We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderfull memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have just returned from Mombasa and spent a week in this hotel. Is a very good experience, overall.
The accomodation was good. I have a personal rating system, differentiated on items, so I would give a 4 stars for the room, 4 stars for the food, 5 star for the service and 5 stars for the location, beach and pool.
The entire location is spotlesly clean. I have never seen such a clean premise in an African country. No matter the hour of the day, there was someone polishing the floors, or cleaning the area.
The service was also very good. The staff was polite and frendly. They were trying to meet any expectations one might have. They were working so hard, yet they found time to speak few words with the guests and tried to make everybody comfortable. The waiters were prompt and fast.
Most of the guests are retired people, on their 60's. Which means that the entire location was very quiet.
The rooms have been re-furbished and look very good. The TV channel selection was great, with a lot of english movie channels,italian and german news ones.
The beach is something that someone sees mostly on postcards. White sandy beach, with a lot of trees and a reef with a lot of fishes.
The beach boys were not a problem. In the beginning they are trying to sell you different excursions (safaris or boats) but after few days they will not bother you. Anyhow, they leave you alone if you say that you just want to relax and be alone.
The food was very good. Plenty of choices, lot of tropical fruits. At breakfast, a nice touch was the fact that the waiters were coming and serve you with coffee or tea. All the time there was a lady welcoming the guests and showed them the best tables.
Let's not forget to mention the 5 o'clock tea (which was served at 16:00 hours !!),which was consisting of tea/coffee and some biskuits, pancakes, donuts, etc..
The dinner was excellent. We did not serve the lunch on the restaurant, but seen a lot of people having lunch on the beach, under the palm trees.
The entertainment was so and so. Nothing much to see, an MC might have helped, but again, it was OK.
The pool was fantastic and also the playing area . There were not many kids to use the playground, but it looked amazing.
So we are recommeding it and would go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
21
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice location with a great pool, the rooms were recently renovated, very good air condition, but the real size of the room does not correspond to the specified size on the homepage of the hotel. I don’t know, how they had measured the rooms.
The food was, especially in the evening, was very simple and much cooked with garlic (only rice was without), so you if you do not like or can eat garlic, found nothing to eat, only on the dessert buffet, but this was also very small. The only way to have a dinner was going outside to eat.
Also the service, especially in the restaurant at the breakfast and room service was very poor. In the restaurant at the breakfast nobody bring you coffee or tea, so you have to do it self, the juice was early empty and to make a omelett or pancake needs long time, 1 cook used the fingers to flip the eggs. Exactly at 9:30am all was removed at the bufett. The roomboy removed the bed sheets and towels in the early morning, but didn’t bring new back, and in the hotel were not many guest. Despite requesting the roomboy we got not room cleaning. So we complained at the reception, this was the only way to got a cleaning in the late afternoon. Also the pool towels were not always available and they make no service on the pool, you have to do all self.
The most of the staff was quite unfriendly for Kenyan conditions, the knowledge of foreign languages, including English, were quite limited.
The staff need more training to make a better service, especially the waiter and the room steward.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kaembb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevinoselu, Manager at Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Kaembb

Thank you for your feedback.Please give us just 48 hours to investigate then we will get back to you.

Thanks for your understanding
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

all the people are verry kindly, helpfull and looking tehy can help in ervery situation. on the pool and in the restaurant. its like familar. The pavillion d'amour should (must) be more used.
in the evening on the pool its boring because tho less good music. for good sound there have to be a new soundsystem and variaty of music. The food was verry good, not always warm enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent a week there and we had planned a lot of things to do but instead we ended up doing a lot of nothing. We spend an awful lot of time around the pool and it was great. The hotel is really good, for a resort, there wasn't too much crowd, everything was working from the room to the bar and the staff. Honestly I have no complains, i had a great relaxing time with a few excursions and outings and this hotel stood up to my needs.
It may not be the cheapest or the most beautiful of resort along the coast but for me it did it.
I don't ask for anything else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

A wonderful place with wonderful staff, after some days we had the feeling to be at home...travelling with my 9 years old daughter I appreciated apart from the kids program how nice the staff is treating children, playing, joking and talking nicely to them. My daughter appreciated the atmosphere and really felt free in the hotel. The rooms with Veranda are very clean, we liked to have the chance to watch ZDF on TV, the pool was amazing, laying under the palmtrees with a cool breeze with view on the ocean fantastic! The buffet had a big variety also for vegetariens, wonderful salat, fruits and cakes. Requests or complains were treated well, my daughter ws sick and the hotel nurse came immediately to assist and many staff members asked if she is fine, another day I had an Internet problem and the IT specialist Kevin in the hotel assisted immediately. Disturbing was the music band, for my taste too boring and too loud, but I complained and got a wonderful new room from Susan far away from the music near the reception. Lovely our Christmas gifts from the hotel and Santa Claus on the camel! All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would like to book again this hotel, which we highly can recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception are quieter, at the north side the music band can disturb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keno2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

From the ambience, staff, cleanliness, peacefulness this is the place to be. The hotel is new so everything is brand new. I enjoyed their fine cuisine and continental breakfast.

The lagon shaped swimming pool was a show stopper. Definately going bk to this hotel on my next visit to Kenya.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nadia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wonderful and very friendly staff. Effortless service and constant interest on your well beeing. Great job done here! For us the spacious, clean and peaceful premices was a big plus. Fine pool, cooling breeze under the palm trees, beautiful beach - 3xS holiday at its' best.

We also enjoyed the food and the careful room maintance. The only thing we missed was the gym, but they were finishing it in the very end of December.

Would we recommend the resort - definitely yes!

Mrs&Mr Virta, Finland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virta46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
1.6 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.4 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Dolphin Road Off Shanzu | Shanzu, Mombasa 80109, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Mombasa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa is a cosy boutique hotel featuring 137 spacious rooms, Olympic capacity free form swimming pool, unique beach cave bar, and entertainment facilities. All rooms are fully air-conditioned and are housed in six separate four story buildings surrounding large lagoon shaped swimming pool and gardens. All rooms have private shower and cubicles, spacious balconies with a table and chairs.There are 85 standard rooms 36 superior rooms and 16 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emrald Flamingo Beach Club Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing