We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old favourite, still going strong”
Review of Tarboush Cafe

Tarboush Cafe
Ranked #11 of 137 Restaurants in Mombasa
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: They are best in Biryani, Pilau and Kebabs in mombasa town. Most visited by locals.
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An old favourite, still going strong”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

At least one visit every time my family is on vacation in Mombasa, is a must.

Our last visit this last December was OK. The food menu, although limited is still tantalising. The service level is acceptable.

As 'usual', the place suffers from challenges with sitting space during rush hour, and parking space if you drive -we had to drive around waiting for a slot to become available!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    61
    25
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Love love love the food!!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

From its tasty shawarmas, chicken tikkas to masala chips all is just excellent. Wait staff are quite friendly and the Cashier too is very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average Food”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Took my wife there thinking this would be a good place to impress, but we were were from impressed. We ordered together, but this was one of the FEW places where they did not bring our food together. As she was dining in disappointment, i was increasingly getting hungrier.

The service was pretty poor, as it was a busyish night, there were not coping well. The waiter eventually brought our food, but it was not the best after ALL that!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zahid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Cheap and tasty food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This restaurant is a cheap and tasty option for a good lunch or dinner. The service is really fast and friendly. The food is quite taste, especially the fresh nan, the curries and the chicken tikka. Plus the restaurant is easy to find and close to the Old Town and to many hotels which makes it very convenient to visit.

The only bad thing about the restaurant is its location: It is very loud which means it is no place to sit for a longer period of time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sisiphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilimanjaro National Park, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Chicken”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Easy to find on the edge of the old town Tarboush is very people with locals as well people visiting from abroad and upcountry.
Food is well spiced and affordable.easy to understand menu.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissOldTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarboush Cafe also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Tarboush Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing