We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to meet other travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mombasa Backpackers
1 review
“Great way to meet other travelers”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

As a solo female backpacker, I loved this place! It's a great way to meet other travelers and I always felt safe and I knew that if I ever did not, I could say something to the staff and they would be more than willing to help.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank b10wm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    20
    8
    9
    18
See reviews for
2
19
73
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hostel has probably the friendliest, most open and best-connected people I've ever encountered. The owner/manager + staff make tremendous efforts to ensure a good time whether it's kicking back with a beer or going for a night out. Many expats drop by and are often willing to give you on-the-ground suggestions, recommendations & price quotes for local (or regional) restaurants, events, & destinations that you normally wouldn't find in your guidebook. This place is basically perfect for the hardcore traveler. It's a lot of fun & it lacks any and all judgment for those wanderlusts that want to stay up until 6 AM to see the sun rise after an awesome night. Flip side: I've also never had a problem falling asleep there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I spent a week here and I didn't want to leave! I backpacked from Nairobi to Cape Town and this was the best backpackers I stayed in. A huge mansion house with massive garden, swimming pool, table football, nightly beer pong, great staff and good food. If you like to party and meet fellow backpackers, this is the place to go to. There was skinny dipping virtually as soon as I arrived, the beers were being swilled well into then early morning and by the end of the week I was wearing some undersized Christmas leggings and a girls crop top. If that's not a ringing endorsement then I don't know what is. Kanga wearing dread locked barman Dave is also a legend. Top marks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

A great place to meet people with a really good atmosphere. It's close to the beach and away from the bustle of the city centre. The staff are friendly, there's a nice pool, tasty food and good service. Really good value!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannygoldone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berceto, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

If you are not looking for the six stars Majestic Royal Plaza Hotel, this place and the people are simply amazing. The food is good and the prices are low. There is a small swimming pool in a nice garden and if you don't like swimming pools you can get to the beach in few minutes by walking. When I am looking for a hostel I am looking for places like this.
You don't know yet, but you too are looking for a place like this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiacomoAgnetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The owner/manager was a complete jerk. The place is dirty. Extremely dirty.

Upside #1: the staff is very nice, and the food is good and reasonably priced.
Upside # 2: there is a better backpackers almost across the street (Tulia House), so no one needs to experience this dump ever again.

With better choices in Nyali, and up and down the coast I can't see this place surviving. Not when the owner is just there to hit on girls half his age.
The rooms are gross, and the mosquito nets have holes. The bathrooms are also not clean, and there wasn't hot water when I stayed. Also, I went to order food 20 minutes before the kitchen was supposed to close, but I was told the chef had already left.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuff2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I spent 4 days and 5 nights at Mombasa Backpackers and had a great time! Met lots of new people and it was in a great location for what I needed most...relaxation!

It's a bit of distance to the city centre but it is located well for shops and the beach! City mall and Nyali beach are both 10 minutes walk away from the hostel.

The food was ok - good pricing but it took a long time to get the food.

It wasn't the cleanest of places and this is something they should look to improve.

Overall, I had a great time there. The staff members were very helpful and fellow travelers hilarious with good stories to share.

If you're after a cheap, well located place to stay... Backpackers is the place to be!

Thank you Dave and co.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mombasa
2.7 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#8 of 14 in Bamburi
127 reviews
3.0 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tulia House Backpackers
Tulia House Backpackers
#1 of 68 in Mombasa
159 reviews
24.4 mi away
Diani Backpackers
Diani Backpackers
#2 of 65 in Diani Beach
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mombasa Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mombasa Backpackers

Property: Mombasa Backpackers
Address: # 69 Mwamba Drive | Behind Kenol petrol station on Mtwapa Rd., Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Backpackers in Mombasa, owned and run by Backpackers, has been pleasing the needs of independent travelers since may 2010. We offer dorms/singles/doubles/camping in a relax and chill atmosphere. Swimming pool, kitchen facilities, TV lounge, and chef. Within walking distance to public Transport, Supermarkets, restaurants, bars, and THE BEACH. Great spot to base yourself while Diving or kite-surfing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mombasa Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing