We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Tisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having holidayed in Kenya as a volunteer for six years now and stayed in a number of hotels along Bamburi Beach, this was our second time at this hotel and in comparison found it ticked all the right boxes. Central location to many interesting attractions, friendly staff who were more than willing to assist to make our holiday an enjoyable time, excellent choice of food and extremely tasty. One had the choice to have meals either in the dining area or at the pool restaurant which we often did. Room was ideal for our stay, clean and came with a wonderful sea view.

A perfect hotel for friends, couples or families with entertainment every evening and organised trips and activities during the day.

This picture is of the Bamburi Hotel "Band of Brothers" beach boys who you will easily recognise by their Rasta Hats! I bought these for my son who never wore them so I gave them to sell to earn money but have kept them on! A friendly bunch trying to earn a living and I had some delightful chats with them and they would teach me Swahili. Please support them and say Morag says 'hi'.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    339
    164
    76
    50
See reviews for
267
392
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somma Lombardo, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

U'll do a good choice if you'll decide to hoste izn this hotel! nice people , nice crew!Nice pool, gym and good meals!The rooms have air condition and are bigger than U expect!Internet conection is free, finally!

Helpful?
Thank grigoreanka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just read the previous review 'Stay Elsewhere' and it's a real shame that the person writing it didn't have the experience we did.. Our room was basic but clean with excellent aircon and no mossie net AND no bites but there was a facility for a net if you wanted one and asked for it..

We couldn't fault the food and out of a party of 8 there were no upset tummies in 2 weeks..

Couldn't fault the staff either who always went the extra mile and we tipped at the end of the holiday so it had nothing to do with tipping.. we bought a bottle of water from reception and asked for the water to be put in our fridge in the room, this unlocked the fridge for 2 weeks with no further charge for the fridge.. we got cold water in the glass anytime we wanted it, from the bars or ordered from the waiters..

As for internet, it is free next door in Yul's were you can order the best pizza and ice cream ever if you want.. ate here twice and it was more than excellent..

About it really, we loved it but had we had problems, I am sure they would have been addressed by reception or one of the managers..

As for noise, I have never stayed in a hotel anywhere that hasn't had music and laughter and people enjoying themselves before 11 pm. We would return tomorrow if we had the funds or time off work..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Staff never stop smiling and are so friendly,Have always enjoyed my stays at the hotel , we had a wonderful room looking over the ocean, day we went on the glass bottom boat and went snorkeling - our guide here was great and pointed out all sorts of fish including lion fish, trumpet fish and sting rays, it was truly amazing!
Wonderful to just relax and to re-charge tired bodies & souls
Many thanks for the new manager Hassan, he is there all day and night, even Sundays, always smile very helpful, and very friendly we will come back because of Hassan

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I would not recommend staying here. Do not be fooled by the fancy lobby pictures on the website. Things that made our stay unpleasant: grimy old tiny rooms, old linens that are not fresh (at least 10 years +), saltwater from the faucets and showers (you'll feel salty the whole time), clogged shower drain, mosquitos and no mosquito net, you will be nickeled and dimed: internet 350 shillings an hour for each computer (even though it is wi-fi) and is very slow, they charge you for fresh water out of the bubbler (not bottled), they charge you to use the safe in the room each day, the fridge in the room is an extra charge to use each day and every night there is very loud thumping music until after 11 pm. Oh and if you think it is a good deal because they include meals based on your rate: the food is terrible.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and stay at a nicer hotel, or go to Diani beach and stay at a nicer resort there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casey u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamburi Beach H... M, General Manager at Bamburi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I write to thank you for finding time to contribute in the trip advisor and above all, for being our guest during your recent holiday.

I note that somehow you were not happy with a number of issues within the Hotel. May I offer my apologies on behalf of this hotel. Your comments are taken positively and with a lot of interest. They will indeed help us to improve our services beyond expectation.

Nevertherless, you may also appreciate that every hotel will have a few things that are done differently. I also believe that you can easily access the information on what we offer.

The entire Management was available during your stay and I am sure we could have been useful to you in sorting out a few issues that you have raised.

In the meantime please, be rest assured that you continue to be our valued guest and I request you to pay us another visit if a chance arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have just got back from a 2 week stay at Bamburi Beach hotel, we booked a safari with Tony on the beach and got it for £150 (English) each, this was for Saltlick overnight stay, we could not fault the trip, we stayed in the same lodges as the tour operated companies.
we got stung at the airport for £30pp in and £30pp out of Kenya!! (they take English).
The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly, we worried about some of the comments below but had none of the issues mentioned.
you can buy Wi-Fi from reception for 150 shillings for half hour.
we will be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: I requested via e-mail a ground floor room and had 112 which was right opposite the dinner hall with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Della S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Rooms are a bit noisy and the public beach is full of annoying hawkers, but the hotel is nice for a 3 star hotel. Food is good and fresh, staff is helpful, rooms are clean. Do not book a tour or water event with beach boys. They will cheat you majorly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mat2818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamburi Beach H... M, General Manager at Bamburi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I write to thank you for finding time to contribute in the trip Advisor. Further I note with alot of satisfaction that you enjoyed your stay with us.

May I requiest you kindly to indicate what kind of noise or disturbance there was in the rooms. Was it from within or outside the hotel?

Yes, the hawkers at the public beach can be annoying. While we appreciate that majority of them are earning an honest living, unfortunately a few of them can go beyond acceptable levels.

Once more thank for being our guest and hope that you will find time to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
0.4 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#18 of 58 in Mombasa
69 reviews
3.4 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamburi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamburi Beach Hotel

Property: Bamburi Beach Hotel
Address: Malindi Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamburi Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm and friendly hotel welcomes guests with a distinctly African vibe and a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean! The spacious and comfortable vibrant deluxe rooms have a TV, Coffee and Tea making facilities, safe (chargeable) and mini fridge to ensure you can relax and enjoy, in air conditioned comfort with quiet, split unit air conditioners or on the terrace with a spectacular view and a cool Indian Ocean breeze. The ocean deck edges onto the ocean and offers a relaxing atmosphere during the day enjoying a sunbath with a terrific view of the ocean! Whether you come to the Bamburi Beach Hotel to relax or to use it as a starting point for your game drives, we do everything we can to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamburi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamburi Beach Hotel Kenya
Bamburi Beach Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing