We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$291
$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cowrie Shell Beach Apartments(Mombasa)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$143
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
7
13
15
9
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
13
15
9
16
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 60 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2017

Fortunately, my stay was only one night. The shower was a mere drip and the hot water didn't work. The bathrooms are old and very basic. The bed sheets were stained (yikes) and also for some reason didn't cover the whole mattress. I hate to waste food, but the breakfast was even lacking in terms of taste and quality -- even the tea. I told our travel agent that our organization is not to use this place in the future. Everything needs improvement, sadly. On the plus side the A/C kept the room cool at night for sleeping.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

I just completed a 3 nights business trip and stayed at Sai Rock hotel and spa. I had been booked in a hotel in town but preferred to change my booking to off town. For the price it was value for money I was booked B&B. The rooms are spacious, clean and tidy The staff especially at the reception was very friendly and accommodating. The biggest draw back is the hotel maintenance department the hotel finishing and maintenance lacks that fine touch that is present in other hotels. Signs of unfinished renovations and ongoing works are all over. completed renovations are eye sores e.g poor installation of A/C's and plumbing in the rooms poorly finished sinks, ill fitted and rusted room windows. Though NOT glaring this small defects leave a lot to be desired and are an eye sore. The grounds are poorly maintained, gardens need manicures etc. I upgraded to their deluxe rooms and had to change the room 3 times since the A/C in the first 2 rooms were not working (the magnificent morning view from the deluxe room compensated for the trouble).
I commend the front office staff for their cooperation and friendliness they changed the rooms until I was satisfied . I had an late flight and was allowed a late check out of 3.00 pm thanks ladies. The menu (breakfast was very limited and wanting I wonder how their full board menu is. Overall the hotel is conveniently and well located, next to the beach , beautiful views of the ocean, decent rooms, great friendly staff but poorly maintained. . Not a place to holiday for long but okay for stop over. Tony

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms -great a sea view, poor wifi connection.Confirm A/C is working. Standard rooms spacious with better wifi and quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkariri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017

If you are completely out of options, then book into Sai Rock.

I mean, who doesn't serve water in a dispenser during breakfast? That you have to buy water. And after I asked for the water, it took 20 minutes to deliver.

We were 2 families booked in adjacent rooms. In the adjacent room, the shower was not working - dispensing only HOT water. House keeping was not helping either. Guess what, the maintenance crew checks in to do the plumbing works before we check out messing the entire place.

Let's just say, the only thing to hold on to is the beach location with less crowded swimming pools.

Cheap is expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnyabera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016

The location (right on the beach) was perfect but the rooms left too much to be desired. There was no water until we asked. When it came it had a pungent smell. It had an A/C but it could not be regulated. The beds are too hard.The bathrooms have no ventilation-you can imagine the level of humidity in coast plus heat from showers. A visit to the apartments will leave you completely heartbroken. The WiFi doesn't work. Don't bother.

Room Tip: As for a sea view room. Dont ask for an apartment!!!
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadiel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016

Location: Next to the beach yeah... but there isn't much going on the other side of the road.
Rooms: Clean enough, but I believe there was bed bugs.
Bathroom: No ventilation system. Couldn't even shower without the smell of sewage coming through the drain and the water is so Hard & salty!
12 wifi networks: You are lucky if 1/ 2 of them works in a week. It seriously takes your frustration to the next level!
Restaurant: Breakfast was the only meal of the day that I could 'somewhat' trust.
Dinner was the worse experience ever, after a while i just stopped going.
Don't ask the waiter or waitresses about any food on the menu, they barely know. Their uniforms needs to be more presentable and 'uni-fied'
The chef needs a new uniform too, because his sleeves were ripped. So was the napkins on the table. In term of tissue napkins, my friend grabbed one that she thought was clean which turned out not to be, it was simple folded and putten away like the clean ones are. The cutlery needs to go, they are rusty and not properly clean.
Food: takes over 1/half hour and certainly not the best of taste.

However a few of the staff were hospitable.

Room Tip: choose a room without bed bugs
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franchesca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews