We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an house for backpackers in Kenya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker's Nirvana
Malindi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an house for backpackers in Kenya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I'm living in Malindi but going often to Mombasa. I'm use to consider Nirvana my home in Mombasa. That's because Lesley (the owner) and the wonderful staff are making me feel at home.
Nirvana is absolutely safe...I'm use to leave my things around because there is no risk in the house but, for those who prefer, there is also a safe box.
Of course no drugs around...only beers are allowed in Nirvana!
All the people I met there are nice and friendly. Privacy and relax is respected. The Nirvana's staff is really working to make you fell confortable.

Just come to Nirvana and enjoy the atmosphere of the place!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiaCheka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
7
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I'm working in Nairobi since January and I the two times I went to Mombasa, I stayed with the Backpacker Nirvana. Its a really nice, homely place. Besides that, owner/globetrotter Lesly and manager/maid Charity will make you feel at home. The people that I met there were virtually all interesting, cool, fun and smart people. They're the kind that you really want to stay in touch with after leaving.

Don't underestimate the beauty of the beach, or the luxury of being able to just walk there in 3 minutes if you want to catch the last rays of sun for a quick swim.

The Nirvana has a no-drugs policy, which I personally disagree with, but it helps ensure that people behave cool and that the place is safe. Which both is definately the case. Also, shisha (hookah) on the rooftop and cool beer in the fridge makes for plenty of legal pleasure.

I'm looking forward to my next trip to Mombasa to a good extent because I know where I'll stay.

F

Room Tip: If you sleep on the roof, apply mosquito spray liberally and be sure not to sleep close to the net.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

A very very enjoyable, truly awesome experience. Meet Lesley, the most helpful, interesting and admirable person who runs the place. And meet the crew who keeps the nirvana the most comfortable place to be, and even fixes the best breakfast. They are the nicest people you will ever meet. The whole atmosphere is just relaxed and peaceful. I felt so comfortable to the point that I passed out on the main floor one night. This place beats 5 star hotels. Bring Kenya Cane one of the nights you're there and make her smile. lol

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

The most important factor that makes a great hostel is connecting with other backpackers. This place attracts a really fun, intelligent, and diverse crowd. The setup is perfect for meeting the other guests. The house is big and has a lot of common areas including the TV room, entire first floor, and the rooftop. Leslie, the owner, will reliably invite everyone out to somewhere fun or the beach. All of this makes for a cozy environment that encourages people to get to know each other and party.

The other plus factor is that once you've paid for the room, everything else is included. The other backpacker's place in Mombasa squeezes you for every small predictable item, driving up the cost of a stay about 50% more on top of the room. The breakfast, wireless Internet, and water comes with the room.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank backpackingspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannum Sands, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

when I arrived at Nirvana Backpackers I was booked in for 1 night. 12 nights later, I still didn't want to leave! this was a home away from home and a simply unforgettable experience! you become part of this great little family of explorers, perhaps because you're staying in a cosy little house setting but more because the staff are just so incredibly warm and friendly! Leslie the host is an awesome Jordy chick who comes across like just another guest and will do anything to get all her guests included in every social gig! i can't yet look at my photo's from Nirvana; they make me miss the place too much :( . honestly, this place is unmissable!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shesha_shu_be_do_day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

On the way back to my 4* Hotel in Mombasa’s recreational area, Nyali beach, I’m puzzled by a massive and mysterious green “Nirvana” gate; what’s hidden behind, a private retreat, a sect ? after one week I can’t resist anymore and ring the bell: There, a smiling, cheerful young woman welcomes me, while chilling out with her guest-friends & staff. Of course, it’s a guesthouse ! with a strong African caracter, I immediately get under the charm and decide to move in: the place is quiet and secure, beachside neibourhood, offering a nice and peaceful atmosphere, ideal place to rest after an exhausting Safari, work session inland, or even if you simply need a break...
Lesley designed the place on her image: spiritual, free-spirit, easy-going, interesting and cheerful: well, some logistics could be improved, but isn’t it adding to the fun ?
Last but not least, Lesley is really helpful, happy to share her love of Kenya , advising you, even getting best discovery trips organized by relyable people she knows and trusts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patrick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I can say I was very lucky living in Nirvana Backpackers in Mombasa – the hostel run by Lesley gave my Kenyan experience the final, unforgettable touch. It will be difficult to beat it, believe me.

I've stayed in Nirvana Backpackers for 5 weeks (private room, November/December) and loved every moment! Met many interesting people of all ages in the house and brought some of my friends to this place too! :-)

Personal choice of most important facts: not overpriced, clean, tastefully furnished, with wi-fi internet, beach 3 minutes walking distance, 10 minutes matatu drive to Mombasa centre, use of fridge, lots of space to chill out and, last but not least, super friendly and helpful staff. Moreover, Lesley takes her business seriously, she is ready to show you some nice bars, restaurants or to help you arrange all kind of safaris, trips, crazy things to do (henna!? tattoo?!) or just share with you her reach Kenya experience. She has this kind of great calm/crazy personality which makes her hostel totally unique.

The only thing I could be concerned for future is the threat that if overcrowded the house will lose its charm and tranquillity and start attracting wrong type of people... so, fingers crossed everybody!! ;-)) And good luck my dear! Wishing you all the best!

Room Tip: My favourite: private room, 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartitaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
0.6 mi away
Bahari Beach Hotel
Bahari Beach Hotel
#12 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#18 of 58 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#19 of 58 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tulia House Backpackers
Tulia House Backpackers
#1 of 66 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Nirvana

Property: Backpacker's Nirvana
Address: Off Mount Kenya Road | Mombasa Beach, Mombasa 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mombasa's highest rated Backpackers & second to hit NYALI BEACH, Mombasa - is RELOCATING AUGUST 2014 TO OUR NEW BEACH HOUSE. We are the ONLY backpackers hostel on the coast designed with traditional African decor, Freebies in your rate, awesome staff on-site for ALL your needs and highly secured location for your safety. Free Breakfast (Omelette/Toast), Free Internet, 24 hours access to kitchen, shower and TV room, DVD & Books Library, No curfew, private gate to the beach...We are the Only hostel in Mombasa with a working guest kitchen / fridge facilities - at no extra charge (except for campers - please ask for more info). You have access to all of Lesley's appliances, gas cooker/oven, shared fridge and utilities. We have a small menu/snack bar but the idea is that you may pay a little more for our beds, but you live in-house cheaply to your budget! We offer safari packages, snorkeling, day trips, extensive knowledge on Kenya and East Africa - and last but not least, on-site massage, Healing Sessions and African Bush Remedy Detox. Walking distance to all transport for around the coast. 5 Mins drive from supermarket, cafes, restaurants, cinema. 10 Mins from bars/clubs. Take away services available from home, lunch offered and beverages available. Nirvana offers a haven to refresh Body, Mind & Soul with and for unique, mature clientele...Dorm, those on tight budget private rooms (with shared bathroom), camping, private rooms with own bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker's Nirvana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing