We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special”
Review of Twiga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twiga Lodge
Ranked #10 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Bungoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Positives:
-quiet and isolated

Negatives
-nearly no transport options if you do not have a car, you will be immediately emptying your pockets to irrationally high priced taxi drivers at the junction where the main road and the rough road meet. Twiga is too far from the main road for walking.
-service is bad bad bad and again, bad. Staff are clearly overworked and underpaid--starting at 6:00am and running around until they are dog tired at 11pm or later. No meal comes out of the kitchen on time. for breakfast (which they cannot deliver to your table before at least 1.5 hours of waiting and reminders, and there is definite impatience and irritation behind the tired looks they give you).
-food prices: extortionate. 500 ksh for a itty bitty pizza? 400 ksh for mayo covered avocado slices? Give me a break. 100 ksh for a pot of Nescafe? gross.
-no AC in our room made for sweaty nights under the mosquito net
-tide is out from late morning until afternoon--plus when you walk out to the low tide water the ocean floor is covered in sea urchins. must wait until afternoon for tide to return, and then you can kind of float around.

Room Tip: camp and bring your own food, and your own car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

When you are on your own its a great place to be catch up with other people but big enough to have time for you . The beach is great you can always organise a late night fire on the beach just ask one of the staff. !

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda_082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Tiwi beach is a little bit down the road from Diani outside Mombasa. If you want all inclusive resorts or a package deal, go to Diani.

Tiwi is much quieter and there really isn't much to do besides lounge on the beach, read, relax and go for a swim or dive. For most people coming off a safari, this is probably just what they have in mind...

Twiga lodge is a very straightforward property with a killer location right on the beach. We had an oceanview room on the upper floor with outstanding views and breezes. Thank god for the breezes as it was unbearably hot and humid. Our room had a good ceiling fan and nets, but no AC. If this is a dealbreaker for you, choose a larger property with AC. Power does tend to go out quite regularly around here and if there is no breeze it can be stifiling, even at night.

Our room was a good size but pretty basic; plastic chairs for seating, no real place to work or spread out, bathroom was a bit grungy but large enough. Hot water is dependent on power being on, not the best water pressure.

It's not the most luxurious place in the area, but relatively good value for being ocean front and we enjoyed the bar and restaurant - their food was quite good and the included breakfast was substantial and tasty.

If you need to go into Diani, cabs are negotiable and if you find a driver you like get their number. We paid anywhere from 700 - 1000 shillings for a ride over to Diani. Other than the hotel restaurant, there aren't too many options to eat nearby.

Also, look out for the monkeys! We woke up to one of the little critters in our room one morning; we slept with the sliding glass door open and one had crawled in from the tree outside.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeftCoastTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsdkfjalksdfjak
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Having beachview from the room was marvellous, but unfortunately the staff was not friendly and there is really nothing to do outthere. It is scary being on the beach because of boys bothering you and it is even too expensive.

We should advise you to go to Southern Palms beach hotel. That's much better, let's say: excellent!

Regards and enjoy your time in Kenya!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mombasa hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The lodge was adequate for backpackers, and has basic to medium type accommodation. The lack of a swimming pool lets it down and this meant we had to move out after one night. Shame about the rude waiter and the time it took for the food to arrive - almost 1 hour, after we complained to Joseph! When it arrived, standard was good and we enjoyed it, but we were so famished!
Margaret has a bubbly personality and is very accommodating. Tx

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabiha54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed at the Twiga Lodge over New years(09) and had a great time! Tiwi itself is generally a peaceful option while in Mombasa,and being at the beach front at Twiga lodge...was simply heavenly! Am very particular about showers and toilets,and Twiga lodge didnt let me down on this one. They were always clean and fresh. Am looking forward to spending another one week there already:-)

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benidorm
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We stayed at Twiga Lodge 2nd to 4th Jan 2007.
There is a range of accomodation from a campsite through to apartments overlooking the beach where we stayed.
The whole establishment is quite attractive and is in a good position overlooking Tiwi beach which we liked.
It is all run by a cheerful efficient lady, who unfortunately is rather let down by her staff, our wardrobe still had litter from previous occupants.
There are two parts to the restaurant one part almost on the beach. One night, we thought we would eat in the part near the beach.
When we told the waiter this he blurted out that at this time of night, nearly 8.30, we would be lucky to be served at all and certainly not where they had to walk a bit further.
I could not believe he was serious but he assured me he was.
The food was reasonable with enormous breakfasts.
The rest of our time we spent next door at Coral Cove Cottages which was superb and cheaper too.

Mike Reed

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank coolshooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mombasa
23.4 mi away
Diani Backpackers
Diani Backpackers
#2 of 65 in Diani Beach
248 reviews
5.5 mi away
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Tulia House Backpackers
Tulia House Backpackers
#1 of 67 in Mombasa
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,947 reviews
16.6 mi away
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in Ukunda
755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coastgate Hotel
Coastgate Hotel
#15 of 51 in Mombasa
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twiga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twiga Lodge

Property: Twiga Lodge
Address: Tiwi Beach, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Twiga Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing