We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nirvana Naturale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker's Nirvana
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nirvana Naturale”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I travelled to Kenya for the first time last week with my son. We stayed in Mombasa for what was supposed to be three nights but ended up staying an extra night due to the wonderful hospitality of Backpackers Nirvana staff.

The host was very warm and welcoming and catered to all our requests immediately. She gave us information about all the local sightseeing places and was spot on. I am, as I write, trying to book again for another visit to Mombasa as this place really is home away from home for us now.

The accommodation is clean and has a very cosy atmosphere. The staff are extremely polite and always greet you with a smile! The prices are extremely reasonable too considering the proximity to the beach (only a two minute walk)!! I cannot reccommend this place enough ... and we cannot wait to return!

Backpackers Nirvana is definately topnotch!!

Room Tip: We reserved and stayed in a private room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADavidsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janajwl, Owner at Backpacker's Nirvana, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Can't wait for you both to come back :)) Hugs..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
7
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Was supposed to stay at Backpacker Nirvana for two nights and ended up staying eight... The host Lesley is one of the most wonderful people I've ever had the pleasure of meeting, and the house has a wonderful calm about it that was lovely to be in. It was more like staying at a long lost friends house than a generic hostel. It's two minutes away from a great beach, and Lesley can organise brilliant safaris and trips for you too which don't cost a fortune. Overall I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angrydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janajwl, Owner at Backpacker's Nirvana, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
You are sorely missed sweetheart, please try and make it back before the end!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The staff are lovely, energetic and great fun. you feel right at home the moment you arrive and there is never a dull moment! clean, fresh smell of incense, and nice food and free breakfast! slightly insane dog but apart from that great and want go do back desperately.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley_kenyabeds, Owner at Backpacker's Nirvana, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
You are welcome back any time!!!! :)) Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed in Nirvana backpakers for a few nights and would recommend it to anyone. welcoming and comfortable, we felt right at home from the moment we walked in. We stayed in the private room and it was a very reasonable at just over £20 a night. Rooms were clean with nice sheets and towels. The whole place was spotless, actually. Vibe is really chilled out with people sitting around having a couple beers in the evening.

Genuinely safe with great security and located a short stroll from a lovely beach. Everyone was very accomadating from making sure we knew were nice restaurants are through to making sure we got good prices on tuck tucks. Breakfast was great - Esther cooks lovely eggs and she and Charity are generally great.

The owner Lesley is has got something special here.
Book in advance though - definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for the private room at the top of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I came to Backpackers Nirvana after having the kind of African horror experience in Tanzania that you think only happens in movies. The staff was not only more than willing to accommodate me on an extremely short notice (a matter of hours), but they were kind and understanding. They welcomed me and made me feel safe and at home. The accommodations were more than adequate. The hostel is lovely with calming nuances. They house is never overcrowded, even when full. And there are a number of areas to relax and watch movies, or sit on the roof top in the shade and watch the monkeys. The breakfast is delicious and the staff always willing to provide access to safe transport. The location ideal for those looking for a few days to just stay on the beach or even a peaceful longer term stay set away from the chaos of crazy cities. I felt extremely safe, content, and at home here. I would recommend this hostel to anyone and everyone traveling through Mombasa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wau, South Sudan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights on a short trip to Mombasa and it was fabulous. The house is very nice and cozy and in an excellent location. The breakfast is delicious and internet free and fast. The staff was very nice, helpful and full of good conversation. The overall vibe is very relaxing and easy. If you want to stay somewhere affordable, relaxing and hassle-free, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2011

very tired and sleepy i was welcomed by a sweet warm face in the dawn of the morning..jane introduced herself as the assistant.what she did was give me a bed to rest first..i thought that was very sweet as i could not feel my feet after a long night bus all i needed was a bed!waking up she was there, :) tasty free breakfast was served!NOTE..i have never been a backparker that offer free breakfast as classy as a hotel..my stay was made easier by lesley the owner and her assistant who always gave me ideas of places to go and not.the other staff were amazing always with a smile on there faces..i will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilson w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
4.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Bahari Beach Hotel
Bahari Beach Hotel
#13 of 58 in Mombasa
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#18 of 58 in Mombasa
395 reviews
0.6 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
209 reviews
2.2 mi away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#17 of 58 in Mombasa
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Nirvana

Property: Backpacker's Nirvana
Address: Off Mount Kenya Road | Mombasa Beach, Mombasa 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mombasa's highest rated Backpackers & second to hit NYALI BEACH, Mombasa - is RELOCATING AUGUST 2014 TO OUR NEW BEACH HOUSE. We are the ONLY backpackers hostel on the coast designed with traditional African decor, Freebies in your rate, awesome staff on-site for ALL your needs and highly secured location for your safety. Free Breakfast (Omelette/Toast), Free Internet, 24 hours access to kitchen, shower and TV room, DVD & Books Library, No curfew, private gate to the beach...We are the Only hostel in Mombasa with a working guest kitchen / fridge facilities - at no extra charge (except for campers - please ask for more info). You have access to all of Lesley's appliances, gas cooker/oven, shared fridge and utilities. We have a small menu/snack bar but the idea is that you may pay a little more for our beds, but you live in-house cheaply to your budget! We offer safari packages, snorkeling, day trips, extensive knowledge on Kenya and East Africa - and last but not least, on-site massage, Healing Sessions and African Bush Remedy Detox. Walking distance to all transport for around the coast. 5 Mins drive from supermarket, cafes, restaurants, cinema. 10 Mins from bars/clubs. Take away services available from home, lunch offered and beverages available. Nirvana offers a haven to refresh Body, Mind & Soul with and for unique, mature clientele...Dorm, those on tight budget private rooms (with shared bathroom), camping, private rooms with own bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker's Nirvana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing