We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel needs some TLC to get rid of the prostitutes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed September 26, 2012

nice hotel, needs touching up in places, staff were very friendly, entertainment was good the showers and sinks use salt water and some of the rooms had no hot water, beautiful beach but you can't use it because of the beach sellers hounding you. it varied from 27 people to 47 people trying to sell you something, which can be quite intense at times. Good points the free water sports the catamaran was brilliant. the snorkeling is better in sham El sheik. but if you do go into the sea its like getting into a bath so warm. the food was ok but make sure that you take your imodium because you will probably need it. the Italian restaurant is very good. watch out for the monkey's make sure that you lock your patio doors when your not in your room.the beds are very hard. the downside was all of the prostitutes which openly use the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,191 - 1,197 of 3,052 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent a week here after a week of safari and really enjoyed the resort
We had a wonderful deluxe room overlooking the lawns with huge beds, a very nice bathroom and big balcony.
The food here is excellent and always a wide choice - can especiall recommend the egg-station for breakfast.
There is a choice of 3 pools - all wonderful. We tended to stay around the activity pool and joined in the water earobics and other water sports organised by the animation team. This team of youngsters were a great bunch - so friendly and helped to make us so welcome.
You can get straight down onto the beach and swim in the perfectly safe lagoon cut off from the wilder ocean by a reef about a mile out. The sea comes right up to the resort edge and when the tide comes in there are great waves to splash and dive in.
We never left the resort but a couple of highloghts were - a massage in the spa, most relaxing and therapeutic - and the snorkelling trip and walk on the reef (at a small extra charge) where we saw plenty of fish.
To sum up this is a great resort with lots to offer and even more if you are interested in excursions etc

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We visited Kenya and the Voyager Beach Hotel from 10 September until returning yesterday - 25 September. It was one of the best holidays we have ever had. It was just the two of us but it was lovely. Our bedroom was a superior garden view, but we could also have a good view of the sea between the trees when sitting on our patio.The gardens in the hotel are so well looked after and look lovely all the time - a little army of gardeners work behind the scenes to make things special. 3 pools to choose from but we chose the one by the Kaskazi bar as it was good, close to the bar if we wanted anything and just friendly! The food was always plentiful and good - not always to my taste but why go on a holiday abroad if you want egg and chips - although you could have had this if you wanted - they catered for all tastes! The lunches by the Kaskazi bar were great - ranging from salads - the chicken one is great through to pizza and burgers - which they make fresh everyday. The drinks were great and you could have wine any time of the day - this doesnt happen in an all inclusive hotel everywhere. Night time entertainment was varied and usually quite good, with the animation team producing shows on occasions. But the greatest thing about this hotel is the staff! They are so friendly and helpful and smiling all the time - and its not just that they want a tip! Whilst they were all good, I must mention Roberta, Bernard and Nixon from the restaurant, Philip and John from the Kazkasi bar, Dominic from the pool and Vincent who was our cleaner. On the first night we were there we were invited to attend the Captain's table for dinner - a really special evening with only 12 guests invited per week. It was a lovely evening and Captain Tom was really good company along with our other guests who had got married on the Friday. We went on a safari with Sunset Tours - a local travel agent - Victor - , whose details we obtained when we arrived in Kenya. Our safari to Tsavo East was fantastic - just the two of us in the bus with our driver - Anthony - who had eyes like a hawk and was really knowledgeable! We stayed overnight in Voi Safari Lodge and unfortunately, we werent really impressed by the staff there but still had a great time. We also booked to go to a bush village and a school - taken again by Anthony - and I was so moved by the children being delighted to receive a boiled sweet each and then singing for us that I cried when leaving - through emotion - but I am so glad we went - such an insight. We also visited the dowh - the Tamarind, again through Sunset tours - which was lovely. All in all a wonderful holiday - one which we would recommend to anyone!! Make sure you use Sunset Tours - you save a bit but get better value! Thank you Voyager for a memorable holiday!

Room Tip: Nearly all rooms have a sea view - but we chose a superior garden view - which was great. Apparentl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelaB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just spent 11 days here after returning from safari. Room was ok but needed updating as looking sad staff great food was ok lovely having 3 pools to choose from all very clean. What spoilt it was we were'nt leaving until 4.45pm and had to vacate our room at 10am the 'boss' on the front desk was obnoxious and unhelpful there were many empty rooms and felt we could have had 1until at least 2pm. Also missed out on the Italian meals as thought we had to pay for them found out on last day we could have eaten there as many evenings as we wanted free! Would think twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: maybe go for a seaview room although heard they had shower problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I also was there for a wedding 26th Aug to 11th Sept. Wife & I are over 76, had one request no stairs So they gave us the top floor (no elevators) We couldn't even make it . The porter left us with our luggage & came back with another key . This one was even worse for steps. Finaly an officer came with a stripe on his lapel & he put us in a ground floor which was perfect. but only for 1 night as we then went on safari for 4 days. On return it only took 2 attemps to get a ground floor. Honestly this hotel is not for Old codgers like us . The access to the beach . took a vast # of steps to get down . Coming back up was Hell. You had to be 100% to enjoy this Hotel. My younger family who also came had a fabulous time. Our superior Sea View room did have a great view But the toilet facilities left a lot to be desired. most annoying was the flush toilet ,it took hours to fill ,called for a fix told it's set. The water out the tap had a very strong odour .. Best part was when we put in to the Best Western in Gatwick London & had a beautiful Washroom & could clean my teeth under the tap. PS The Weather in Sept for me was perfect

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roymidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After thomsons left us behind at the airport because of the confusion with the Kenya Visa we eventually arrived at the hotel by private taxi - staff were very apologetic and rushed our check-in procedure to get us to the room quickly. I must say our room was very disappointing - basic and bland in need of TLC thankfully we paid for a sea view room. One bed had just 3 legs and our balcony door was extremely difficult to slide open - we complained a few times. The staff were all very friendly although speed is not important to them - me neither when on holiday!. All the restaurants within the complex serve fabulous food and cater for all tastes. The watersports kept my husband very happy and he kept them busy! The pools in the complex are lovely, wonderful to have drink service while working hard sunbathing! Our 3 night Safari trip was AMAZING we booked through J T Safaris based in Mombasa - George our driver was F A B, I can strongly recommend J T Safaris, we only paid a small deposit then had the most memorable time ever. JT collected the remainder of the money the day after we returned and gave us a thank you gift. The Voyager is a lovely hotel with fabulous facilities meeting all needs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schwarz172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We chose Voyager for our honeymoon and have no regrets. As other reviews have stated, the decor and standard of some of the rooms could be better, but we spent so little time in the room that it really didn't matter much. We chose a superior sea view room, I would definitely recommend spending that little extra for the sea view as it really added to the ambiance of our stay.

The hotel was magnificent - brilliant location, fantastic welcome, superb facilities and the friendliest and most helpful staff I have EVER met. European hotels could learn a lot from Kenya....

We spent most of our time at the Relaxing Pool next to the beach. A small tip to the pool attendant meant that your bed was reserved for you, with towel already in place every morning. Our waitress Margaret was a scream. She wasn't the fastest, but she was so friendly and often brought us a drink without even having to be asked.

We ventured onto the beach a few times and were put off by the sellers on occasions. But as others have said, it is their livelihood and so few people go onto the beach that they have to make the most of every opportunity. That said, if you said no firmly, or just carried on walking, they soon left you alone. We actually got a great tour of the rock pools from one of the sellers. He obviously hoped we'd buy something, but I just gave him a small 200 shilling tip and he was happy with that.

We also arranged our Mombasa City tour through Danico of Sunrise Safaris (search for separate reviews on Trip Advisor). He was brilliant and is highly recommended for tours and safaris. Danico can be found on the beach most mornings. He is the one wearing the big white cowboy hat!

The all-inclusive water sports were a real bonus. We made use of the catamaran trips and the glass bottomed boat/snorkelling (a small marine park fee of £10 each is more than worth it for the snorkelling). The most fun we had all holiday was playing in the waves when the high tide was in. It seemed to bring the inner child out of everyone who ventured into the water!

The food was excellent. The "Cruise" theme sounded a bit twee before we got there, but it helped to give a bit of variety to the food, with different options each night depending on where we had "docked". My wife is a vegetarian but had plenty of choice, although she was a little sick of Indian curries by the end of the 2 weeks. I'd recommend trying the freshly cooked pasta.

We also had 2 meals at the Italian restaurant. This is free for those who are all-inclusive. It was a little more classy, with amazing food and brilliant service from the waiters. You have to book 24 hours in advance. Do this first thing in the morning as tables go fast.

We didn't really watch much of the entertainment, but what we did see seemed a decent standard. There were numerous bars dotted around, so you can have a peaceful evening or join in with the entertainment - your choice!

I can't recommend this place highly enough. As long as you don't go expecting English 5 Star standards, you will be more than happy. And a special mention for all the staff - they are the friendliest and most helpful people that I have ever met. Please make an effort to talk to them and if you get good service, reward it with a little tip and bring it to the attention of the management. They seem keen to reward their staff if they go the extra mile.

Room Tip: Go for a superior sea view room on the upper floors. We were in 4314 (amazing!) and after our safari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 60 in Mombasa
995 reviews
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
570 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#20 of 60 in Mombasa
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: $124 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing