We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to be...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker's Nirvana
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to be...”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The best vacation ever had was at Nirvana. I stayed there for 3 nights, taking a break from the buzzing Nairobi life. Nirvana provided the best option of a quite friendly environment for me. I was away from home, but I felt home-using the kitchen freely. The kitchen is spacious and not too crowded. The lounge has a splendid artistic look, the chairs and art work on the walls...then the staff, warm welcoming, engaging...and Lesley wow, she always stayed in touch. She was friendly indeed...No matter where you come from, who you are...Nirvana is the place to be...always for me for all holidays in Mombasa....hey domestic tourists, try out this place :)

Room Tip: We used the Private rooms, gave the privacy we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOSPHAT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
7
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Nirvana has a great atmosphere, is located right next to a beach that is beautiful at sunrise and is an easy matatu ride from town. Leslie truly wants to help all her guests have a great time and has some wonderful suggestions of things to do and things to avoid. The dorm rooms are decent though beds are a little hard and you need to ask for sheets if you need them. They do lack mosquito nets (unless you are on the roof) which caused me to get eaten alive one night. There is free internet and a decent breakfast of eggs, toast, coffee and tea each morning included in your stay. Overall a good place for the price and laid-back company.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LagunaEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Guys the best n economical n perfect location n safe in Mombasa.. I stayed there for three weeks n would love to go back again
....the roof top is awe some .....u got to see it to believe it........I went alone n made a lot of friends..it is not crowded like other bagpackers... u will feel the difference once you stay .
.the beach is walking distance n Bobs is also close by ...they have there own trusted taxi drivers who will pick u n drop u at nominal charges... Go to Nirvana n ENJOY.....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkwhosoldhisFerari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kouvola, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have never felt as welcomed in a hostel as I did here; I visited in December 2011 and just loved the atmosphere. The owner Leslie loved her guests and let them even stay in her room and she just opened her house in such a nice way. The roof was amazing and the location was great as it was on a clean and safe area off of the chaos in the city. The beach was right there too. It was hard to notice the gate so I walked past it first. If anything negative, I did not get very good sleep on the thin and super foamy mattress and the internet connection was just helpless. Lesley got me on a great sailing boat snorkeling safari which was spectacular - but the East Tsavoy safari guy recommended by the hostel just ripped me off and offered nothing to see. I hear others had different experiences of it, though. I guess it depends on who is driving you around.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyjackrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

the atmosphere is great and super chill. Lesley is a great host! The beds are great and the neighborhood is safe.
Lesley has a lot of contacts, if you want to go on safaai or a beautiful beach somewhere.

Best regards form her first guest!!!!!

i was there march 2011

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollyzacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had finished a safari and wanted a place to relax for a couple days. Backpackers Nirvana was an excellent choice. Lesley, the owner, was away at the time but arranged a ride to her place with a very nice cab driver. The place itself had a very comfortable feel to it and was a good environment to catch up on rest and also to talk with others. A breakfast was included and the beach was only about a ten minute walk away. The staff working there were quite kind and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent one night here and had the best night's sleep ever! The beds were spacious and comfortable and the environment homely and chilled.
Lesley, the owner, was helpful and gracious and couldn't do enough to help us in every way.
She is knowledgeable about the local area and helps to arrange tours and activities at a very reasonable price. We had a great time snorkelling with her contact and would recommend you give this a go as the boat ride is really worth it.
We cannot recommend this place highly enough - go and stay there if you're in the area.
Anushka and Seyhan

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room with a bathroom which was good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apple2london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
4.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Bahari Beach Hotel
Bahari Beach Hotel
#13 of 58 in Mombasa
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#18 of 58 in Mombasa
395 reviews
0.6 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
210 reviews
2.2 mi away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#17 of 58 in Mombasa
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Nirvana

Property: Backpacker's Nirvana
Address: Off Mount Kenya Road | Mombasa Beach, Mombasa 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mombasa's highest rated Backpackers & second to hit NYALI BEACH, Mombasa - is RELOCATING AUGUST 2014 TO OUR NEW BEACH HOUSE. We are the ONLY backpackers hostel on the coast designed with traditional African decor, Freebies in your rate, awesome staff on-site for ALL your needs and highly secured location for your safety. Free Breakfast (Omelette/Toast), Free Internet, 24 hours access to kitchen, shower and TV room, DVD & Books Library, No curfew, private gate to the beach...We are the Only hostel in Mombasa with a working guest kitchen / fridge facilities - at no extra charge (except for campers - please ask for more info). You have access to all of Lesley's appliances, gas cooker/oven, shared fridge and utilities. We have a small menu/snack bar but the idea is that you may pay a little more for our beds, but you live in-house cheaply to your budget! We offer safari packages, snorkeling, day trips, extensive knowledge on Kenya and East Africa - and last but not least, on-site massage, Healing Sessions and African Bush Remedy Detox. Walking distance to all transport for around the coast. 5 Mins drive from supermarket, cafes, restaurants, cinema. 10 Mins from bars/clubs. Take away services available from home, lunch offered and beverages available. Nirvana offers a haven to refresh Body, Mind & Soul with and for unique, mature clientele...Dorm, those on tight budget private rooms (with shared bathroom), camping, private rooms with own bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker's Nirvana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing