We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not such a good hotel but good safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Have just returned from the Bamburi Beach hotel, stayed here 7 years ago and it was really lovely, we travelled with 8 other friends for a 50th birthday, we expected it to be the same, how wrong can you be:

The first room we had, the air conditioning was blowing out hot air, to be fair when we complained they sent someone to fix it but it wasn't fixed, they let us move rooms the next day, and this one was fine. The rooms a very tired now and in need of an up grade, they were clean however. The food the first week was very good, as was the service, when we returned from safari the second week it wasn't nice at all, there were not enough staff really, there were just two waiters around the pool area, a lot of the time they forgot orders, or just didn't come back! Merci the restaraunt hostess was funny the first few days but then became over the top, throwing napkins at the guys when they were eating grabbing them and making rude comments, we got very fed up with her to be honest.

There were never enough sun beds, it was like being in Spain, people were up at 5.30am putting towels out, sometiomes the beds weren't even used!! There are notices saying that sunbads are not to be saved but thats never inforced. We have been to Kenya 10 times now and have never experienced this, the hotel put me in mind of some cheap rate hotel in Spain were people went just to lay in the sun for two weeks.

We did a 4 day safari with a guy called Partick of STT safari, we paid £350 each (really good price compared with the tour operators) there was 10 of us, we went to Voi Safari lodge, Salk Licks and Kiiiguni Lodge, we did 2 safari drives each day, the drivers were very careful drivers, I wouldn't say there knowledge of the wild life was vast but they did find us the cheeter and everything apart from the Rino, they were however very keen to please and give us a good expereience. I do have their email address if anyone want its. I contacted them before we left to organise it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbiequested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

Would I recomend this hotel? NO Would I ever return to this hotel? NO

I have stayed in a few bad hotels but this is the only one I have been to that I would never go back to, it was like the television programme Benidorm, only worse! The all inclusive functioni s a complete waste of time, I could not get a drink for love nor money! You ask for water and you get one measly glass, you are not allowed to fill up even a small water bottle so I spent two weeks constantly dehydrated! At lunch & dinner waiters "serve" you drinks, every mealtime we would wait at least 15 minutes to order our drink, they then would not return! So you are restricted to one drink per meal, we tried tipping and it didnt help - ended up being even more of a waste of money! The food was ok, I would highly recomend the Karibu snack bar at lunch and for evening (you have to pre book this) rather than the buffet as you are more likely to get served here!

The rooms were very outdated, only one bulb out of 3 worked in our bathroom, the air con did not work and every evening we had to go all the way to reception to ask for someone to fix it, a guy would arrive with the control and re-set the unit, 10 minutes after he left it broke again - this happened EVERY Evening so we gave up in the end and it felt like a sauna!

You cannot use the beach, no sunbeds are allowed and it is full of seaweed. Sunbeds are situated around the pool but never enough, I waited over 1.5 hours for one! I complained to the manager and he told me "of course we have enough!", clearly they dont!

The evening entertainment was very bad.

Only plus points were the entertainment staff - excellent, and the waiters, there were not enough but they were trying!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Went all inclusive. Wonderful hotel, food lovely if you dont like spicy plain menu at the Karibou Grill. Rooms lovely cleaned every day and clean towels daily. Staff are friendly and go out of their way for you nothing is to much trouble for them. I ended up going on my own and met loads of people and became friends. Went to Salt Lick Safari which visited Tsavo West and East absolutley amazing.You can book some safaris at the hotel with First Choice but i booked before going.

Room Tip: I asked for a sea view when i got there had not been allocated but informed reception and they chang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmarthenRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

first time to kenya and stayed at the bamburi beech hotel, very clean inside and out, the staff are hard workers and always pleasant.and most speak very good english, we found the food quite good it was better than we expected,as for the traders on the beech just a polite no usually worked with some of them ,but difficult just to have a stroll along the beech as they keep following you.we went on a 3 day 2 night safari to tsavo east and west the company we used was S.T.T SAFARIS at www.sttsafaris.com we had contacted this company in the uk befor we left.patrick the sales rep was very imformative and knowledgable he picked us up on day agreed took us to his office to sort the safari.we had a van to ourselves as requested .the safari its self was amazing and ben the driver/guide was fantastic he saw things we would have missed we would definately recommend this company they are cheaper than the others and would use them again

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alipaul0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Only 7 days but had such a lovely time at Bamburi Beach. Yes the hotel is a bit jaded but more than makes up for it by the lovely staff. They are so friendly and it's not put on nothing is too much trouble Marcie in the restaurant is a GEM.Read some bad reviews on the food but we couldn't find fault with it. We didn't do a Safari but went to Haller park which I reccomend even if you do the Safari feeding the Giraffes was a fantastic experience. So was trading on the beach which takes a bit of getting used to but they are all very nice chaps trying to make a living.

Room Tip: Sea view is best I emailed in advance for one. However as there is no lift and four floors and you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooksie1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

we travelled to kenya with some freinds of ours, on arrivall we travelled straight to safari in tsavo east very tiring but well worth it. stayed at the arruba lodge the whole experience was fantastic, lodge was brilliant and safari was out of this world cannot fault the lodge or safari what so ever.
we then went to the bamburi beach hotel, not what we were expecting, we all thought the hotel was very poor, the first room we had was terrible when we eventually changed rooms the next one was ok but that is all you can say, very basic and old.
Yes this hotel is only a three star but to us it really showed, we only stayed here one night and the next day we asked the rep if we could move hotels, he was very good and moved us to there sister hotel the southern palms in the south, well what a difference this is what a hotel should be more like, very good and you can even go on the beach here.
To come to the point i would not reccomend the bamburi beach to my worst enemy but if you are going to kenya the southern palms hotel is excellent,

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrainem641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We returned from Kenyan on 6 September this year. This was the third trip to Kenya and this hotel for my son and myself, albeit therre was another member to our party this time. Every time we have done one safari or another and this time repeated the first time we came but added a visit to Treetops. The safaris have taken us all over the place from Samburu to the Masai Mara and Tsavo east and west. This time we saw all the big five. The safaris create a little windon in David Atteneborough's world and we are glad to have seen it. Haller park has improved every time we visit it due to the skills in conservation improving. As for the hotel, well it is the most friendly hotel we have ever stayed in on our travels. The food is good and the staff are truly excellent. Mercy is their secret treasure and never to be forgotten. We have made many friends there and contiue to keep contact withthem especially with our true friend Peter. Hope to make a fourth visit but not for a couple of years. Keep up the good work and improvements!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have access to many stairs so you have to be fit. The first floor and ground floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
1.5 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
#18 of 61 in Mombasa
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 61 in Mombasa
3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamburi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamburi Beach Hotel

Address: Malindi Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: $117 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamburi Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm and friendly hotel welcomes guests with a distinctly African vibe and a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean! The spacious and comfortable vibrant deluxe rooms have a TV, Coffee and Tea making facilities, safe (chargeable) and mini fridge to ensure you can relax and enjoy, in air conditioned comfort with quiet, split unit air conditioners or on the terrace with a spectacular view and a cool Indian Ocean breeze. The ocean deck edges onto the ocean and offers a relaxing atmosphere during the day enjoying a sunbath with a terrific view of the ocean! Whether you come to the Bamburi Beach Hotel to relax or to use it as a starting point for your game drives, we do everything we can to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bamburi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamburi Beach Hotel Kenya
Bamburi Beach Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing