We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Herts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
Reviewed December 27, 2006

We stayed at Nyali Beach throughout Christmas 2006.

We found comments placed by other tripadvisor users to be very helpful in choosing the hotel and seemed to be mostly an accurate description. So, here are a few comments by us that will hopefully assist others in choosing whether or not to stay at Nyali Beach.

The hotel itself beautifully laid out on different levels with two pools (one for proper swimming and the other for messing about). Both seemed quite deep and had no lifeguards though which might be a consideration for those with children. The room was very comfortable but not luxury. They were well cleaned and maintained, the air conditioning worked and the grounds also appeared well cared for.

The food was good with a large selection from the buffet and BBQ evenings on the terrace which were a treat. There did appear to be far too much food for the guests though and I got the opinion on a few occasions that this was a little over-extravagant for the needs of the guests. This might explain why the hotel is in recievership?.... It also left me feeling a little uncomfortable considering that we were in a third world country.

We also visited the Mvita Grill on one of the evenings and had some of the best seafood I have ever had. The staff in there were very attentive and the Jazz Band were also brilliant. This restaurant is right on the beach and you can look out to see and hear the waves lapping whilst you eat. V. romantic! We seemed to be one of three couples there. Not sure if it's always like that but there were double the staff to customers. This was also reasonable priced by UK standards. The 450KS that the hotel provides doesn't go very far but nice for a treat.

The beach itself was gorgeous with the finest white sand. Towards the end of the holiday there seemed to be a big dump of seaweed, although I was reliably informed by the staff at the water sports centre that this was because there was no wind on that day and sure enough it was gone again when the wind picked up again.

The beach boys will approach you but if you tell them that you are not interested in buying anything they will soon leave you alone. Other people just want to chat. The Kenyans are very friendly and this was a nice thing to be able to do. There was also some good football matches on the beach and they are more than happy for non-locals to join in (seemed to be quite a serious business though!)

By far the best part about this hotel was the friendliness of the staff. Without exception they were genuinely lovely and it is the small things that they do that make the holiday. For example, the gardeners knock down the coconuts from the palm trees and if you ask them they will skillfully prepare them to be drunk. It was little surprises like this that I liked.

Afternoon tea with pancakes was also a nice touch.

We left the hotel on many occasions and did not have any trouble. We didn't go into the centre of Mombasa but the area of Nyali around the hotel seemed to be fairly safe even on foot.

Also look out for the monkeys on the balcony. They provided endless amounts of entertainment!

Nyali beach certainly exceeded our expectations. It was a great place to spend an alternative Christmas!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Seaweed
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank louberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    88
    49
    35
    37
See reviews for
67
57
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

We arrived back from Mombasa only yesterday (10th Dec) via Nairobi which was the only negative about our holiday.
We started off with a 5 day `Thorn Tree Safari` starting in Nairobi and went to Treetops, Lake Naivasha and the Masai Mara game reserve before flying down to Mombasa for 10 nights at the Nyali Beach Hotel. The hotel was recommended to us by our agents in London and we were not disappointed. We paid extra to be housed in the Palm Wing extension of the hotel. This was situated above a small pool and we had some views of the beach. We were told that the last time the hotel was refurbished was 10 years ago and to be fair it was a little tired in its appearance. But it has to be said the whole place was very clean with immaculate gardens.
We arrived very tired after a long drive and flight mid evening to be greeted as we got off the bus by the concierge who welcomed us in person even knowing our surname. We were impressed! this followed by cooling towels, soft drinks and a stress free check in. Top marks go to the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Always smiling. Food too was very good. Tops for me was breakfast, real pork sausages, bacon etc a true Full English. They even had HP sauce! The food varied nicely throughout the 10 days we were there. Top marks to the Nyali and its wonderful people.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lock on door broke one evening. Sorted quicklt though.
  • Tips/Secrets — Have plenty of 100 Kenyan shilling notes for tips
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank DJSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2006

Our first visit to Kenya for just 1 week. Chose this hotel based on reviews filed on tripadvisor.
Hotel was originally built 60 years ago and has been extended. We stayed in the older part and this was looking decidedly tired. The hotel is also in receivership so I imagine no one wants to invest in refurbishing.
That said, everything else about the hotel was really good. Excellent friendly service. Always a reasonable choice of food (we went half board) - breakfast v good, afternoon tea (cakes, pancakes, sandwiches) .
Some entertainment provided (band with the BBQs); otherwise local dancers / acrobats did an enthusiastic short show.
Grounds are tidy and maintained. We were in a quiet period so lots of room although there's a shortage of the better loungers and shaded areas. You had to give the staff a few shillings to get them to reserve loungers and a preferred spot.
Most of the visitors were British.
Lots of people who have returned many times to this hotel and it is reckonened to be the second best in the area.
No hassle from beach boys or locals on the beach.
Good if you want a quiet holiday away from children and rowdy teanagers etc. Would definately considering going back.

  • Liked — Nothing special
  • Disliked — Needed refurbishing
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to local supermarket to buy water etc. Consider booking direct rather than via a travel agent /tour operator
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank agvod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2006

We spent our honeymoon at Nyali Beach and it was just wonderful. The first two days were spent just lying by the pool drinking, eating, dozing and reading but after that we tried to make more of our trip.

The food is great - the regular restaurant is fine (although bread & butter pudding and highlands cemembert cheese every day takes some getting used to) but the Mvita Grill is just superb. The food is lovely but the atmosphere is just wonderful - there is a three piece band who play all the classics and are such a nice, friendly bunch of people.

The service is very good - we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and when I was unlucky enough to be struck by appendicitis the hotel nurse was just fantastic (thank you sister!)

Nyali Beach doesn't do all inclusive and as a result it seemed to have a more relaxed atmosphere and fewer paralytic Germans (and Brits) than some of the other posh hotels.

In short, we could not have been better treated or better fed and watered than we were at Nyali Beach hotel.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Fact that it bloody rained!
  • Tips/Secrets — Get chatting to some of the characters in Harry's bar - Phil the spy is an absolutely lovely guy
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Lozatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
1.1 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#10 of 58 in Mombasa
202 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
348 reviews
1.7 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#16 of 58 in Mombasa
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
126 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Mombasa
964 reviews
4.8 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Moyne Drive, Mombasa 80100, Kenya (Formerly Nyali International Beach Hotel)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is an architectural marvel and brings colonial past and glory of Kenya. Offering panoramic view of Indian Ocean, the hotel is a gracious landmark of the Mombasa, showcasing graceful arches, tiled roof lush green vast lawns and wood work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Jovago.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing