We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tamarind Mombasa

Tamarind Mombasa
Ranked #2 of 133 Restaurants in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I were on holiday in Mombasa and came here for dinner. Absolutely amazing !
Best sea food and great service
Tamarind never dissapoints

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    144
    41
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A floating meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

A sumptuous meal on a traditional dhow - serenaded by a band of local musicians and eating delicious seafood while the dhow meandered around the harbour

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank simon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best risotto I have ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had the seafood risotto and it was by far the best risotto I have ever had. I also had the crab claws, beautiful just beautiful .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castelldefels
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average seafood, good scenery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went for,lunch, and after reading some reviews, we where expecting more.
Quite some seafood, limited choice of fish, and, of course (and expected, we where not for it) very limited choice of meat.
We ordered a prawn salad, which was average. Also some fried octopus, which was quite good, as the kids ate it in seconds.
For second course, seafood platters, which came with crab, lobster, mini oysters (really mini), king prawns, squid... I have to say that it was quite average, nothing special. I have had much better seafood elsewhere (not in Mombasa, though), but given the price (almost to European standard, some 40-50 eur each, no wine) it should be better.
Service slooow, a couple hours for lunch.
Views are nice, overlooking Mombasa over the river.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptelleria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Brilliant location with beautiful views. Ask for a table on the terrace. Portions are large, beautifully presented and most importantly taste good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Mombasa also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Tamarind Mombasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing