We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out for the conmen who offer photo shoots and boat rides”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bamburi Beach

Bamburi Beach
Ranked #5 of 56 things to do in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Watch out for the conmen who offer photo shoots and boat rides”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

along the beaches pirates beach and bamburi beach are next to each other, and at the beach you will find dozens of jobless crooks who will greet you in a very friendly way and then insist on you trying their boat rides or photo shooting, just avoid them because they will charge you according to your colour and race :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank moha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    108
    57
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“bamburi beach, the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

just come back from bamburi beach, which to us is our favourite beach on the north coast of mombasa, we have been there many times and when there we walk either way from our hotel every day to exercise after eating and drinking all day, not so many beach boys / sellers now because of the travel advisory from the uk but we flew with kenya airways, there are several hotels on bamburi beach and several bars /eating venues, we know that most of the local people are having a hard time now because of the lack of tourists but we had a fabulous time and later in the year will be back, i could do with another drink in the bamburi beach hotel now, we can dream.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bjmomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice beach common with tourists although I personally preferred Kenyatta beach as it is where Kenyan families go and it was fun talking to Kenyans. Also less touts as they were busy with the tourists in Bambury

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bwanajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“never bored on bamburi beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Amazing fun here, this beach is always a must! Spend time on the glass bottomed boats, go for a dip in the reef n swim amongst the fishs, take a camel ride on the sand or simply sip coconuts and eat fresh food whilst soaking up the sun. And if u dont wanna leave... dont! Simply wait for the sun to go down coz the bestnight clubs are in the heart og bamburi beach. Dance the night away at pirates or my favourite, il covo!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sherry217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gagadju
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Reasonably quiet beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at one of the resorts in Bamburi beach mid April-beginning of May which happened to be their low season and therefore the beach wasn't crowded with tourists. However, due to the low amount of tourists as soon as one tries to stroll down the beach or go for a swim, one is hounded by people selling all kinds of wooden keyrings, carvings, safari and all kinds of water sports. We politely said no to most during our first week and eventually relented in our second week at Bamburi beach and bought something from a number of people to spread the business around. However, we were constantly hassled to buy something each day as soon as we stepped onto the beach which made the experience tiresome. Furthermore, it got to the point that people were also asking us for food, money and clothing. We didn't mind parting with the clothing and food as we knew most of the people on the beach needed it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank aitenshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamburi Beach also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Bamburi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing