We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with few problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We chose this hotel after researching the internet, reading reviews etc and stayed for 2 weeks during November and into Decemeber 2011. After arriving we were greeted with a welcome cold drink and towel which was very refreshing after long delayed journey, unfortunatley our room was not ready and so had to wait almost an hour which after a long flight is not what we wanted. Our room was clean, comfortable but very dated, in need of a good overall. We only stayed for one night before departing on Ziwani Safari with Pullmans ( see seperate safari review ). Before departing on safari we had to vacate our room which was a pain as we had to repack after just one day, our luggage was safely stored and our valuables were put into a safe at reception. On our return we were quickly showed to our new room which was slightly different to the previous but just as dated and in need of a good upgrade. My partner had to take the shower apart as only a trickle of water and it was filled with dirt, worked perfectly thereafter. Aircon great and huge bed ( even though gave us both back ache ), tea/coffee facilities, room service if needed, plenty wardrobe space, laundry service and terrace with furniture, safe is payable at 200KS per day ( approx £1.65 daily ). The grounds are immaculate and very beautiful, staff premanantly working to upkeep them and they will cut you a coconut if asked. There are x3 swimming pools on different levels, all very clean and very well maintained. The main restaurant serves a good variety of foods to cater for everyone, although gets a bit repetative after 2 weeks. The Kaskari pool bar also serves food over a longer opening times from main restaurant including unlimited icecreams but a limited menu although all very nice. The animation team work long and hard and there are daily shows every night which are all very good and entertaining, finishing approx 11pm. The beach sellers are a complete pain and we found even with polite ' no thank you ' still wouldn't go away. The beach is a no go area for sunbathing which is such a big disappointment, at one stage we counted over 25 beach boys in the short stretch of hotel beach ( beach isn't privately owned so they have access all of the time ) and the goods they sell are not good quality. The sea also we found so disappointing as unable to swim in it, it has a shallow sand bank before you hit deep water but it is too far to wade out to and again the beach boys pester you. We really wanted to snorkel but unable to, you can pay at the water sports centre to go out on glass bottom boat but not the same. Unfortunately I became unwell with D&V after just 3 days and still had it on out return, had to call out Dr at a cost of £50. I was diagnosed with gastroenteritis, given antibiotics and anti spasm medications and after asking around I disovered that there were others there with tummy problems although think I got the lions share. The hotel overall was great, just with minor problems which could be easily sorted.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurse1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,489 - 1,495 of 3,098 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

Great hotel set in a beautiful location. The hotel it's self is getting a bit dated but the overall experience is great!

Reception/Staff: Great welcome by most of the staff. Nothing is too much to ask. All staff very helpful etc. Some requests take ages to sort out i.e. safe problems, but thats just the laid back African way i think.
Great service overall, flight home was delayed 12hrs, able to keep rooms till the last minute on the all-inclusive option.

Bedrooms: Stayed in a superior garden room. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Spacious and light. Good air conditioning. Slightly dated now but they have plans to refurbish all of the rooms. Good quality beds, effective mosquito nets. Shower is good enough, drinking water supplied daily. Well stocked mini-bar. Some ground floor rooms seem to have a damp problem, and they do smell a bit musty.

Grounds: Very clean, well maintained. Gardeners work very hard, they even climb the trees to get you fresh coconuts if you fancy one.

Food:
Buffet restaurant - Very good overall. Can become repetative. Food is kept warm, and plenty of fresh 'live cooking' options. Service for drinkis etc hit and miss.
Italian Restaurant - Good food, service again hit and miss. E.g. wine arrived after we finished eating.
Seafood Restaurant - Excellent food and service. Lobster is a good choice. Decent prices and generous portions.

Bar/Drinks: Good choice of drinks. Service good at all bars to be fair. 4 bars in total, last orders at midnight.

Pools: 3 pools, clean and heated! Pool attendants great. Beach towels supplied daily. Plenty of sun beds available. Plenty going on during the day at the fun pool, other pools are quieter.

Entertainment/Activities: Animation team very approachable and good at their jobs. Always ask you to join in with the activities etc but never to pushy if you don't fancy it. Evening shows were good. Plenty of Watersports options within the all-inclusive, well worth a visit near the beach. Good sport facilities, tennis courts, volleyball etc. Gym has weights only, no cardio equipment. Massages are excellent, and very cheap! All done by qualified staff, well worth the visit, went twice!
Wi-fi available in reception, cyber cafe cheap enough.

Hotel Shop: Local produce/items fairly cheap, imported items much dearer. Good souvenirs available.

Beach: Beautiful white sands. Warm sea. Beach boys bit of a pain at times.

Security: Excellent, felt totally safe. Armed guards at entrances/on beach front. Vehicles checked on entry to resort. Safes in all rooms, nothing stolen from rooms etc.

Weather: Great, very hot and sunshine everyday. Occasional shower early morning/over night but nothing major. Very humid and unplesant at night! Air-conditioned restaurant/bars would be a good idea during the upgrade!

Safari: Excellent, a must when visiting Kenya!

Will definitely return in a few years, once the upgrade is complete.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RhysCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My husband and I decided that to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversay we would take our 2 children and their spouses on a holiday of a lifetime - choosing something we would not have done on our own. We booked our stay at the Voyager Hotel and decided to do our safari independantly. After reading the reviews on trip advisor we decide to email JTSafaris and ask for his advice and prices. Julius was very quick to reply and very informative and we decided to go on a 2 day safari as we were only on holiday for 7 nights. We sent a small deposit to secure our dates and chose where we would stay on safari. We met with Julius the day before our safari to go over anything that we needed to ask and arranged to be picked up the following morning. At 5.30 prompt on the morning of our safari we were picked up outside our hotel by our driver Cobra.

I just cannot express how I feel about this safari - it really was a dream come true! Cobra was an excellent driver and had every piece of information you could wish for also the eyes of a hawk. It was not long into the safari before we saw our first animal - we were all looking out and my daughter saw the first Zebra, it just got better as the day went on. I cannot speak highly enough of Julius and his team, nothing was too much for Cobra, he was there with you and he make us feel like part of his family we just wished it could have gone on for longer. Julius was on the phone daily to make sure that you were OK and asked if you were having as good time.

The day after we returned from safari Julius sent a car for all of us to go to his office to speak to him and pay for the safari. He is a very genuine and lovely peson, once we had talked and paid Julius gave all of us a lovely carved animal as a gift.

Once we arrived back at our hotel I spoke to some people that we had met and told them what a good time we had and as they had hoped to do a safari we recommended Julius, they went to see him and booked a safari in the Masi Mara! As a family this was truely a holiday to remember and the highlight of the safari was made so special through Julius and Cobra. We would highly recommend JTsafaris as they are truely professional and much cheaper than the safaris you will book through the holiday companies - why spend more money than you need to, especially when you get such excellent service from Julius and his team!

Thank you Julius and Cobra for making our holiday special - we hope to be back to do the Masi Mara with you in the future.
7-11-2011

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Visited the voyager beach Oct 2011. What a holiday. The place grows on you as your holiday disappears. I think part of this is due to the first impressions as you drive from the airport to your accomadation. My first thoughts were. When does this poverty striken place turn into paradise. It was and had been raining heavily, just to make matters worse. Anyhow, we did turn the corner and arrived. Not what I d call paradise, as it was cats and dogs. After a short introduction we were taken to our room. The room was lovely but a bit tired. A few chipped tiles etc., not going to affect my holiday. The view however, Stunning. We asked for a sea/pool view. We got both. Looking across the infinity pool and out to sea. It rained for three days. During this time we got to know the place and staff. The staff are friendly and very helpful. They don t always understand your request, so remember where you are. They have the best holiday entertainment team I have ever come across. After 3 days we went on SAFARI. This had been pre-arranged with F KINGS SAFARIS. This is an experience of a lifetime and I cannot recommend F KINGS highly enough. Just Email Farid with your request and follow his lead. Trust me, I m suspicius when it comes to transfering money to a strangers account, but it could not have gone smoother. he supplied us with our own van and Haji. A nicer man you won t find. He found us Lions that were out of sight and taylored the 3 day trip to suit us. The benefits of having your own van. You will not get that with the tour operator. On returning the sun came out and the whole place transformed. The once deserted beach was now littered with locals, all trying to scratch an existance. They are people, don.t be intimidated. interact with them and barter yourself a bargain. Remember barter with a smile on your face and don t be too hard on them. This is an essential part of the holiday and will guarrantee your return. Remember they have next to nothing, their persistance is born from desperation. Do not give them anything but money or you ll give them socks and money. Finally, Diving. If you want to learn, go there. They have the best training spot I have ever seen. I dived it by day and night. I saw so many things for the first time (95 dives around the world) and all at under 10 metres. Most of which I would never have seen if not for David the instructor. I also dived with sharks turtles and much more outside the reef. Summing up. I went from a coach ride through a getto to a rain soaked deserted resor,t to safariing staying in stunning lodges and getting fantastic shots of the wildlife, to returning to a resort transformed by sunshine and smiles, to then having a diving experience like nowhere on earth. As I said. It grows on you. So if you want a hoiliday that you will not want to come home from. Get out there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I was looking forward to staying here with all the good reviews that Voyager was getting and I have to say the good reviews were certainly justified, the staff were extremely friendly, the food was very good especially for myself being a very fussy eater (there was a Chef called Peter in the evenings who was always very chatty and made us a special chicken curry which was delicious).
We had a superior garden view room down towards the lookout bar, room was nice, clean and comfortable. The pool boy Moses was very helpful brought us sun loungers right up to our room.
We spent 3 days on safari to Tsavo East & West in the first week and 3 days to the Masai Mara on the 2nd and we booked both these trips with F Kings and can not recommend them highly enough (will write a separate review).
Was a bit wary of the beach boys at first but my husband loves to barter and talk so kept them very busy, you can barter lotions/shower gels and clothing with them.
We took a walk to the supermarket which isn't to far, although we took a wrong turn on the way back and walked in a complete circle back to the supermarket so took a taxi.
Just leaves me to say that we really enjoyed our stay and when we return to Kenya we would love to stay at the Voyager.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepper1Warwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I've been to a couple of resorts in Mombasa & this was now one of my favourites. This was highly influenced by the fact that we got a sea-facing room for a normal room price, they reserved dinner for us because of our late arrival & it was all-inclusive. The staff was super friendly & helpful whenever needed. The food was average as was the beach (there's better in the South of Mombasa) but the Lookout bar & the waiters constantly handing out cocktails really made up for them. Overall, a good experience & a great holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure u get a sea facing room as they are of better quality & the view is just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuzmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Just returned from the Voyager,without doubt our most memerable holiday weve ever had,excellent staff and food the rooms were as others have said a little tired and our air con was poor but they gave us a fan to compensate.Will hopefully go back soon

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corkish2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
1.1 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 61 in Mombasa
1,014 reviews
4.9 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#13 of 61 in Mombasa
240 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
#20 of 61 in Mombasa
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: $140 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing