We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a backpacker needs and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mombasa Backpackers
Erding
2 reviews
“Everything a backpacker needs and more”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Definitely a place you shouldn't miss on your trip through Kenya.
The Backpackers' team enjoys to give you knowledgable advice of any kind, be it cultural sights, activities or culinary stuff.
Also it's the perfect place to meet other travellers and chat about the experiences you've made on your journey.
Surrounding and neighbourhood are safe, a supermarket is nearby and the coast is just overwhelmingly beautiful.
Make sure you'll spend some time at Mombasa Backpapers, you'll always feel welcome there.
I'd love to come again (:

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    20
    8
    9
    18
See reviews for
2
19
73
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed at Mombasa Backpackers in december of 2011 and had a really good time! The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming, the people I met were open and friendly as well as the staff. I felt at home and I celebrated Christmas with a new crowd of friends in this house. I would definitely stay here if I came back to Mombasa! I met people from all over the world, many people working for NGO:s, and I truly enjoyed the international atmosphere and my time here! The beach is less than five minutes away.
Ett bra ställe att träffa nya vänner och resenärer från hela världen!!! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stockholm_sa_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Mombasa backpackers is a great place to stay, the price is right, the location is great (right next to a beautiful beach and only a short matatu ride away from downtown), the rooms are clean and the staff is helpful. I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joelle556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Mombasa Backpackers is a great place if you want to save money and travel like a backpacker. It is safe and friendly. The toilets and beds are like you can expect in any budget hostel. But the whole experience was awesome! My holiday in Mombasa would have been worse if I was not staying in Mombasa Backpackers :)

The food is very good and cheap but reserve 30min for anything to be ready. They do everything from scratch - so no worries of bad stomach either. The people are great and that's why I liked it so much. The pool is also a BIG plus. It's not too far from nightlife and during the day having the sea close is good.

We had some trouble trying to locate the place. The guards in the next door hotel didn't know the place so keep the phone number and a phone at hand. U gotta enter from a black gate that doesn't have the name of the hostel written on it :)

My opinion is - go there!

Room Tip: The private rooms are more private :P The dorms face outside where people are spending time chatting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraEveliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Mombasa Backpackers is the best place to go if you want to feel at home in a foreign country. I live in Kisumu but always keep on coming back to my second home at the coast. Meet new and old friends there, having a good time. You’ll definitely stay longer than you actually planned.

The staff is friendly and always ready to help you getting around. If you are from Germany, David would be very appreciative if you bring German beer. Food is very good and payable. The BBQs on Fridays is definitely a highlight. Coffee & tea is free at breakfast.

The house itself has many dorms, privates and several clean bathrooms. You’ll feel comfortable in all the areas such as the large living room, TV room, at the bar and outside in the garden which has nice and clean swimming pool.
Meeting new people from all over the world is guaranteed.

MBP is located close to the beach, supermarket and the Matatu stations. Tuk tuks are available as well. Just ask at the bar to get one directly to the Backpackers to pick you up.

If you like the nightlife, there is no need to go out cause David makes sure you’ll have great partys within the compound. But you’ll also find many nightclubs which are close to the MBP. You’ll get there by tuk tuk, remember you are in Africa, so don’t walk on the streets by night.
Overall, this is the place to stay in Mombasa! You’ll love it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaSturm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2012

One of the best hostels that I've ever stayed at! The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable! Place is absolutely beautiful, nice pool and patio with lots of green. This is no doubt the place to stay when you are in the town, and they know how to have a good time(especially friday's BBQ) The rooms, bathroom and common areas was fine. Delicious food for reasonable price. I'll be back soon for sure;) Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlerunaway_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Hi all,

Mombasa Backpackers is a well-run, comfortable place to stay, with just the right sort of vibe for a backpackers. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and tidy and the price is very good for what you get.

The food was great and priced just right.

The staff are knowledgable and very helpful. If you're staying in Mombasa and are on a budget I cannot think of a better place to stay.

I'm pleased to see that the vast majority of the reviews on this site are positive. I used to co-manage a backpackers in Kamapala, Uganda (Red Chilli Hideaway) and we had a similar problem with Trip Advisor - most of the reviews are genuine but some people use this site to vent their petty grievances, knowing that it's very difficult for a business to remove unfair reviews. Something tells me that one of the reviews of Mombasa Backpackers falls into this category........

Hopefully, most people are bright enough to spot the **** on this site but it's still a shame that some inadequates can try and do damage to a genuinely well-run place just to satisfy their own, over-inflated egos.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mombasa
2.7 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#8 of 14 in Bamburi
127 reviews
3.0 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
536 reviews
0.8 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tulia House Backpackers
Tulia House Backpackers
#1 of 69 in Mombasa
159 reviews
24.4 mi away
Diani Backpackers
Diani Backpackers
#2 of 66 in Diani Beach
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mombasa Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mombasa Backpackers

Property: Mombasa Backpackers
Address: # 69 Mwamba Drive | Behind Kenol petrol station on Mtwapa Rd., Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Backpackers in Mombasa, owned and run by Backpackers, has been pleasing the needs of independent travelers since may 2010. We offer dorms/singles/doubles/camping in a relax and chill atmosphere. Swimming pool, kitchen facilities, TV lounge, and chef. Within walking distance to public Transport, Supermarkets, restaurants, bars, and THE BEACH. Great spot to base yourself while Diving or kite-surfing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mombasa Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing