We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding celebrations at JJ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jacyjoka Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We've stayed at JJ a couple of times now and always been so well looked after by Janet and her staff. In November we married in Mombasa and arranged with Janet for our luncheon reception and blessing to be held at JJ. The staff worked incredibly hard to decorate the restaurant beautifully and put on a lovely lunch for our guests. Our blessing was conducted by pastors from my husband's church (Nyali Baptist) and an invited pastor from a friend's church. Friends and family joined in with the most uplifting and joyful celebration of dancing, singing, a service and prayers with staff also singing and offering praise and celebrations with us. We had 10 extra guests arrive above the number we had planned for but they were easily accommodated by the staff and everyone made to feel welcome. The day was made so very, very special for us - the happy atmosphere was so lovely we really couldn't have had a better day if we tried. Janet and the staff were unfailingly accommodating and despite such short notice for many of our plans did everything possible to ensure we were well looked after and the day was as we wanted it. Thank you. We are returning for our 1st anniversary/xmas next year.

Room Tip: We prefer the upstairs apartments but my husband's family stayed in a downstairs family room and...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jambo103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Jacyjoka Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 52 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at JacyJoka apartments last year December and so far ive given reference to three different friends who have stayed there and loved the place. I enjoyed the proximity to the beach, the malls and supermarkets, clubs and restaurants. Am definitely going there again :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a nice view of the pool
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mercy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Have just stayed for 3 weeks at JacyJoka apartments. We had a studio which had ample space for the 2 of us as it had a good size kitchenette, double bed (with decent mozzy net) and living area, a little corridor off the main room with separate loo, shower and sink and a balcony with table and chairs. The room was cleaned every day with fresh sheets and towels and as we had 2 windows (with decorative security bars), a decent ceiling fan as well as A/C (which we rarely needed to put on) it was easy to keep cool.

The staff are really friendly and the maid never knocked to hurry us up so she could come in to clean - if we didn't surface until lunch then she waited patiently for us to be ready to leave for the day. The site is really safe and secure - we had a coded safe in the room, the doors have double locks, the windows were secure and the site is fenced and gated and has 24 hour security. Because it is such a small site staff immediately know who's who so I felt safe and at home.

We booked our studio apartment for ksh3500 (£23/day). There are studios available for ksh3000 though these don't have A/C and I didn't check to see how big they are. There are also bigger apartments for those who need more space.

There is a small but perfectly ok pool and a bar/restaurant with sky sports for those who need to still watch footie whilst on holiday! We had 1 meal at the restaurant which was reasonably priced and there's a good choice. Coffee and a delicious avocado/mango fruit juice priced at ksh100 and Pilsner beer ksh160. However I often made my own coffee during the day and took it down if spending some time by the pool.

JJ is really conveniently located. It takes 20 minutes to walk to Nakumart/shops, 10 minutes to walk to the beach and is over the road to the Nyali Baptist church (sunday service 10.30 - you are guaranteed a warm and very friendly welcome). You can pick up the motados if you want public transport when travelling out and motorbike or tuk tuks if you're too tired to walk back from the shops. All are dirt cheap.

We cooked ourselves every night buying from Nakumart supermarket (there is also now Nyvas supermarket but the prices are the same). Buy your fruit/veg from the stalls outside the supermarkets as it is much cheaper eg. 1 kg of tomatoes ksh112, huge avocados ksh30 each, lemons ksh10 each. Alcohol at Nakumart is cheaper eg. ksh100 Pilsner and ksh350 wine (though not much wine choice at this price, it does tend to be double this for most brands).
Go to the little hole in the wall kiosk at the back of Nakumart (opposite Planet apartments) for sugar, salt, Ariel soap powder, batteries etc. There are also stalls here.

Buy fresh fish from the fishermen down on Nyali beach. They land at different times according to tides/catch so talk to the beach boys and get a number from one to call first and check that there is fish before going down if you don't want to go to the beach for any other reason than to buy fish/octopus/calamari. You can even negotiate for them to buy for you and to give your octopus a good bashing on the sand to soften it up before you then go down to collect. On average we spent ksh300 (£2.50) for 4 really good sized fish for the 2 of us and ksh200 for a medium octopus.

If you don't want to cook then you can also negotiate for fish to be cooked in one of the beach restaurants where the locals eat. It is basic in that you sit on a wooden bench and eat from a wooden table fashioned from planks, the plates are melamine and you'll have to swat away the flies and crows eyeing up your meal - but the fish will taste unbelievable, the freshness is so outstanding. We also arrange for a salad of tomatoes, onion and lemon and you can also arrange for ugali or coconut rice if you have a big appetite. We've sometimes also been treated to dessert of freshly sliced mango. This will cost around ksh1000 for 2 people but will fill you up and the ambiance of your company amongst the locals is a lovely experience.

Please take your trips out with the locals who trade on Nyali beach. I despair at the sight of tourists being shunted onto the glass bottom boat from the hotels to chug out for their 'trip' - it is so bland as well as expensive. For around ksh800 - ksh1000 per person you can go out on a lovely sailing trip in one of the mangrove tree boats or for ksh2000 to go snorkelling (remember the boatmen must pay ksh1300 of the price to the marine park in fees per trip). We spent an hour doing a fantastic sail all along the coast until we reached the coral reef for snorkelling and could spend as long as we wanted swimming and exploring the reef. Our boatman swam with us to dive down and collect shells, starfish and sea cucumbers for us to marvel at.

If you want to safari or go down to the south coast to sail out to see the dolphins then arrange this with the guys on the beach - it is so much better value for exactly the same trips tourists who stay cocooned in their hotels and pay ridiculous prices for. Your money will go towards the local people who rely totally on this income to support their families, not towards an over-inflated tour company or hotel chain.

My one treat this time was a massage by one of the beach girls. For ksh800 I had an hour of complete relaxation and de-stress. It was a real treat and gave my skin some lovely pampering.

If you want a different beach to hang out on then get a motado up to Mtwapa and get off a couple of stops pass the Causarina night club. You can then get a motorbike to Caba Cabbana bay (to walk takes a good 30 mins). This is a stunningly beautiful bay at the top of the creek (apart from the usual mountain of seaweed that is washed up by the tide). It is really peaceful and with a restaurant/bar you can buy lunch, play pool, walk along the bays towards the Jumbo Ruins or wait for the tide to come in for a swim. We bought fish and salad from the shops in Mtwapa to take with us and for ksh300 the restaurant cooked the fish and prepared the salad. You can top up your meal with rice, ugali or chips from the restaurant if you're hungry. The bar is open to around 1 am so you can make your day stretch into night if you want though arrange for a taxi to pick you up if you're staying late (ask the staff to call you one).

A few practical tips - doxycycline malaria tablets are absolute fine to take and can be bought on prescription. Malarone are grossly expensive and there's no guarantee you won't be upset by taking them (despite the hype). Do not take travellers' cheques - you'll struggle to find a bank that will exchange these and if you do find one you'll be given a really poor rate of exchange. Do a money transfer to yourself to pick up once you're there and change up cash. The exchange rate is much better and you'll gain more for your £ than changing up here first in the UK.

If you are a little unsure of doing business with the guys on the beach then walk up to the Reef hotel and ask for Vincent. He's one of the senior traders and is very strict about ensuring tourists get a good deal and are happy with their holiday. He even supplied me with a steady stream of books this time as I had forgotten my own reading material so he borrowed from his sister and would drop these off at JJ for me. He also lives in Mtwapa so if you want info about visiting Coba Cabbana then he can meet you and take you down so you can get your barrings.

Have fun!

Room Tip: We had the rear facing studio on the 1st floor which was spacious and cool because of the double win...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jambo103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

i stayed at their apartments for 2 days and the stay was memorable , i had gone with 3 of my friends and all they could say was amazing .the rooms are cleaned everyday as well as the house , the staff polite , we had the opportunity to attend one of the parties they were hosting i had soo much fun. the amenities being the pool and the restraunt was great , quiet sorroundings . shopping mall and entertainment joints just nearby .i would reccomend it to any one for a great mombasa experience.thank you for hosting us.

Room Tip: rooms facing the poolside are way much better ...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Beautiful apartment complex with a nice restaurant and really good food. The swimming pool is very clean and nice to take a swim in. Nyali and surroundings have a lot to offer, a few minutes and you are at the white beaches of Nyali, shopping center, golf club, haller park or other attractions. Jacyjoka offers good service and a relaxed stay. They also arranged our 3 day Safari to Amboseli National Park!! For everybody who wants to have a nice stay in African atmosphere!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Jacyjoka was a really nice apartment for my family and I to stay in during our vacation. The apartments were very clean and luxurious. Their staff were also very hospitable. During the day we had the swimming pool and the jacuzzi to cool us off. Their recently built restaurant had very delicious meals. Its location was very ideal, it was only a few minutes to the beach and to the shopping malls. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay at jacyjoka apartments while on holiday in Mombasa.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maria Munk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.0 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
128 reviews
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bliss Resort
Bliss Resort
#6 of 14 in Bamburi
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
552 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cowrie Shell Beach Apartments
0.5 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 60 in Mombasa
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacyjoka Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacyjoka Apartments

Address: Links Rd, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Price Range: $54 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alle appartementen; 6 studio`s,3x 1 slaapkamer, 2x2 slaapkamers en 1x 3 slaapkamers, zijn volledig ingericht en worden iedere dag schoon gehouden. U kunt gebruik maken van het zwembad met jacuzzi, relaxen bij het zwembad of in de tuin,of gebruik maken van het restaurant. We organiseren safari`s en tours, als ook de mogelijkheid om te duiken, golfen of te vissen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jacyjoka Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing