We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freddy Muthengu safaris”
Review of Freddy Safaris - Day Tours - CLOSED

Freddy Safaris - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Freddy Safaris is a tour operator company who's commitment is to offer tour operator services in the whole of East Africa by taking people with a passion for wildlife, cultural heritage, adventure and exploration to the region's prolific wildlife, and involve you in holiday safaris, honeymoon or romantic safaris, historical safaris, photographic specialized safaris, climbing Africa's highest mountains, self drive safaris, bird watching safaris, camping safaris, walking safaris, biking safaris and horse riding safaris.
Cookstown, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Freddy Muthengu safaris”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Booked safari through Freddy for Tsavo East, West and Taita Hills. Booked before we went on holiday and just met Freddy with deposit when we arrived at hotel and paid the balance on morning of safari. Safari was fantastic, driver (Addie, i think sorry i can't remember) was brilliant at both spotting and information. When we got into tsavo west first thing we saw was pride of 16 lions eating a 5metre giraffe- totally amazing and somewhat gruesome. its not something you can accurately describe to anyone who hasn't been on safari themselves. Have done 2 other safaris one booked through First choice rep to Tsavo East and West and one to Governors camp in Masai Mara but would say without doubt the one we did with Freddy topped the others. we travelled in group of 4 in jeep-definitely worth the extra money. Travelled me and my husband both mid 30s and my parents in their 70s and all really enjoyed - couldn't recommend enough

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank edemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    5
    1
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great safari experience!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our safari was a wonderful once-in-a-lifetime experience! We chose a private tour with a 4x4 vehicle in Tsavo East and West and we saw loads of animals, including lions, zebras, elephants, giraffes, and the ever-elusive black rhino. Our accommodations were fantastic and included good options for my vegetarian diet. Makoko, our guide, knew the parks well and was very knowledgeable about the wildlife.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Great Tsavo East/West trip”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a really great experience on the safari we took with Freddy. We took a 3-day, 2-night trip to Tsavo East and Tsavo West. The two of us chose private tour with a guide, Makoko, who was friendly, excellent at spotting and pointing out animals, and patient with our desire to see everything and take a lot of pictures!

Tsavo East and West were incredibly beautiful, and I was overwhelmed with the wildlife we saw - giraffes, zebras, two lionesses, and kind of an unbelievable number of elephants. We were also lucky enough to see a black rhino in Tsavo West. All along the way Makoko did a great job of explaining what animals we were seeing.

Freddy was professional, eager to be of help and easy to work with. I highly recommend this safari.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
“Safari in Tsavo East and Tsavo West”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We had a fantastic safari in Tsavo East and Tsavo West early April 2012.
Freddies experienced drivers picked us up at our hotel early in the morning and by lunch we were at the Tsavo East gate.
On the first day we saw huge numbers of elefants, buffalos, zebras, giraffes and gazelles. And Cheetahs! Our driver spotted two Cheetahs resting under a thorn bush.
We spent the night at Voi safari Lodge. A nice lodge with large numbers of elefants visiting the waterhole in front.
On the morning of day two we started early and almost at once we found a pride of six lions. Females with cubs. Before returning to the lodge for breakfast we saw one more female lion and a very big male lion.
After breakfast we drove towards Ngulia Lodge in Tsavo West. During the drive we saw elefants, giraffes, hippos and more. Freddies drivers were fantastic at spotting game and could answer almost any question we had about the animals.

In the late afternoon of day 2 we went to the Rhino reserv in Tsavo West. Unfortunately the Rhinos did not show up.

At Ngulia Lodge we saw a Leopard! It came up to the water hole as we were eating our dinner.

On day 3 we had breakfast and then drove towards Mzima Springs. The drive went through spectacular volcanic nature and during the drive we could see the summit of Mt Kilimanjaro as well as many animals. Mostly elefants, giraffes and buffalos. It was interesting to see that the elefants in Tsavo West were gray and that the elefants in Tsavo East were red!

We would like to recommend Freddie Safaries as safari organizers.
Freddie and his drivers were very professional. The 4-wheel drives were great and Freddie had organized everything perfectly.

Thank you Freddie!
We will absolutely let you be our safari organizer the next time we go on Safari in East Africa.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lars M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Wow, what can i saw, what a fantastic safari, our guides Nikki and Joseph were great, we saw 4 of the big 5 on our first day, this was my first time on safari and it could have only been better if we had seen Rhino but also know sadly what a rare species this is becoming. Our guides gave us information all the time about the history etc of the areas we passed through and were very polite.
would definitely go with Freddy again.
Freddy also organised a trip out on a sunset cruise on an Arab Dhow after my mums wedding which was a fantastic conclusion to a great day.
Top marks to Freddy who gave us all a great time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freddy Safaris - Day Tours also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing