We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be returning for sure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Peterborough England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will be returning for sure!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I returned from Bamburi Beach hotel yesterday after a two week vacation there. when arriving to the hotel we were greeted with coconut juice which was lovely after such a long flight, we were then taken down to breakfast.
I felt all the staff at the Bamburi Beach Hotel were lovely, all of the restaurant staff were more than helpful and the food was very good with lots of choice. Fisherman's cave restaurant is lovely and well worth the money! Whilst in Kenya i visited Doddington school which was a lovely experience, the children and the teachers were all so welcoming and seeing how willing the children are to learn really warms your heart, this is an experience i will never forget! definatley worth a visit. Ask Merci the hostess for Nicholas pears and she will put you in the right direction, Nick is also very good for car hire with very reasonable prices!
Another trip i did whilst i was there with my family was safari, we did Tsavo East and then went and stayed the night at Salt Lick, this was an amazing experience and we saw so many animals during our stay there of 2 days and 1 night! we had 4 meals included in the price of this! It may be costly but for what you pay you are always out and seeing the animals including Zebra, Lion and lots of elephants and giraffes was definatley worth it. On the day we were going we were given breakfast in the hotel resturant which was toast and cereal and a selection of fruit juice which i felt was very good service as they went out their way to do this for me!
When staying in the hotel i felt safe and secure as their are lots of security who are also friendly! It was our first time in Kenya and we were not disappointed and would recommend the hotel and the people especially the animation team to anyone!
Shall defiantly be booking again in the very near future! If i was to say a negative about the hotel i would say it wouldnt be for families who have very young children, their is a kids club on site but i wouldnt have said it looks like it gets used a lot! however that is just me being picky!

Room Tip: If mobility is poor then i would recommend asking to stay on the bottom floor, as their isn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    339
    163
    76
    50
See reviews for
265
390
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
romford
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

just back from bamburi beach hotel on sunday 27th october, a fantastic 2 week holiday, thankyou to all the staff for a great time, the food taste and choice is great, we were spoilt for choice, the hotel is the most centraly locared for all the local sights, if you book a flight to mombasa you can easily book the hotel on line or phone them, also there are several holiday companies that can book a package. we will go back again in the future.

Room Tip: all the rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a fantastic 3 star hotel, rooms were clean, location is good, food is great (loads of options and very tasteful) and staff is the best. Everybody is so helpful and friendly. We had a fantastic time here. Special mention to the animation team (Vero, Sylvia, Amina, Conni, Anderson, Bonny, Patrick, J, Chivo) they were all amazing!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

we have just had two weeks at the bamburi beach hotel and we could not have asked for beater .....it is not a big hotel like some but it has every thing you need for a very relaxing holiday...the food was very good there are three resterants to choose from all are very good clean and tidey.....the staff make you most welcome and all are very friendly and they keep the grounds very clean and no mess. the only drawback that I found was there is no lift and we where on the third floor its a lot of stairs to climb when you have dodgey knees ....but I think I have come back much fitter than when I left home......keep up the good work all of you the place is a credit to all the stafe from the management to the people who clean the toilet's....thank you very much for a good stay....5/10/2013.....to 20/10/2013

Room Tip: if you are over a certain age ask for a ground floor room as there is no lift.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a wonderful holiday. The food was excellent, the hotel clean, nice pool and the staff were absolutely delightful.We were very well looked after by all the staff including Eunice,Jack,Patrick, Shadrack, Cosmos, Florence and all the others.. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were all a tremendous credit to the hotel. We thoroughly recommend the hotel.

Fred and Alice Hovey

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It was great to be back at this small and friendly hotel. I must say that the standard of the food has improved greatly and the staff are as friendly as ever. Hasan the under manager is doing a great job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Loved our visit to Kenya, however if we went back (I visited with my husband) we would have paid a little bit more for a better hotel.

The first week we went on safari, which was absolutely fantastic. The hotel does not let you keep your room whilst on safari so don't fully unpack if you're leaving in the first few days.

On our return from safari we were moved to a room on the ground floor, near the main restaurant... after a few days the smell of the BBQ they were cooking a lot of the meat on was really beginning to turn my stomach. We began eating in a al la carte pool bar which was actually much nicer than the buffet they offered.

I have to say the staff were amazing, Mercy the waitress always managed to put a smile on our faces! My husband mentioned to the male cleaner that at the end of the holiday we would leave him some of his clothes etc which we weren't taking home with us, and he could not have been more grateful and lovely to us for doing so. The clothes were not expensive... primark/burtons, but they meant the world to this man. Definitely take some spares/give the staff what you can, honestly the gratitude of this man made my holiday.

One thing I was shocked about is the large number of prostitutes within the hotel, it seems that many older German men booked the hotel for 2 but travelling solo, and picked up a prostitute to accompany them. They were so easy to spot as the men were in their 80s, and were trying to speak to the women in broken English :) it was quite entertaining.

The hotel itself was very small, not much to do, and you can't really leave the grounds without being bombarded by sales folk. You can't go for a walk along the beach, we tried and were followed for over an hour!

We booked trips everyday to fill boredom, we went to a zoo (which seems strange when we'd just been on safari) but it was great as you could feed the giraffes and monkeys.

Room Tip: I would request a higher floor, as we were sat next to the restaurant on the bottom floor! Got overw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
0.4 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#8 of 14 in Bamburi
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#17 of 58 in Mombasa
63 reviews
3.4 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamburi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamburi Beach Hotel

Property: Bamburi Beach Hotel
Address: Malindi Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm and friendly hotel welcomes guests with a distinctly African vibe and a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean! The spacious and comfortable vibrant deluxe rooms have a TV, Coffee and Tea making facilities, safe (chargeable) and mini fridge to ensure you can relax and enjoy, in air conditioned comfort with quiet, split unit air conditioners or on the terrace with a spectacular view and a cool Indian Ocean breeze. The ocean deck edges onto the ocean and offers a relaxing atmosphere during the day enjoying a sunbath with a terrific view of the ocean! Whether you come to the Bamburi Beach Hotel to relax or to use it as a starting point for your game drives, we do everything we can to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamburi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamburi Beach Hotel Kenya
Bamburi Beach Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing