We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as ever”

Blue Room Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 6 Dessert in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Fast Food, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Whenever we visit Mombasa town we make sure to have a quick bite in Blue Room , for all these years they have kept consistency on quality of food , They have one of the best staff one elderly man who make Coffee & Tea he has been there all these years (Though last time i visited i was not able to spot him).

We had long journey while going to Nairobi we bought T/A of Chicken Pie, Veg Pie,Chicken Samosas, Veg Samosas, Chocolate cookies, Potato Bhajiya & Dal Bhajiya all up to standard even after few hours we ate the food still the taste was fantastic.

Very efficient service by one of their young Manager & entire team

Will visit again soon

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omprakash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue-Room-Restaurant, Owner at Blue Room Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Omprakash,

Thank you for taking the time to review Blue Room on Trip Advisor.

As a family owned and operated restaurant for over 60 years, our customer feedback has always been pivotal in helping us maintain our standards and ensuring that our customers have a great experience here.

We look forward to you visiting us again when you do indeed return to Mombasa.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place is huge and very well staffed. We were seated quickly and were taken care of throughout our meal. The food selection was good and everything we ordered was excellent. Prices were very reasonable. We especially liked the biryani and the ice cream too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krisrsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue-Room-Restaurant, Owner at Blue Room Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Krisrsmith,

Thank you for taking the time to review Blue Room on Trip Advisor.

As a family owned and operated restaurant for over 60 years, our customer feedback has always been pivotal in helping us maintain our standards and ensuring that our customers have a great experience here.

We're glad that you enjoyed the biriyani and ice cream. Our ice cream has been made in-house since the 1960's and has affectionately come to be known as "BR" ice cream here in Mombasa.

We look forward to visiting us again when you do in deed return to Mombasa.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice coffee, shame about the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Like I say, the coffee is good. There's also a useful Internet cafe (good if you need something printed). But both times I've eaten here the food was very disappointing. In particular the sheesh kebab was - well, what was it exactly? Some kind of minced meat mixed with something else and rolled into cylinders. A chicken biriani (really curry and rice) was just about ok. My friend scoffed a burger but it looked far from appetising to me. But the coffee is good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hu6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue-Room-Restaurant, Owner at Blue Room Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hu6,

Thank you for taking the time to review Blue Room on Trip Advisor.

As a family owned and operated restaurant for over 60 years, our customer feedback has always been pivotal in helping us improve where need be. We have taken note of your comments. I apologize that our food did not meet your expectations. I am not sure what went wrong, however, I want to assure you that serving quality food to our clients is very important to us and we continually strive to do just that. We hope that if you visit Mombasa again, you do stop by and try our food again.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but was there when renovations were taking place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Located in Mombasa City centre. Very accesible and everyone in Mombasa wants to be taken to this place because majority cant afford it, when you offer to take any one for Lunch they will prefer it. Its a good place and popular sport but not a place for the ordinary Mombasa traveller.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matsanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue-Room-Restaurant, Owner at Blue Room Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Matsanza,

Thank you for taking the time to review Blue Room on Trip Advisor.

We hope that you visit us when you're in Mombasa again.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A Mombasa Icon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I used to go this place with my dad when I was a little boy and the standards haven't dropped over the years. The food is fantastic especially the kebab ,bhajias and the samosas. The fruit juices are fresh and served promptly. The prices are a bit on the higher side but the quality has been maintained. A place to visit if you are in Mombasa.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KumarMorjaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue-Room-Restaurant, Owner at Blue Room Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hog290,

Thank you for taking the time to review Blue Room on Trip Advisor.

As an owner operated restaurant for over 60 years, it is always nice to hear that we have maintained our standards over the years.

We hope that you visit us when you're in Mombasa again.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Room Restaurant also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Blue Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing