We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mombasa Backpackers
Ranked #16 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The owner/manager was a complete jerk. The place is dirty. Extremely dirty.

Upside #1: the staff is very nice, and the food is good and reasonably priced.
Upside # 2: there is a better backpackers almost across the street (Tulia House), so no one needs to experience this dump ever again.

With better choices in Nyali, and up and down the coast I can't see this place surviving. Not when the owner is just there to hit on girls half his age.
The rooms are gross, and the mosquito nets have holes. The bathrooms are also not clean, and there wasn't hot water when I stayed. Also, I went to order food 20 minutes before the kitchen was supposed to close, but I was told the chef had already left.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbuff2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 165 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

I spent 4 days and 5 nights at Mombasa Backpackers and had a great time! Met lots of new people and it was in a great location for what I needed most...relaxation!

It's a bit of distance to the city centre but it is located well for shops and the beach! City mall and Nyali beach are both 10 minutes walk away from the hostel.

The food was ok - good pricing but it took a long time to get the food.

It wasn't the cleanest of places and this is something they should look to improve.

Overall, I had a great time there. The staff members were very helpful and fellow travelers hilarious with good stories to share.

If you're after a cheap, well located place to stay... Backpackers is the place to be!

Thank you Dave and co.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

In the Web side looks Great but it should be more Clean in the Toilette and in the Rooms .

The Beds are Ok in the Rooms they have under the Beds Locker s there but they should Fixing it...They have a Room where you can put your private matters in as a Deposit

The Pool is nice but the have Mosquito Larvae in the Water The Staff are Ok

As a Owner of that Backpacker you could doit better

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

perfectly located Backpackers with a nice garden and pool ESSENTIAL!
Big plus: This Backpackers is super integrated with the locals.
We had huge fun and good friendships have been formed.
Good bar, good music, great parties and good food!
The dorms are basic, but with enough space for your stuff and mosquito net. What you need else?
Who needs his rest, I recommend to have a private room or take a bed in the outside dorm ;)
Also a good place to get hints for in and around Mombasa or for you individual travel forward. They are always happy to help, no matter what it is about!
The friendly staff makes it a warm familiar place to feel good and come back again!

Room Tip: The dorms are basic, but with enough space for your stuff and mosquito net. What you need else? ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahisabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We ve been travelling a lot in Kenya and stood in a lot of hotels but what i can say is: that MOMBASA BACKPACKERS IS THE BEST PLACE TO STAY!
If you love party - go there.
If you love meeting people from all over the world - go there
If you like a pool - go there
If you love good food and drinks - go there
And well if you like to see nice beach and town - go there
Hugs to Dave and Dave and of course Dominik: great team.
Looking forward to come again (the 3rd time)

Room Tip: go to the dorm to feel the real family life of backpackers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken_ya_nnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We heard this backpackers was really cool. And the outside is: it has a nice swimingpool and garden. The inside is another story: dirty, poorly mantained (doors that don't close, lockers that you can't lock...) and very (very!) old furniture.
It has only a toilet for several dormitories (with six to ten beds each). It was dirty most of the time.
There is more: Food not worth the money, staff not welcoming, payment system not efficient (we had to tell them what we had to pay, it was not well registered; we saw people complaining, they were asked to pay for expenses they didn't do)..
We spent a night there and moved the morning after because we could hardly sleep: they played very loud music until 4am and people were making a lot of noise with no one telling them to keep the voice down. It's good to have fun, but this is also a place to sleep, right?
I don't reccomend this place and I can't understand all the good reports.

Room Tip: If you decide to go (wich i can't reccomend), choose a room far from the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had planned on staying at this place for 4 nights, but after one night I had had enough. I knew of how far away the hostel was from town and that it was a backpackers place; however, having backpacked in close to 40 countries I wasn't prepared for this place. The staff were rude and unwelcoming. During check-in it seemed the local staff wanted me to leave instead. Same while trying to coordinate my scuba diving. To add to that, I overhead two of the wester staff members (I believe Dave was one of them) discussing how everyone from Texas were terrible people and they hated them. I am from Texas and had not talked to these two prodigies in customer service before hearing them stereotype me and label me as "terrible."

Tired from the bus ride from Tanzania, I hit the bed early (9PM), but only managed two hours of sleep before being awakened by extremely loud music that kept going until past 2AM. At 220AM I sternly asked the only staff member present at the bar to turn off the music as their own rules state that noise must be kept to a minimum after midnight. The guy gave me a bewildered look lowered the volume in his mac by 2 and kept the music going. Some 5 minutes later he came to me and mentioned he could move me to a quieter room and that I shouldn't complain about the noise because it's a backpackers place. Again, I have traveled in close to 40 countries and never have I had issues with hostel staff not letting you sleep.

On top of the A+ customer service: the place is dirty with what seems like very few toilets for the number of rooms (I counted 2). The one bathroom I used had a barely working shower head with no hot water. The beds were god-awful with mosquito nets that could pass for 80s style leggings (that many holes). The internet: you steal the wifi from the hotel next door, so you are paying for a service they are stealing. The kitchen: no communal kitchen, so unless you walk to the nearby malls they have you trapped.

To recap: only stay here if to you backpacking means getting trashed and partying with other westerners and not to try to gain a better understanding of a new culture and country.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
4.2 mi away
New Palm Tree Hotel
New Palm Tree Hotel
#29 of 60 in Mombasa
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tulia House Backpackers
Tulia House Backpackers
#2 of 75 in Mombasa
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 60 in Mombasa
3,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Ocean View Nyali Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mombasa Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mombasa Backpackers

Address: # 69 Mwamba Drive | Behind Kenol petrol station on Mtwapa Rd., Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Price Range: $6 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Backpackers in Mombasa, owned and run by Backpackers, has been pleasing the needs of independent travelers since may 2010. We offer dorms/singles/doubles/camping in a relax and chill atmosphere. Swimming pool, kitchen facilities, TV lounge, and chef. Within walking distance to public Transport, Supermarkets, restaurants, bars, and THE BEACH. Great spot to base yourself while Diving or kite-surfing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mombasa Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing