We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Below average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PrideInn Express Nyali
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Was below average experience stayed at mombasa hotel....WiFi kept disconnecting...restaurant food really horrible... The price was average at 4500 kes same stuff every day breakfast there were bugs in the room I mean cockroaches.... Stay away from this place never going back ....with all this I still stayed for like 10 days...then I moved ...changed to a better place down the road....

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, General Manager at PrideInn Express Nyali, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Danipops, Thanks for your review. It has been a challenge since it was published and today we are delighted to assure you that your remarks were taken into serious consideration by the management. We have a renewed energy in the team that includes a group chef who has engineered the Breakfast Menu as well as other restaurant offers and we can assure you, today we have no cockroaches anyway PrideInn. It is unfortunate at the time, the neighboring apartments had challenges with hygiene but we took upon ourselves to maintain not only the PrideInn facility, but the entire area around us.WIFI speed has been increased and now very consist and reliable. What would make us more than happy is to get one more chance to host you and we are sure you will appreciate our input. Thanks in Advance. Lawrence Kinyua, General Manager PrideInn Mombasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 231 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pride inn really do not take pride in their clients. Attended a seminar there recently and we kept being moved from room to another to accommodate larger groups than us. We were a team of 4 so when a larger group of people came in to use the conference facility we would be moved to a smaller stuffier room. We were moved twice and finally we couldn't take it any more. We eventually moved to jacaranda hotel who gave us SUPERB services for the remainder of the training. The food was terrible and the guards kept asking me for "fare" as i was driving out of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronica n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larrykinn2002, Manager at PrideInn Express Nyali, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Veronica,

We are privileged to get your views about your experience. We do apologize for all the inconvenience and assure you that this was one of a kind situation that might have arose due to communication error.

When the booking was done, the hotel Management informed the Agency about the availability of the Hall and the possible options that included room movement on the third day.

We own the fault and sincere empathize with you.

The Hotel Management will be contacting you to ensure that your next experience with us is exceptional as it has always been before this last incident. MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

if they had a bar, it'd be great, but it's a Muslim establishment hence. I like the place, been going there since it was Glory Villas, now PrideInn. They have Asian satelitte tv so not something you want to hang around for, Mombasa is beautiful anyway. Had the fan room as opposed to the A/C room, and the fan worked great! Their food is over priced, you'd rather go to Nakumatt Nyali, they have food courts. The resort is conveniently located right behind Nakumatt Nyali and some nice Italian Restaurant. It's a good budget resort. Plus, they have a very clean pool.

Room Tip: the top balcony rooms on the above the restaurant is great for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrideInn H, General Manager at PrideInn Express Nyali, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2016

Dear Erick M,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor,thanks for choosing Prideinn Nyali as the place for your stay.We have introduced a Gorden bar and you can now get your favorite drink.
well come again.

Best Regards,

Peter Nganga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Excellent one balcony view to Indian ocean, central to where it happens in Mombasa (Kenya). Really enjoyed it with my wife. Good if you have own transport and can be in and out at will. Central to shopping complex, all the nearby southcoast beach hotels reach in minutes drive! Bamburi Nature trails just five munites drive from hotel to mention just a few places you could go to. Good rates for the rooms!

Room Tip: Ask for the self contained appartment with a view to the ocean, good balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, General Manager at PrideInn Express Nyali, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Elly, Thank you so much for the nice review. We are glad you found our place that nice. We hope to host soon once more. Lawrence Kinyua, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This place is now called Pride Inn. I had been to the Nairobi Pride Inn and it was good. This place was anything but good.

Firstly it rained the whole time we were there so the huge lake collecting in front of the hotel meant you had to get a taxi to go anywhere. This negated the one positive - great location - right near Nakumatt and restaurants just 100m away. But you can't walk there because it's always flooded.

The room was filthy, we found many ants in our bed, the blankets provided were too small for the bed and were so dusty.

Then the lowlight of the stay. No hot water. We asked the manager about the hot water he said "We never have hot water at this hotel. Mombasa is a hot place". Give me a break! The cold water is absolutely freezing. Talking to other staff later they said it isn't normal, the manager just didn't want to fix it and other guests had complained.

We went for the $72 a night self catering cottage too and the equipment to cook with was just unusable so we had to eat in the restaurant anyway.

I highly recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chookmeister69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrideInn H, General Manager at PrideInn Express Nyali, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2016

Dear Chookmeister69,

Thank you for taking time and writing your experience on trip advice.The management of pride inn Nyali will like to apologies for the bad experience you encountered at Pride inn nyali.We have a new management and i can assure you a lot has changed kindly give us a chance to make it up to you with wounder full memories.

Kind Regards,

Peter Nganga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at Glory Villas for 5 days in January 2011. Glory Villas has a choice of small non-AC rooms, slightly larger rooms with AC and 1 bedroom cottages with kitchen. We stayed in the non-AC room and although small it was fine because it had a good ceiling fan. The nice thing about Glory Villas was not so much the rooms, but the charming pool area, the friendly service, the hearty buffet breakfast and the convenient location. It is a 10 - 20 minute walk to Mombasa Beach and Pirates Beaches. It is located 2 blocks from a nice little shopping area where you can have lunch and go to a grocery store. Also, there are many, many good restaurants nearby if you want to go out for dinner. We found our stay to be very relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellinTeacher94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrideInn H, General Manager at PrideInn Express Nyali, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Dear TravellinTeacher94,
Thanks for choosing PrideInn Nyali for your stay in Mombasa. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time please stay with us for longer! We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel. Karibu,
On behalf of the team at Prideinn Nyali
Peter Ng’ang’a-General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank gabriella g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrideInn H, General Manager at PrideInn Express Nyali, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.4 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Bamburi
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Creekside Hotel
Creekside Hotel
#13 of 60 in Mombasa
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
570 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
370 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 60 in Mombasa
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PrideInn Express Nyali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrideInn Express Nyali

Address: Links Road | Nyali, Mombasa 00200, Kenya (Formerly Glory Holiday Resort)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: $59 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — PrideInn Express Nyali 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious coastal setting at the famous PrideInn Nyali characterized by palm trees and Makuti structures. The hotel offers all the features of a modern hotel and with its convenient and unique location on Links Road, North Coast, you are guaranteed to achieve maximum comfort. PrideInn Nyali is a great choice for business travelers offering one of the best conferencing facilities in Mombasa DISTANCE -14 Kms from Moi International Airport (approximately 30min drive) -7 Km from the railway station -7 Km from the major bus stations -Km from Nakumatt Nyali the biggest shopping mall in Mombasa -Km from the heart of Nyali business center -7 Km from the main city center -9 Km from Mama Ngina Drive (Mombasa’s Best Water Front) -1 Km from the beach CLIMATE -Hot days (average 28° C) -Warm nights (average 22 ° C) -Tropical climate with high humidity levels -Conventional rain during May/June and October/November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your PrideInn Express Nyali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glory Holiday Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing