We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Kenyan Coast at it's Best”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Neem Tree, Vipingo

A piece of Indian Ocean Paradise.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A piece of Indian Ocean Paradise.
Aerial View Usual crowded beach scene
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
A piece of Indian Ocean Paradise.
Aerial View
Usual crowded beach scene
Pool and Pool house
Snorkeling 20 mt off the beach in the Kuruwitu Marine Conservancy.
Sundowner deck off steps down to the beach
House and part of mature garden
Front of house
Sitting Room
Dining area in house
Master bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double bedroom view 2
Family bedroom
Ensuite bathroom family bedroom.  All are similar style and size.
Kitchen (this is quite small compared to rest of house)
Large rooftop chill out area
Our super staff - L - R, Reuben: cook, Pili: housekeeper, Emmanuel: groundsman
Typical guest book comments
House from pool
Pool 12 x 6 mt
Poolhouse
Pool from poolhouse
Sunbathing deck with water feature
Poolhouse at night
Sundowner deck from beach (sand comes and goes seasonally)
Steps to the beach are quite narrow and steep.  Beach access at low - mid tide.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mombasa, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robin M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Kenyan Coast at it's Best”
Reviewed January 24, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Lyndsey and Rob were a great help even before we set off introducing us to car hire companies, advising on best modes of travel and getting us into the New Years Eve party at the nearby Beach Club and helping stock the larder. The SafariLink flight into Vipingo Ridge is a game changer.

Once there we had one of the best holidays we've had for years where we immediately fell into a gentle pattern of Kenyan coastal life. Up early for a cup of tea before snorkelling in the marine conservation park after which we returned for partly Kenyan (fresh fruit) and partly English breakfast (bacon and eggs).

Lazy days were spent reading by the pool, wandering on the reef at low tide or a brief wander up the beach up to the fabulous Beach Bar for drinks or the occasional lunch. Every night we sat overlooking the ocean drinking cocktails and eating fresh fish or shellfish which had been caught earlier that day by the local fishermen. We spent the evenings chatting and playing cards.

The house itself is in the old colonial style which we love. Very relaxed and not at all prissy. This is a house that is lived in and loved. The monitor lizard visited the pool every day and the kingfisher took a daily bath in the infinity pool.

Reuben, Pilli and Emmanuel were wonderful and looked after us beautifully. On the first night of our arrival there was a problem with the cistern but it was fixed the next day.

If you want a five star hotel full of beautiful people and a power shower then this is not the place for you. If you want to be in an authentic coastal experience in a place of great natural beauty then look no further. We all had the most wonderful holiday and we shall definitely be back.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyage502...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fifth time but the last given attitude after mishap”
Reviewed January 14, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at the Neem tree a number of times but, alas, suffered when an anti algae agent was added to the pool staining us all yellow. Apologies were offered; it is easy to say sorry rather more difficult it appears to follow up and put meaning in these words. Our 7 year old was worried as her swimming costume turned yellow and she saw her dad dyed yellow. Protestations of this will clear were not backed by actuality.

Given we have been to Neem Tree 5 times, and seen the lack of investment as this beautiful property run on a daily basis by a great cook and host, then the nature of response from the owner was appalling. It seems no investment has been made in the property to support the team on the ground, plastic sheeting across the roof, stairs to upper deck rickety and even the dart board having seen better days. Rust on the metal work (well beyond expected amounts from sea water and air) and we even suffered with mould on the seats where little or no cleaning of significance had been undertaken. My Mother-in-Law, who first stayed at Neem Tree some 6 or 7 years ago was aghast at how the property had become run down.

A sad situation and one making us decide not to return given the owners seem to value short term monetary gain over the long term well being of their own team, the property and the well being of paying guests

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2017
I am so sorry to see this very damaging review from a regular visitor. When our pool attendant put in anti algae one evening, we were shocked when the guest called to say that their costumes and one gentleman's hair and skin had turned slightly yellow. We immediately called the supplier of our pool chemicals who reassured us that there would be no long term harmful effects but could not say why the problem had occurred. I followed up with the company several times and always copied in the guest. I am not sure what he means when he says 'its easy to say sorry rather more difficult to follow up and put meaning in these words'. The pool did quickly clear (as did the guests skin and hair) and overall the guests had 1 day where the wife and child did not swim in the pool. I obviously apologised profusely and offered them an extra day free which they declined. What began as a mild and good natured grumble became more serious as time went on and the more I followed up with the chemical supplier. The guest complained that the container says you should avoid eye contact with the algaecide and later claimed that he had to buy medicine for his daughters eyes (he didn't tell me this until several weeks later) and at the same time mentioned that they later became ill, but would not elaborate on this at all. The container does state that the chemical is dangerous if ingested or in contact with skin or eyes in a concentrated state. The fact is we put in an algaecide for pools that mixed with 90,000 litres of water and we still don't know why the discolouration problem occurred. Obviously we will never use this chemical again when guests are staying.
Re. the other matters this guest complains about - we employ a maintenance person 3 - 4 times a week and use expensive rust convertor regularly on all the grill work in an effort to keep the degenerating effects of being so close to the sea under control. I have now re-covered all of the pool chairs which indeed were not looking good due to people sitting on them in wet costumes, but they were regularly cleaned and soaked in bleach.
The roof area is one of many chill out areas in a big house - it is an open area with a couple of sofa's. Monkeys play here, mess up cushions and chew up darts. Children play on the dart board and whilst it is another fun component to the house, we do not advertise it as a smart gaming area. The flat roof has proved difficult with regards to leaks inside the house which we are constantly re-painting and thus we have covered it with white PVC until such time as we can afford to properly re-roof this very large area. This roof is hidden by a wall and you can only see it as you climb the steps, it's not something that is spoiling a view. We love this house dearly and put all we can afford into keeping it in good shape. We do all we can to look after our guests and staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neem Tree is Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

THANKS a million for an unforgettable and fantastic stay in your house - your lovely, silent, beautiful and scenically Neem Tree. We felt like home, not because the house and surroundings was like home but because you and the staff and the whole atmosphere made it calm and confidently.
We have never had a holiday like this. Pole pole and hakuna matata kind of feeling.
It is actually hard to put into words.
Phili, Emmanuel and Reuben were the best ever. They did really well and we really enjoyed the time we had together. Give them lots of "roses" (thanks!).
The New Years Eve, hanging out and snorkeling together with you was also awesome. We enjoyed your company. Keep up the good spirit!
We will be back!
Love from the Clemensen Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCM222
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A gem on the coast”
Reviewed December 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I am married to a Kenyan so have been to Kenya and Mombasa on several occasions . We were a party of 7 of various ages.. First time for us in a Villa in Mombasa. Give the cost hotels a miss and try this "gem on the beach". The description by the owner is very accurate, if a bit understated. The view and sound of the sea from the pool area is something you will always remember. If you just want to chill and do nothing.. This is the place for you. The pool is excellent and I am not a swimmer!. Even the monkeys are chilled .. and stare at you. What makes this place very special is Ruban and the staff.. Nothing is to much trouble, from Rubans ability to make all food special to the super friendly and efficient housekeeping. I have travelled all over the world and have stayed in some very special places, but do not go back to the same place. This is the exception . And will be back at some point. You are bit isolated as about 50 minutes from Mombasa Town. However, the owner arranged for us to be picked up and returned to the Airport by a very professional Taxi service, who we spent a fair few shillings through the week we were at Neem Tree.!!.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing