We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kahama Hotel(Bamburi)
$68
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$132
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Severin Sea Lodge(Bamburi)(Great Value!)
$107
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveler rating
371
350
178
79
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
350
178
79
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamburi beachkaribu grillbeach boyshaller parkanimation teamgreat holidaytwo weekscrocodile farmwater polosnack barevening entertainmentrooms are basicsoupsweek staybeach sellersmasai marathe general manager
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

hi all
a bit of a late review
but here goes this was our 8th visit to bamburi beach hotel and it was like coming home we had a great room as usual overlooking the beach flowers and fruit were waiting in our room for us
the rooms are cleaned very day and the towels we have no problems with the rooms staff are great and Mercie is the best host we have ever known
food great and you must try the Karibu Bar just round the corner from the main pool they do a mean steak there and the pizza's are lovely
you will have a great time if you go there
ann

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starrchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for a week at the Bamburi Beach on the 11th May. We had a great experience, very friendly and helpful staff who couldn't do enough for you. We had a sea view room which was great! There was a variety of food, with a grill restaurant included as part of the price and we had 20% off the Fishmonger's Cave which was nice for a change and good value. We went on safari with JT Safaris during our stay and couldn't recommend them highly enough! All in all a great place to stay especially for a first time visit to Kenya.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room on a high floor for the best views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraFlo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Although I didn't stay at the hotel, I used the pool and facilities every day. The staff were so friendly. I was there alone and they made me feel so welcome and looked out for me. The facilities were always clean and the food was lovely and it was right on the beach with clear blue water and white sands.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Please don't be put off by negative reviews of these place. It's a excellent standard 3* hotel that suited all our needs.

Rooms - rooms are pretty basic but clean and spacious. Air conditioning is excellent, hair dryers are provided. You do have to pay for a safety deposit box which is about £14 for the week. There is a TV but the reception is rubbish with only a few English channels. TV does have a DVD player so take some DVDs if you are a tv person.
Rooms are cleaned every day with fresh sheets and towels.

Food - excellent variety am quality of food. Good vegetarian and salad selection. Lots of currys and red meats. There was always something for everyone.
Main restaurant is buffet and there is a snack restaurant the does amazing pizza and steak sandwiches.
There is another restaurant that does fish mainly but is not included in the all inclusive however guests get 20% off, we didn't visit here as we found the variety in the other 2 restaurants plentiful.

Beach/pool - there are 2 pools which were both spotlessly clean, we had no trouble getting a subbed every morning and the hotel don't let the Germans reserve them which is fab!
The beach is a little daunting at first as there Re a lot of beach boys trying to sell you safaris and trips but they are all very friendly, just ensure you don't make empty promises of booking as they remember! If our not interested just say no and they will leave you alone.
The beach is beautiful but no one sun bathes there really.

Sarafi - we booked from the UK with a company called Glorious Safaris - we did a 2 day 1 night safari for £194pp this included pick up from hotel, a private jeep, 1 night stay at salt lick game lodge and 3 game drives. All food was included the only thing you needed to pay for was drinks. I would 100% recommend this company - the service we received was top class from start to end!

Weather - we went at the end of May and the weather was glorious, bright sunshine every day with rain only 1 night for about 5 minutes. It was around 39 degrees every day and the sun is very powerful!

Location - transfer time was around 30 minutes. To get to salt lick safari was around 3 hours.
Mombasa town about 15 mins away.

Staff - the staff are the friendliest, happiest bunch I've ever come across. Stacey the first choice rep is amazing and really can't do enough for you.
Must do's -

Safari - you must do this you would be mad not to
HAller park - this is a wildlife park where you can feed giraffes, crocs and hippos. Entrance is about £12 and it's 5 mins from the hotel. Great day out
REAL Kenya - make sure you leave the hotel and see the real Kenya. We went to a little village and saw how the locals lived and to the local school and it really was a amazing experience. Take some clothes, pens, toys as the kids are so poor and are so grateful for anything they can get.

All in all this hotel is a good quality 3* hotel with a excellent location and excellent staff.
Kenya is a beautiful country that I totally fell in love with and it really was a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunray23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The rooms are basic but what you need. You can request a mosquito net, all you need to do is email them before you go. Hair dryers and tea/coffee making facilities are provided. Good tip is to pack a few of your own tea bags! Pool towels and bathroom towels are provided. The shower can be a little bit temperamental but I got there in the end. Balcony was lovely and big with two chairs. We had room 304 and had the most amazing sea view, would highly recommend that. I'd also recommend requesting a high floor to avoid grass snakes (which are harmless but another holidaymaker did have to call reception to have removed from her balcony and she had a lower floor room than us). Also remember to lock your balcony doors and never leave them ajar as the cheeky monkeys will open them and steal things from your room! Breakfast was adequate, probably the best selection, always cereal, toast, pasteries and hot options like omlettes. At lunch time salads were always available, some sort of potatoes, soup and toasted sandwiches. Dinner for me lacked the variety. Im not fussy at all but found eating potatoes, rice and salad every evening. However, what food was there was of a good quality, just not very much choice. There was a sort of curry every evening and good vegetarian choices. Room service is reasonably priced so we chose this option one evening. The a la carte Karibu dining option still hasn't quite grasped the 'a la carte' concept yet as you still go up to get your starter and pudding buffet style! None the less, the main course was very nice. The drinks are surpisingly good! The white wine was the nicest I've had in an all inclusive and the cocktails were nice. The ice-cream is always an extra charge and not included. The wi-fi is 350 shillings for one hour and best used in reception for signal. Entertainment is for half an hour only every night at 9.30pm. Its low key and at times boring. Saw 3 or 4 dance acts in the week and a bingo evening. The best entertainment of the week was crab racing! The hotel has a fantastic location central to lots of local attractions such as Bombolulu (a charity based centre for disabled adults to learn craft skills and live until dependant to live alone) and Haller Nature Park where you can feed giraffes, see hippos, crocodiles, lots of species of reptiles and snakes, giant tortoises, deer, monkeys and other small animals. Theres a great bar just 3 minutes walk down the beach called 'il Covo" which is very international, serves premium branded drinks and cocktails and makes a change to the hotels low-key evening entertainment. Hotel is approx 45 minutes from the airport. We had a massage at the hotel and it was perfect! For a solid hour every muscle in the upper body was massaged and felt great afterwards! Worth every penny (approx 10 english pound). The beach is not privately owned so we found a lot of Kenyan's trying to sell you safari trips and boat trips on the beach so we stuck to sunbathing in our hotel. Get a taxi everywhere do not walk! Stacey the rep is amazing, a true asset to the hotel. Overall, this hotel does not offer an extensive all inclusive range but it is a 3* property and is advertised as a 3* property so you do get what you pay for, and for that, I am happy with what was provided. If food is very important for you and you want to dine 4* or 5* then you will have to book to stay there but compromise on the location as these tend to be in more tucked away areas of Mombasa's coast.

If you do choose to stay here, please take a taxi to a local school called Ch.in.k (Children In Kenya) as its truely awe inspiring. I was honoured to meet the British couple Georgina and Roy who have built the school from scratch since coming to Kenya in the 90's. They run a charity shop from England that proceeds all the money to building this school for local deprived children and what they have achieved is amazing. We met the children and some of the teachers and they gave us an insight to local life and how they get by. Something we only can assume or see on television. My trip would not have been the same if it wasn't for this lovely couple! (Who have been to the Bamburi Beach hotel over 20 times!)

Room Tip: 304, 301 or 307
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews