We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, not a word I use lightly …”

Katuta's Safaris - Day Tours
Ranked #76 of 121 Outdoor Activities in Mombasa
Attraction details
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We’d never done a Safari, our first one with Katuta was an awesome experience. One of those things which it’s difficult to do justice in a short review; you have to do yourself to appreciate. Our holiday was based on Diani beach to the south of Mombasa, and we did three days in Tsavo East and West staying in Voi then Ngulia lodges.

We booked the safari with Big Joseph who’s working with Katuta. On the safari was Katuta, Joseph, my girlfriend and I, and two English women. So there was plenty of room in the van and everyone had a good view. Basically the guys were organized, punctual and looked after us very well. Everything went smoothly. We were safe to leave two cameras and a laptop with them in the van. We saw elephants, zebra, giraffes, monkeys, water buffalo, 2 lions, 2 leopards, wildebeest, hippos, crocodiles and more types of gazelle, antelope and bird than there’s space to mention. Unfortunately we didn’t see any rhino, not even in the rhino sanctuary in Tsavo West.

Three days left us with many lasting memories … at sunset on the balcony at Ngulia watching the elephants spraying themselves down in the watering holes … the excitement of Katuta driving the safari van like a crazed rally driver when he heard of a lion sighting on the CB radio (when he found the lioness there was a deserved round of applause and shouts of bravo)… the pure relaxation of the early morning game drive with the cool breeze and some tunes … Clearly three days in Tsavo is not the most adventurous trip, but it has whet our appetite to do a bigger tour with Katuta in the future.

Katuta has 21 years of experience doing safaris in Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda so he knows the rules, the parks, the animals and the lodges. His passion for safari comes across, maybe not so obviously as our frequent, child-like excitement.
I thoroughly recommend booking with Katuta and Big Joseph. At our hotel the rep for the tour operator was selling tours and trips, and knocking some of the locals in their sales pitch. The rep was completely wrong. We ended up with just as good a trip, for a much more competitive price, and were happy to pay local people directly for their work and expertise.
I hope you will have as much fun as we did.

1  Thank _RPKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katuta, Owner at Katuta's Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Hi Kelly,
Jambo Sana! I hope you are well.Thank you very much for your credible review on tripadvisor.
It has impacted well on my business and everytime i read it i am reminded of the wonderful time we all had.
Karibu tena! hoping to see you and your wife again very soon!

yours sincerely,

your friend Katuta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed at the Southern Palms on Diani the last two weeks of April. Don't listen to the Thomson Rep's scare-mongering about booking with other operators. Go with Katuta Safari's - Katuta can be found right outside the main gate - just ask for him. We booked a half day Mombassa tour, three days Tsavo East & West staying at Voi & Ngulia and also overnight at Shimba Hills. We saw all the animals except Rhino and Katuta was so on the ball in Tsavo finding us the lions & leopards that we nicknamed him Simba the lion-man. Katuta has been running safari's for almost 20 years. He is a registered and insured operator with his own vehicle. He used to work for Pollman's (Thomson) before going out on his own. He is very trustworthy, polite, inobtrusive and a family man. We should support the locals. Remember - book all your trips with Katuta and negotiate a price - you have to barter with everyone in Kenya!

2  Thank SueGwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katuta, Owner at Katuta's Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Jambo Sue!
I hope you are doing fine.i just wanted to thank you for such a wonderful and kind review that you posted on trip advisor.I has encouraged me and brought me more inquiries.
Happy travels and keep in touch.

Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Katuta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

It was wonderful to go to safari with you and your team. Everything was well organized and trip was wonderful. I highly recommend anyone looking to have a wonderful time in Kenya and East African Region in general to use the servives of Katuta Safari's. You will have great time as I did with my family !!.

2  Thank Msom29750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katuta, Owner at Katuta's Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Jambo,
hope you are well. i would like to thank you for a credible review on trip advisor.
i would also like to welcome you back for even more of our tour packages that have now increased since your last trip.
Karibu Tena and keep in touch.

yours sincerely,
Katuta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Had a great day snorkeling. Katuta new the best places. His advice to snorkel a little bit futher away from the hotel was worth the trip. I hope to go back some day and than have the safari trip.

2  Thank chdelorme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katuta, Owner at Katuta's Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Jambo sana,
Greetings here from Kenya! we hope you are well in Holland.
I want to thank you most sincerely for your business and especially for your kind and generous review on trip advisor.It has boosted our moral to be better.

Please come again.

yours Sincerely,

Katuta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

Thank Chrissi1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katuta's Safaris - Day Tours also viewed

 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Katuta's Safaris - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing