We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES”
Review of Lotus Hotel

Lotus Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lotus Hotel
Ranked #47 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed July 10, 2011

After spending a wonderful time travelling around Kenya we spent a night at Lotus Hotel in Mombasa on our way down to Diani beach. Contrary to the rest of the trip where we met friendly people and experienced truly great Kenyan hospitality, this hotel was poorly run, dirty and unsafe.
Upon arrival the room was unclean and poorly maintained but worse than this after one night my room was broken into and all my valuables were stolen. The hotel were quick to blame the guest in the adjoining room who had already checked out but I am suspicious as to their involvement (I had only left my room for ten minutes to go downstairs and book a bus journey). The manager Mr Peter Maina was rude, unpleasant and thoroughly unhelpful.
I would strongly advise you to NEVER stay here. There are so many great places in Mombasa and Kenya which deserve your business more...please do not make the same mistake as me it really gave a bad taste to the end of a marvellous holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NancyMcLennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We apologize that you were unable to enjoy your time with us during your stay at the hotel.

We’re very disappointed to hear that you did not wholly enjoy your recent experience with us as some of your valuables were stolen we acknowledge theft took and was reported to the police.

Our manager wrote an email to you but you didn’t respond however investigations have not been closed and since the police issued you with Abstract you can revisit the matter to know the outcome of the police investigations. Our insurers’ are ready to handle the matter on our behalf.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences that may have been caused to you during your stay with us as we look forward to welcoming you back to Lotus Hotel.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time

Sincerely
Lenah Bundi
Emarketing consultant
Lotus Hotel
+254 721 853211
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 44 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and unfortunately it was a huge mistake.

The hotel is well located and in general terms nice for a hotel of this category. It is a pity that rooms are not clean and there are cockroaches!. I must have killed around 10 of them and we only stayed here for a night (fortunately).

Even worse, this morning while we were having breakfast someone went into our room and stole our camera (with all our safari and trip pictures!) and around €200.

The manager of the hotel refused to help. We asked him to interview the staff and help us find out where the camera was but he just called the "police" who also refused to show us their ID (impossible to tell if they were real police or just part of a trap).

DON'T STAY HERE, please.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Deviajecitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay at Lotus and sharing your feedback . It was a pleasure to serve you.

In regards to cockroaches the matter have been addressed and investigated the issue with the departments concerned unfortunately we do not have any record about this. However we shall not fail in being more attentive from now on. We wish to assure you of our untiring effort into taking appropriate measures to keep up the highest standard at Lotus Hotel.

In response to your comments on theft, we would like to refute your comments that the police who came are impostors let me clarify this that the police from Investigation Department don't wear uniform as their role is to track down criminals the only mistake they did was not to show their ID card .However necessary measures to security have been put in place to protect our guest from this incidents in future.

However, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences that may have been caused to you during your stay with us as we look forward to welcoming you and your entire family back to Lotus Hotel.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time

Sincerely
Lenah Bundi
Emarketing consultant
Lotus Hotel
+254 721 853211
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights before taking the train to Nairobi. Clean and safe and reasonably priced kenyan style hotel. Took a taxi out to Nyali beach for the day which was very enjoyable. Good to have a taster of a proper Kenyan town rather than a tourist resort.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa and taking your time to share your valued and very detailed feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with all our services in terms of cleanliness and security as well as your overall experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back and provide you with a more enjoyable experience.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time

Sincerely
Lenah Bundi
Emarketing consultant
Lotus Hotel
+254 721 853211
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in September and as a reasonably priced option in the heart of Mombasa I'd say it's a good choice. The rooms are small but adequate and all come with air conditioning. There is a restaurant and bar within the hotel itself and the central courtyard area isn't a bad spot to relax with a beer. The staff were helpful and the hotel is only a short walk from the Fort and from the town centre should you feel the need to explore on foot.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_H70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa and taking your time to share your valued and very detailed feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with all our services in terms of staff, cleanliness and security as well as your overall experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back and provide you with a more enjoyable experience.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time

Sincerely
Lenah Bundi
Emarketing consultant
Lotus Hotel
+254 721 853211
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This hotel is pretty nice but the advice for "budget travelers" depends what you mean by budget traveler. The least expensive room, a single, is $40USD/night (3000 shillings). This includes breakfast. Anyway, the rooms were clean, definitely safe, and the ambience is very nice. TV didn't work though. Recommended if you want a medium-price hotel in Mombasa City, but for cheaper, there are many guesthouses that have similar amenities (comfortable bed with personal bathroom) for much cheaper (700 ksh/night), although they are a bit more dingy.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank ejb1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa and taking your time to share your valued and very detailed feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with all our services in terms of staff, cleanliness and security as well as your overall experience and value for your money.

We look forward to welcoming you back and provide you with a more enjoyable experience.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time

Sincerely
Lenah Bundi
Emarketing consultant
Lotus Hotel
+254 721 853211
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

I highly recommend Lotus Hotel.

As you arrive you might immediately notice how beautiful and quiet the streets are that lead to Lotus Hotel – much in contrast to Nkrumah Ave only a block away. It’s like the Lotus is in a different world compared to the bustle of that main street. The gardens are full of flowers. And once you arrive in the hotel you will probably immediately notice the lush leafy plants placed in the entry way which keep the courtyards cool and shady and calm.

We arrived and they did not have our internet reservation. But they did have rooms. Contrary to other hotels the Lotus did not charge more for a twin than a double (yay!). They took us upstairs and we settled ourselves into the quite large room. There was a double bed and a single bed and two sitting chairs, a desk and chair, and a small tv. And there is an Air Conditioner – blissful. The rooms are well outfitted with closet space if you like to unpack your things. They gave us a little welcome pack which I thought was a real touch of class – toothpaste, a comb, a shower cap, and soap. One pack per person. The bathroom looks like it was last fitted in the 70’s (as does the rest of the room) but it is very functional and clean and big with a toilet, tub, hot water shower nozel, sink, big mirror.

So all in all the room is comfortable, cool, spacious, well outfitted and clean. The real “deal sealers” for the lotus are the location and the common space.

The common space is simple but it consists of a restaurant (ok) and a lounge space (great!). The lounge is in the central courtyard, and they have covered it over with a rain cover. It is very cool and breezy. They serve very cold drinks with very nice service. They also have a full menu of foods, typical of what you find in African establishments.. ranging from goat, to curries, to pizza. It really is a very nice place to relax after the day and to not have to spend too much money because it is more locally priced.

And, the location. On our first evening we left the hotel and were in Old Town walking in less than 5 minutes. On day two we walked from our hotel through old town, down biashara street, and back to the hotel – easy. This hotel is wonderfully situated if you want to see the city. I recommend highly if you are arriving to take one night at the Lotus on your way in or out and see Mombasa that way instead of doing the day trip from your beach hotel which will… cost you time, and money, and take you away from the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itzakadoozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa and taking your time to share your valued and very detailed feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with all our services in terms of staff, cleanliness and security as well as your overall experience and value for your money.

We look forward to welcoming you back and provide you with a more enjoyable experience.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time

Sincerely
Lenah Bundi
Emarketing consultant
Lotus Hotel
+254 721 853211
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Staff did that little extra for free when i got married. Decorated the bed with flowers, free of charge. Friendly, quiet and still near to the city-center. No alarming mosques close. A/C a bit noisy though, but overall a good choise with value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your visit to Mombasa and taking your time to share your valued and very detailed feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

we are pleased that you gave us the opportunity to give you both a more pleasant experience while celebrating your wedding, we are glad you did like the decorations done by our staff as we understand the importance of a special celebration such as wedding and we wish you a good life.

Meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to Lotus Hotel.

Sincerely
Lenah bundi
Emarketing Consultant
Lotus Hotel
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
1.5 mi away
Creekside Hotel
Creekside Hotel
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#23 of 60 in Mombasa
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
#5 of 60 in Mombasa
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Radiance
Hotel Radiance
#27 of 60 in Mombasa
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel
0.1 mi away
New Palm Tree Hotel
New Palm Tree Hotel
#33 of 60 in Mombasa
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Hotel

Address: Cathedral Lane, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range: $63 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing