We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good beginning - bravo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very good beginning - bravo!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at Emerald Flamingo from 25th to 27th November 2012 while on a working trip. I intend to go back for holiday and I pray that all will be well. I loved the yet to be completed tea place on the creek - it is really picturesque. The lagoon-shaped swimming pool is just lovely and I believe the concept of the bar in the cave will work out well.


The food was very good and of varied choice. The only undoing was the club sandwich I ordered and it turned out to be an egg sandwich! The Executive Chef was very involved in ascertaining that guests were happy with the food. I did not stay long enough to sample their barbeques so I hope to find good surprises.

I loved the LCD TV, the large bed and its linen and the general ambience of the room. The main shortcoming of the hotel is the very salty water - not any different from the actual ocean water. The shower heads are also very low, a tall person wouldn't use them. The pressure of the salty water is also very weak so the shower is not "rainy" enough. This needs improvement.

Most of the staff are friendly and welcoming, except one gloomy waitress in the restaurant whose harsh looks can easily put off a guest. Otherwise the staff attended to guest concerns and complaints promptly, although some of them will still need to undergo professional training in the hospitality industry.

Room Tip: Corner suites and top floor rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelheid Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
21
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed there for 10 days in October 2012 and we really enjoyed it. The staff friendly welcomes you with a refreshment even if you arrive in the middle of the night like we did.
The next day we had the pleasure to discover a wonderful swimming pool. It has an irregular shape and a waterfall. It is really huge. Took me 10 minutes just to swim around it once!

The resort has 2 restaurants (buffet style and à la carte). The food was simply delicious. There were not so many guest when we were there, because the re-opening was just 15 days ago. It gave us a chance to try the à la carte cuisine. Every meal was a real pleasure. The plates came nicely decorated, with fine ingredients deliciously prepared by a team of amazing cooks. It was far superior to what we were expecting.

The room were very comfy, with a large flat screen TV and cable. Some face the see, we had one facing the swimming pool. I would definitely come back to this resort because they were planning to open a gym and a lounge bar in an outside cave by the beach which looked promising. Also it must be very nice to chill by the pool with more people around.

Our shoutout goes to the staff who is really lovely and helpful. We were always greeted with smiles and good vibes. One of the girls from reception really helped us a lot get bus tickets to leave to Nairobi, she even managed to get us a good price for a hotel in Nairobi the day we were leaving. Very professional.

As you will understand, we had a very good time there and we recommend it without a doubt.

Ronny Hermosa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnyhermosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The service was excellent, the staff is super friendly. And the food was just amazing! I'm a vegetarian, and this place actually had an Vegetarian chef who made the most amazing dals(lentil curry) and veggies! First of all, what a location!!! This hotel had the best location of all the places we stayed.Rooms were so clean and spacious. As a surprise, they have a balcony overlooking the waterservice was excellant and a big thank you for the complmenatly bottle of wine with compliments of the manager we enjoyed it very much hope to return one day in the future

Room Tip: “Choose a room near to the reception area for easy dining, else you should walk for a while :) And m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank winkle294207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have walked along the beach and this property is not open as yet, but they is a lot of work being done. I have been to this hotel previous and its is very good. Remember that you are in a 3rd worldd country and the stanards in comparason to how the locals have t survive is excellent...Nothing is too much trouble and they can teach you alot about courtesy, manners and consideration.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank CardiffJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
1.6 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.4 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Dolphin Road Off Shanzu | Shanzu, Mombasa 80109, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Mombasa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa is a cosy boutique hotel featuring 137 spacious rooms, Olympic capacity free form swimming pool, unique beach cave bar, and entertainment facilities. All rooms are fully air-conditioned and are housed in six separate four story buildings surrounding large lagoon shaped swimming pool and gardens. All rooms have private shower and cubicles, spacious balconies with a table and chairs.There are 85 standard rooms 36 superior rooms and 16 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emrald Flamingo Beach Club Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing