We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best ice cream in mombasa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Room Restaurant

Blue Room Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 6 Dessert in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Fast Food, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“best ice cream in mombasa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

it is an old restaurant in Mombasa and it has this familia warm feeling! It isnot flushy it is not luxurious! But friendly and free wifi!
I went there for icecream and wifi!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sofie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue-Room-Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at Blue Room Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your review. We are passionate about ice cream and all our ice creams are made right here on site. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed them and look forward to you visiting us again when you are in Mombasa next.

Thank you,

Sincerely,

Management at Blue Room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lunch break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

this is one place you should make a stop during lunch time after busy day before closing your office or business of the day for a very delious bbq chicken tikka served with tandori and a two cold cokes on rocks with lemon slices served in long tumbler.
the staff are well organised and fast with the self service system with well indian cuisine trained cooks.the management must has done the best to keep the restaurant at the same tune with the stream of clients from all sorts of walk.
the security at the parking zone is doing the best regardless with the increasing number of cars loosing side mirrors business centre of the city.thanks to the management and staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigcat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue-Room-Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at Blue Room Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Bigcat K,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post your review about Blue Room.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our barbeque and cokes and were pleased with the quality and level of our food and service. Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff, who will be inspired and encouraged to maintain and improve our culinary standards.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Management at Blue Room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fine and cool meeting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is basically a snacks type restaurant, although they serve some full course dishes also. They have plenty of varieties like South Indian, juices, Kenyan food, and other Indian snacks items ready to eat.
Taste is good. nice place to sit and enjoy. An ice cream parlour also there which have multiple varieties. Small cyber cafe is attached with photocopy machine also. A must to go while in Mombasa

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank anildel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue-Room-Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at Blue Room Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Anildel,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about Blue Room. We do appreciate it.

Hope you visit us again on your next trip to Mombasa.

Thank you once again,

Sincerely,

Management at Blue Room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Canteen/cafeteria-style place but good food and information”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The restaurant feels a bit cafeteria style, but the chicken tika and chicken biryani were great. It has free wifi and since many locals eat here it was a great place to ask for recommendations and directions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johannaloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue-Room-Restaurant, Owner at Blue Room Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Johannaloves2travel,

Thank you for taking the time to review Blue Room on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed our chicken tikka and biriyani.

We hope that you visit us when you're in Mombasa again.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mombasa revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My father who left Mombasa in 1970 used to eat samosas and bhajia at Blue Room restaraunt so it was fitting that on his first return in 43 years we should take him back. The samosas and bhajia were truly very tasty and our main courses also did not disappoint. The service was exceptional and the waiters were very friendly

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fauji786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue-Room-Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Room Restaurant, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Blue Room Mombasa.

We are delighted that your father and yourself enjoyed your visit back. We will pass on your remarks to our culinary team who will be very happy and proud to have maintained our standards since your father's visit 43 years ago. We thank you for posting your kind remarks. Hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you,

Sincerely,

Management at Blue Room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Room Restaurant also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Blue Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing