We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't ask for more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarboush Cafe

Tarboush Cafe
Ranked #10 of 132 Restaurants in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: They are best in Biryani, Pilau and Kebabs in mombasa town. Most visited by locals.
Cairo
Level Contributor
291 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Can't ask for more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Swahili chicken biryani proved that a dish that resulted from the fusion of Indian, Arab and African cuisines is simply made in heaven!! Don't have you meal with having a samosa for an appetizer. Oh, some "fresh from the tandoori" naan is a must have! Just go hungry and leave tired of eating :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Egyptian_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    55
    23
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Awesome food on budget prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This place is worth a visit just for the food. I had a chicken biryani and the portion was HUGE!
Everthing is freshly prepared and the items are very reasonably priced. No wonder it is very popular with the locals. The food is typically swahili and the service is friendly. Parking can be an issue during lunch hours. They do burgers as well with chips. Will come again next time I am in Mombasa. Their shawarmas are very good. Basically very good food without the frills.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KumarMorjaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An old favourite, still going strong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

At least one visit every time my family is on vacation in Mombasa, is a must.

Our last visit this last December was OK. The food menu, although limited is still tantalising. The service level is acceptable.

As 'usual', the place suffers from challenges with sitting space during rush hour, and parking space if you drive -we had to drive around waiting for a slot to become available!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Love love love the food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

From its tasty shawarmas, chicken tikkas to masala chips all is just excellent. Wait staff are quite friendly and the Cashier too is very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Took my wife there thinking this would be a good place to impress, but we were were from impressed. We ordered together, but this was one of the FEW places where they did not bring our food together. As she was dining in disappointment, i was increasingly getting hungrier.

The service was pretty poor, as it was a busyish night, there were not coping well. The waiter eventually brought our food, but it was not the best after ALL that!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zahid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarboush Cafe also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Tarboush Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing