We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely depressing, food accomodation, water, etc”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed overnight in transit as flight delayed.. Room was ok but the bed was useless, too small,also had blankets on not a duvet... and not very clean blankets hairy type, who uses blankets in this day and age??? I don"t know anyone else. The shower was as small as a coffin
also only supplied hotel soap, the water was salty so you could not get a proper wash, also the towels didn"t dry you properly, i felt i hadnt had a shower afterwards. No bottled water in the room only some dubious water in a thermos for cleaning your teeth.

the food was putrid for dinner absolutely inedible. breakfast was ok. on departure the safari breakfast was wishy washy tea. and stale corn flakes.

The bar at the pool served warm flat beer from a bored barman.. the whole place had a feel of
negativity about it.

Mosquitos abound so take your spray and tablets. Sorry Bamburi I will never stay here again.


My advice spend a few more pounds and visit another hotel on the coast Whitesands or Voyager or Serena but not here.

Remember I told you so. On the plus side the staff tried their best so I cant fault them,
They can only work with what they have.

Room Tip: Dont. I advise you to go elsewhere
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
There are newer reviews for Bamburi Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 984 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have stayed here twice- and both times enjoyed it- food plentiful and good. Has been a couple of years since we last visited and then the rooms though spotlessly clean were a bit tired in the soft furnishing/bathroom dept.
Right on beautiful beach but unfortunatley because of constant hassle from beach sellers you cant actually use it!
Safari trips are out of this world- would recommend Salt Lick-not to be missed

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay_stallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Just returned from a two week all inclusive with Thomsons at the Bamburi Beach. Very pleasant time though very windy! Staff were very good and the food was plentiful if a bit sameish. The only downside was that gentlemen are not allowed in the restaurant of an evening wearing shorts, not even cropped trousers. This must surely be discrimination as the ladies were allowed to wear anything from minis downwards. Have stayed at five star hotels where there has not been a problem with decent dress shorts let alone a three star! This is not shown in the brochure and necessitated going into Mombasa to buy extra trousers for my partner.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We thoughly enjoyed our two week stay at the Bamburi Beach Hotel. Our room on the second floor was nice, cleaned everyday, sheets changed, bathroom, fresh towels daily. We enjoyed the food, bar staff very friendly. Yes on the beach there are quite alot of people selling you things, but you are on holiday , just have to tell them no, they soon get used to you. We booked a safari with Elton on the beach, boat trip with Jay, they are really nice guys. John the taxi driver at the Hotel took us alot of places, waited for us, took us to Mombassa and got a tour guide for us for a walk around Fort Jesus. We visited a village with Jay, went to a School, and SOS Hospice for children with HIV/Aids took them some lollies, they enjoyed seeing us. All in all it was great, hopefully return next year. Find it hard to believe that people who visited the same time as us were ill. We were fine. Hotel very recomendable. Thanks to the staff, Jospeh. John, Ester and Mary and Florence. Lorraine and Ken , Stoke on Trent

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was great - overlooking the roof top, monkeys running around in the mor...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraineS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

bamburi beach hotel, well what a let down bad food to which most of guest was very ill. they had cleaners in and food inspecters in it was that bad. for the staff some were great but let down by others hotel manger not good. room so old shower didnt work sink hanging off toilet seat broken wall lights loose wires hanging out. kids club waste of time staff didnt care. kids not safe with staff. we have been holidaying in kenya since 1999 and this has been the worst ever. know wounder its the cheapest hotel in mombasa. if u have children dont do this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oniaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed at the bamburi 20th April for 17 nights. Good flight with Thomson.Weather great with some rain in the night.Sea view room ,cleaned every day, fresh towels every day and bedding changed every day.Air con 24/7,no extra charge.Charge for safe and mini bar to be opened.Pools clean and plenty of sunbeds, have a word and give a small tip to the towel guy and he will reserve your bed with matress and a clean towel every day.Staff all friendly and went out there way to help you especially Mercie and Ester in the resturant made you feel that extra bit special.Food was nt always to our liking but we did nt go hungry, you can always get chips, pizza,club sandwich etc at lunch times from the Karibu bar at the quite pool. The main pool was good with entertainment of some discription till 10pm , then dico till 11pm very loud which sometimes was annoying.No creepy crawlies in room.
Booked 3 day safari with JT safaries in uk , paid deposit no probs did everything he said he would ,from his driver picking us up at hotel and to paying after we had safari, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had 3rd room floor room number 307 which was ok but unfortunately it had a tree bang in front of...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BEAMOANDJOYCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I had great time in Mombasa. Bamburi beach hotel is ideal location. It has some good features and but rooms are bit old fashion and need upgrading look for rooms on 2nd floor. Room 200-206 are v good?I was with first choice and rooms were not allocated till very late in the day.I had to change three times before got a nice room.Ac and Tv worked on occasion gave some trouble.Beach boys can be irritating. food in the hotel was not consistent some days it was Excellent and other days caused some concern as people got sick.when booking safari Go to people on the beach( mr Hudson will give good deal and is very professional ). The cost is one third the price charged by First choice price in the Hotel.other Comments is staying in same hotel for 14 days is not good ideas,as things seems to be same day in and day out. food is same everyday.One piece of advise to all who enjoy drinks, all inclusive give you opportunity to drink all day. you will suffer after three days of drinking that can ruin your holidays
, I saw people suffering as they did not pace their drinking as it is free during the day.




Ed

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLASH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
0.4 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 60 in Mombasa
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamburi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamburi Beach Hotel

Address: Malindi Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: $109 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamburi Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm and friendly hotel welcomes guests with a distinctly African vibe and a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean! The spacious and comfortable vibrant deluxe rooms have a TV, Coffee and Tea making facilities, safe (chargeable) and mini fridge to ensure you can relax and enjoy, in air conditioned comfort with quiet, split unit air conditioners or on the terrace with a spectacular view and a cool Indian Ocean breeze. The ocean deck edges onto the ocean and offers a relaxing atmosphere during the day enjoying a sunbath with a terrific view of the ocean! Whether you come to the Bamburi Beach Hotel to relax or to use it as a starting point for your game drives, we do everything we can to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamburi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamburi Beach Hotel Kenya
Bamburi Beach Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing