We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorious safari and the" Big Five"!!!!!”
Review of Glorious Safaris

Glorious Safaris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Organizer and provider of wildlife safaris.
torbay
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Glorious safari and the" Big Five"!!!!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked with Shadrack at Glorious Safaris for our third year in September.As in previous years he was quick to respond to our many questions and queries regarding where to stay in Lake Nakuru and Masai Mara.After many emails we decided to stay at Flamingo Camp Lake Nakuru and Ashnil Mara in Masai.What a good decision!
We paid our deposit and then final balance into the HSBC account-no worries of taking so much cash with you then.
We were duly collected at Mombasa Airport and taken to our hotel.
We met Shadrack in our hotel reception to discuss our itinerary and start times and were greeted as friends of the Glorious family
Our safari was to be fly to Nairobi and be collected in a jeep to drive to Lake Nakuru for 1 night and then to the Masai for 2 nights.
The drive was so interesting as the landscape changed to one of rich soil and many crops being grown,clean air and much less rubbish-it looks good.The first sight of the Rift Valley was breathtaking. Lake Nakuru was so beautiful(see separate review)AT LAST we saw the RHINO!!!!4 of them together.
The drive to the Masai was long and hard with much on unmade roads,but you can see so much more of the landscape and life ticking over-the people were getting in the harvest and another world unfolded as the whole operation swung into being-dozens of lorries waiting for the sacks,people drying,filling and carrying sacks,people setting up food stations and so on-you will not see this from flying to the Masai.
Ashnil Mara where we stayed for 2 nights was simply perfect for us-the staff so friendly,the camp delightful and beautifully situated for game drives.We have stayed in the Mara before and had been happy with the other camp,but this was special.I don't eat red meat and the chef was happy to produce chicken dishes for me.
As for the game drives -we saw everything we hoped for and having our own driver could spend as long as we wished watching what we wanted.We saw amazing sights,and loved every minute (see separate review)
We cannot thanks Shadrack enough for our amazing safari with everything all according to plan.
By flying to Nairobi and then road safari you get to see so much,and learn so much from your driver. ALL Shadracks drivers are very skilled and passionate about their homeland.
We also went to Heart Childrens Home with Glorious Safaris and to Mwokoeni school in Bombolulu ,both of which we support and would love you to visit if you wished.

Wherever you want to safari and whether by road or air,
DON'T HESITATE TO BOOK WITH GLORIOUS SAFARIS!!!!!

We have already booked and arranged our safari for May 2013!!!
Tsavo East,Amboseli and Saltlick here we come!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank malcTorbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    8
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Safari Ok but no Patrick!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were largely happy with the experience at Tsavo East, West and Amboseli. All of the plans were expertly arranged by Shadrack of Glorious Safaris. Each lodge we arrived at, they had our reservation without fail.
We were disappointed with the animal spotting this time no male lions and few cats seen.

The negatives on our safari were:

1) The safari vehicle was old and in poor repair. We paid a little extra to have a Land Cruiser instead of a minivan. We felt some of the other companies had far superior vehicles. The 4x4 was grubby, the windows didn't open very easily and the vehicle interior was generally in a bad state. Also Glorious has two jeeps one large and one small we were provided the small one for four guests and could barely get the luggage in and whilst at Amboseli we met another driver from Glorious who had two guests in the larger vehicle, when questioned Shadrack didn't have an answer for this query.
2) The big negative for us was the fact that we had booked Patrick as our driver/guide and we had him as our guide in 2010 and we found him perfect as others did on this forum. We has been in contact with Shadrack on a weekly basis before the safari and at no point had he informed us that Patrick had left the company. We arrived at the office of Glorious safaris paid the balance of our safaris it was only after we had paid the balance that Shadrack informed us that Patrick had left. I feel this was dishonest on the part of Shadrack and that he had plenty of opportunity to inform us before we left the UK as Patrick had left six weeks before we arrived.
I acknowledge that we booked the safari with Glorious and not Patrick however I feel that Shadrack should have been upfront with us as repeat guests of the company and for this reason I will not use the services of Glorious in the future.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Durhamlass14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another GLORIOUS Safari !!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from our second wonderful Kenyan adventure with Glorious Safaris, in late August through early September of 2012, and it won’t be our last! As we learned from our first trip to Kenya in 2011, Shadrack was impeccable from start to finish in all his dealings with us. He immediately understood what we hoped to do and see and was beyond accommodating in helping us plan our safari, from suggesting the best travel, hotels and amount of time to spend at each location. All money dealings were clear, and we never felt the least bit doubtful, even though we had never pre-paid any other holiday as we did in this case. Shadrack sent us receipts immediately, confirming that our funds were not only received but applied as promised.
Having covered the mechanics of our safari package (dates, lodging, costs, etc.), we then move on to the safari guide, who is the most important piece of the safari. Our guide on this most recent trip was Gilbert, who had eyes that could spot all manner of wildlife that we would never have seen all the while masterfully driving the jeep we had to ourselves, the cherry on top of the trip for us. Even though we had been to some of the same parks the previous year, Gilbert made our return trip seem brand new, taking us to places we’d not visited before, showing us sights we could never have imagined and teaching us about the wildlife, the history, the area, the customs and everything in between. He was always polite, dignified and even-keeled but most of all a friend who strove to make our safari a memorable and wonderful experience. Everything about Glorious Safaris was exactly that…glorious. Shadrack and his staff are warm, welcoming and affectionate – and when they say we are “like family” to them, we truly believe it. Highly recommend. Would not go with another outfit and do plan to return yet again. We love Kenya and all its wonders, and cannot imagine going there except with Glorious Safaris.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Barely short of truly glorious”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

First of all, it's really -- truly, exceedingly -- hard not to rate at five stars simply on the basis of Shadrack's service ethic. From my initial requests for itinerary help, to the personal meetup at Mombasa airport to review our itinerary, all the way to the fact that he helped arrange last-minute flights for us out of the Masai Mara, he was simply exceptional.

We booked a nine-night beach & safari combo. We arrived in Mombasa and flew out of Nairobi. We covered the distance between them entirely by road this way:
- Two nights at Asha Cottage in Diani Beach
- One night Galdessa Camp in Tsavo East
- Two nights Voyager Ziwani in Tsavo West
- One night Kilima in Amboseli
- One night Flamingo Hill at Lake Naukuru
- Two nights at Serena Mara at Masai Mara

We were largely happy with the experience. All of the logistics were flawlessly arranged by Glorious. Each time we arrived at a new place, they had our reservation without fail. The safari element itself was amazing. We saw just about every animal we could have imagined and had extremely special experiences: cheetah with cubs, rhinos in the pouring rain, wildebeest crossing the croc-infested Mara River, etc.

The only blemishes on an otherwise splendid safari were:
1) The safari vehicle was tired and in poor repair. We paid a little extra to have a Land Cruiser instead of a minivan. We didn't feel too great about the decision when we saw our "vintage" Toyota. I know the Kenyan roads are hard on these vehicles, but we spent the week in envy of others we saw whose vehicles were newer, cleaner, quieter and in better repair. Broken seatbeats, windows that were very difficult to open/close, roof hatches that leaked when it rained -- this thing had it all. To top it off, we had a tire blowout (blew a patch) as well as a fan belt break. In total, those on-the-go repairs cost us about two hours. May not sound like much, but when it eats directly into the only evening game drive we'd have in Amboseli, it was a bummer.
2) Our driver was pleasant and drove safely, but he was a little hard to work with. I understand that drivers often coordinate animal sightings this way to help their clients get the most out of their experience, but our guy tended to be on his phone quite a bit more than that. It was frustrating when we'd pull up to a great sighting. He'd switch off the engine and then dial someone up on this phone and start chatting away -- kinda takes away from the serenity that should come with watching these animals in their natural habitat. Our driver also had a tendency to take liberties with our itinerary. Maybe it was to help us, but we usually got the distinct sense that his proposed changes were going to make his job a little easier. He also had a tendency to drive way too fast on game drives, making it very hard to spot anything, especially in the brush at Tsavo. All in all, he was still more than adequate, but there was more stress in dealing with him than we would have liked over the course of a week on the road together.

Those things aside, Glorious did a great job. A few other things for folks considering Kenya for safari:
- We probably should have had two more nights to cover the same amount of ground. We were too rushed out of Lake Nakuru and Amboseli. Plus, the rides from one place to another took as much as eight hours, often across very rough roads, and it was hard to bear that for consecutive days.
- The drive from Nairobi to Mara Triangle Conservatory is hellish -- six hours total, with more than half of it on nonexistent roads that will threaten to slip your discs. We ended up paying to fly from Mara airstrip on the way back just to avoid it.

Finally, I'd encourage customers to pay their balances up front by wire transfer before departure. Understandably, Glorious passes along the 5% fee that their local bank charges on credit card transactions. But when you add the 3% that most credit cards will charge for foreign transactions, it really is worth paying a wire fee.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank jt1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Glorious”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Recently we spent our holidays in Kenya, which have been completely organized by Glorious Safari, and from start to finish everything was perfect. Shadrack, its Managing Director, has always been in every detail, and his team is extraordinary. We have been with Simon, Amani and John and the three are extraordinary. Glorious Safari is 100% recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto_Party_Madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glorious Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Glorious Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing