We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Paradise”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Staff never stop smiling and are so friendly,Have always enjoyed my stays at the hotel , we had a wonderful room looking over the ocean, day we went on the glass bottom boat and went snorkeling - our guide here was great and pointed out all sorts of fish including lion fish, trumpet fish and sting rays, it was truly amazing!
Wonderful to just relax and to re-charge tired bodies & souls
Many thanks for the new manager Hassan, he is there all day and night, even Sundays, always smile very helpful, and very friendly we will come back because of Hassan

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    339
    164
    76
    50
See reviews for
267
392
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I would not recommend staying here. Do not be fooled by the fancy lobby pictures on the website. Things that made our stay unpleasant: grimy old tiny rooms, old linens that are not fresh (at least 10 years +), saltwater from the faucets and showers (you'll feel salty the whole time), clogged shower drain, mosquitos and no mosquito net, you will be nickeled and dimed: internet 350 shillings an hour for each computer (even though it is wi-fi) and is very slow, they charge you for fresh water out of the bubbler (not bottled), they charge you to use the safe in the room each day, the fridge in the room is an extra charge to use each day and every night there is very loud thumping music until after 11 pm. Oh and if you think it is a good deal because they include meals based on your rate: the food is terrible.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and stay at a nicer hotel, or go to Diani beach and stay at a nicer resort there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casey u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamburi Beach H... M, General Manager at Bamburi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I write to thank you for finding time to contribute in the trip advisor and above all, for being our guest during your recent holiday.

I note that somehow you were not happy with a number of issues within the Hotel. May I offer my apologies on behalf of this hotel. Your comments are taken positively and with a lot of interest. They will indeed help us to improve our services beyond expectation.

Nevertherless, you may also appreciate that every hotel will have a few things that are done differently. I also believe that you can easily access the information on what we offer.

The entire Management was available during your stay and I am sure we could have been useful to you in sorting out a few issues that you have raised.

In the meantime please, be rest assured that you continue to be our valued guest and I request you to pay us another visit if a chance arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have just got back from a 2 week stay at Bamburi Beach hotel, we booked a safari with Tony on the beach and got it for £150 (English) each, this was for Saltlick overnight stay, we could not fault the trip, we stayed in the same lodges as the tour operated companies.
we got stung at the airport for £30pp in and £30pp out of Kenya!! (they take English).
The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly, we worried about some of the comments below but had none of the issues mentioned.
you can buy Wi-Fi from reception for 150 shillings for half hour.
we will be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: I requested via e-mail a ground floor room and had 112 which was right opposite the dinner hall with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Della S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Rooms are a bit noisy and the public beach is full of annoying hawkers, but the hotel is nice for a 3 star hotel. Food is good and fresh, staff is helpful, rooms are clean. Do not book a tour or water event with beach boys. They will cheat you majorly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mat2818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamburi Beach H... M, General Manager at Bamburi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I write to thank you for finding time to contribute in the trip Advisor. Further I note with alot of satisfaction that you enjoyed your stay with us.

May I requiest you kindly to indicate what kind of noise or disturbance there was in the rooms. Was it from within or outside the hotel?

Yes, the hawkers at the public beach can be annoying. While we appreciate that majority of them are earning an honest living, unfortunately a few of them can go beyond acceptable levels.

Once more thank for being our guest and hope that you will find time to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were at the Bamburi Beach Hotel with my husband and my daughter in June and I must say we were so impressed with everything. From the staff, very friendly and always helping when u need something, very clean rooms, very nice kids pool and kids room,great breakfast..Everything was just wonderful. We hope to return there again when in Mombasa!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a great place to travellers .
We had a room with a very nice view , the food was excellent , meets any 5* hotel quality and the extremely friendly and helpful staff were providing a relaxing atmosphere
Hassan the food and beverage manager is Extremely attentive , really looking to meet all your needs , can't do enough to make your stay PERFECT .
There was usually a bit of torrential rain at some point during the day but we certainly also got plenty of sun and the temperature was perfectly tropical
We would definitely go back again next year

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and the staff are very accommodating to your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zetta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I knew when we booked this hotel it would be basic and didn't have height expectations, but was pleasantly surprised. Check in was abit manic, with it being early morning but the staff did their best and encouraged you to have breakfast before hand to save waiting. Breakfast was had a great choice with freshly made omlets & choices of fruit. We ended up having lunch at the grill most days as you could order from a menu rather than from a buffet which I thought was a nice touch! Do be warned though, not everything is included in the all inclusive package, things like cocktails and diet coke were charged for. We also did a safari which we had pre arranged though thomson and had an amazing time. We did the tsavo east and west. East was amazing, saw lots of elephants, zebras ect but no lions, was told the best time of year to see them was dec.

We had a few problems in the hotel, mainly from the guests though drinking to much. But the hotel dealt with this on the occasions but found that it didn't help much.

We also ventured onto the beach, these poor people wait all day for your custom, and the prices are great I brought a wooden giraffe for about £7. I know it can be quiet scary walking down with all the beach boys, but they are all very polite and will leave you alone if you ask them to. Make sure you take pens, old clothes and shoes, hair bobbles & nail polish with you to barter with or to give to the sellers.

All in all a great holiday, we also booked a few trips doing the haller park and a snorkelling trip. Any questions feel free to email me!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel away from the pool, most of the rooms come with a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kozzie_Lumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
0.4 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#18 of 58 in Mombasa
69 reviews
3.4 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamburi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamburi Beach Hotel

Property: Bamburi Beach Hotel
Address: Malindi Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamburi Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm and friendly hotel welcomes guests with a distinctly African vibe and a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean! The spacious and comfortable vibrant deluxe rooms have a TV, Coffee and Tea making facilities, safe (chargeable) and mini fridge to ensure you can relax and enjoy, in air conditioned comfort with quiet, split unit air conditioners or on the terrace with a spectacular view and a cool Indian Ocean breeze. The ocean deck edges onto the ocean and offers a relaxing atmosphere during the day enjoying a sunbath with a terrific view of the ocean! Whether you come to the Bamburi Beach Hotel to relax or to use it as a starting point for your game drives, we do everything we can to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamburi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamburi Beach Hotel Kenya
Bamburi Beach Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing