We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tsavo East and West, a private safari of three days”
Review of JTS LTD

JTS LTD
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: J T S LTD offers Cheap and best Safaris from Nairobi or Mombasa to Masai Mara,Samburu,Amboseli,Kilimanjaro,Lake Nakuru,Lake Naivasha,Hells Gate,Tsavo East,Tsavo West,Serengeti,Ngorongoro,Lake Manyara,Tarangire,Mikumi,Selous,Excursions,Dolphin Trips,Flight Safaris,Bus Safaris,Jeep Safaris,Tips connected to SGR,and much more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Vantaa, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tsavo East and West, a private safari of three days”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited Tsavo East and West in the end of January 2013. A private safari trip for two persons was organised by Julius Thuvi Safaris. We asked several companies information about safari trips they organized. Julius answered quickly and patiently to our emails. We paid in advantage about 20 % of the safari trip only a few days before safari and to Julius himself the rest of it in our hotel that he visited. We paid with credit card, it was totally safe and secure.

Trip took three days, one night in Voi Safari Lodge and another in Ngulia Lodge. In Voi Safari Lodge we saw a lot elephants and buffalos beside watering hole. Also in Ngulia Lodge we saw leopard, porcupines, hyena and elephants. Food and service was there excellent (much better than in Voi Safari Lodge). You can also choose other lodges according your own wishes. Our driver was Gabriel and he took care of everything. During Game drives he drove slowly enough to catch all the animals. But he also drove like a Finnish rally driver, when we hurried to see some animals that other drivers had found. He also took care of breaks to use washrooms and gave us water bottles. He spoke good English and was helpful.

After safari trip Julius came to see us and asked if everything had gone fine. Good customer service, we think! After safari we took from Julius Thuvi also a one day city tour - we wished we had Gabriel as driver, and we did - and a dolphin boat trip. Arrangements were good and there were no problems. Thanks to Gabriel, our driver and also Julius, the manager! See you again, when we come back to Mombasa!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julmiajuoninen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    25
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“PRICELESS”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked several components of our trip to Kenya with Julius via the internet from the U.S. He was always very responsive and was very easy to work with to get exactly the trip my wife desired. We were met at the Nairobi airport and taken to the Fairview Hotel (an amazing property near the embassies). The next morning we had a marvelous buffet breakfast and were off on our first safari. Cisto our guide and driver took us to Nairobi National Park - 500 yards in and we were within yards of two male lions.... and the day got only better. We traveled from Nairobi to Lake Nakuru and stayed in the Flamingo Hill Tented Camp - better than many hotel rooms in my worldly travels. Even hot showers and again wonderful foods at the buffets. The animals on the safari were very cooperative and we were able to photograph the BIG 5 and so much more. The only mistake we made was ours - taking the train from Nairobi to Mombasa. It has given us many stories but, nothing I would recommend to others. Fly or take a reserved bus. We arrived in Mombasa and were taken to our timeshare. While in Mombasa another guide and driver took us to Tsavo East - Jeremiah and Joseph showed us more elephants than we could have dreamed possible. So, don't fret about paying the deposit - don't worry - Hakuna Matata as our Kenyan friends taught us - truly it will be a trip of a lifetime and Julius and his colleagues do everything in their power to make sure your dreams become reality.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We hired Julius Thuvi for our 7-member family's first safari based solely on TripAdvisor recommendations. His prices were more reasonable than those of operators we contacted. He asked us what we wanted to do, and the type of accommodations, and he took from there. His quick and helpful responses to our emailed questions put us very much at ease and enabled us to put our full trust in Julius, which was richly rewarded with a fantastic trip from start to finish. We paid for everything in advance, so we were a little nervous until we landed in Nairobi and after passport control and customs were greeted by a friendly driver holding a large sign with our name. From that point forward, everything about our trip, with 5 hotels/lodges, 3 domestic flights, and other connections, was seamless and met or exceeded our expectations. The Royal Mara Lodge in the Mara North Conservancy, expecially, was superb and an experience of a lifetime. We join other reviewers in enthusiastically recommending Julius Thuvi.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellently organised and great value for money”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

After a number of enquiries with different operators we settled for a seven day safari through Tsavo East, Tsavo West, Amboseli, Masai Mara and finishing with a half day in Hell's Gate NP. With hindsight we would probably have extended the safari rather than excluding any part of it.

Our driver and guide, Nicholas, was superbly friendly and very knowledgeable for everything from plants, to birds, reptiles and mammals. He also had an amazing eye for spotting and identifying wildlife from a great distance.

We were slightly nervous about having transferred what felt like a rather hefty sum as deposit but our fears were completely misplaced. The day before the safari our driver/guide, Nicholas, and Mary met us at our hotel to brief us about the coming safari and to collect the balance payment.

In terms of accommodation organised by Julius Thuvi we were VERY impressed with Lion Hill Lodge (Tsavo East) and Rhino Lodge (Tsavo West) - location, comfort, cleanliness, friendliness of staff, quality of food all exceeded our expectations. Kibo Safari Camp (Amboseli) is perfectly acceptable (quite busy and not in any way fancy but with good food and very friendly restaurant staff; great location). If possible try to find something which is either much smaller and personal or much fancier than Kichakani Camp (Masai Mara) unless you travel during the great migration - soulless is an understatement when trying to describe this establishment, although the staff was lovely and the young chef excellent.

Similar to other reviewers we have no hesitation in recommending Julius Thuvi Safaris.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DanieLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Superb organisation"”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked a three day two night safari in the Masai Mara from England. Julius's prompt email responses to our myriad of questions inspired confidence, as did the other reviews about him. Every transfer he organised for us was spot on time, whether in Nairobi, or the Mara or Mombasa. His recommendation of the Royal Mara Lodge was excellent and his ability to turn up at key points in the trip, such as at the Nairobi Hotel when we arrived and then in Mombasa when we finished, ensured a lasting impression of someone who puts customer service at the forefront of his business model. He even gave us all presents when we left. I have no hesitation in recommending him.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JTS LTD also viewed

 

Been to JTS LTD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing