noticed a lot of the tour operators use this hotel for their groups. I did find it more social / interactive though than most of the places I stayed in Tanzania / Kenya which was a welcome change.

Agree with other reviews that the hotel could be updated, however for the great deals it's offering on an all inclusive basis, I enjoyed my stay and was sorry not to be able to try the hotel out for a few more days.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room as it's worth the little b it extra for the lovely view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExploringSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Ahoy Guest,
Thank you for posting comment on the Tripadvisor. It is truly appreciated. We are glad you came and stayed with us.
The Voyager Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just got back ,what an experience having never been to Kenya before will be going back. Hotel excellent , staff out of this world nothing to much trouble ,even the smallest problem was dealt with efficiently . Rooms could do with a little TLC but are clean and tidy but the location more than makes up for this.If you go to the beach do not be put off by the beach sellers they are friendly and only trying to make a living , in fact we booked a three day safari on the beach from Mustafa Mwaura (Safari Holiday Kenya Tours & Travel ) It was a lot cheaper than rep and we stayed in the same accommodation as the other companies at a fraction of the price quoted by the rep and what a knowledgeable guide absolutely wonderful time.Mustafa
will also organise other excursions for you so find him on the beach.Dont be afraid to go to Mombasa. Fort Jesus well worth a local guided tour to see spice market and old town .We were shown round by Mohammed who pointed out things we would never have noticed.
All i all a fabulous experience meeting local characters. Jeff &Ann

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Hello,
So glad you came and had a nice time. We appreciate the good words.
With warmest Regards,
The Voyager Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

we have just come home from a very relaxing holiday mainly thanks to the hotel staff and quality of service. The superior garden view rooms are spacious but basic but with everything you need tea coffee and a fridge, were all provided. Room Safes were available but were only included in the price with certain tour operators, its worth checking before you go.
Restaurant meals could have more variety and many of the options were not in keeping with the daily theme but you could always find something to eat. You have 3 swimming pools with salt water in each. there are enough sunbeds but limited shade, with plenty of waiter service to supply cold drinks. There is no private beach at this resort but you can walk a fair distance either way, the beach touts are in your face the moment you step on the sand but leave you alone if you tell them you are just walking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Hello,
Thank you for visiting and taking time to post your feedback. Truly appreciated
The Voyager Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

an amazing exxperience at great hotel, room over looking Indian Ocean, very friendly, comfortable if not bit tired rooms, great relaxing pool, massage, swimming, catamaran, glass bottom boat, sea safari and 5 day trips and 4 day safari ...wow wow

Room Tip: sea view rooms sure do have stunning views.....wouldnt go for grounds view.......
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackieb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

So glad you came and had a nice time. we appreciate your feedback
The Voyager Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 60 in Mombasa
982 reviews
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
552 reviews
4.9 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: $118 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing