We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem for a Tourist”
Review of Tamarind Mombasa

Tamarind Mombasa
Ranked #2 of 133 Restaurants in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem for a Tourist”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Located on the coast of Mombasa, Tamarind is the most incredible restaurant on this planet. I’ve been to the restaurant about six times, even though I’ve only vacationed in Kenya twice. The quality of the food makes it difficult to “try something else” when you’ve traveled across the world looking for the best experience. It’s a MUST visit! And I definitely recommend the whole steamed crab ... never have I had such high quality seafood. Oh, and there’s even a Casino upstairs for anyone looking for entertainment after dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanaHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    146
    44
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Overrated and tired.
Only for the "tourist" scene.
Needs to revamp.
Used to be one of the finest in Mombasa, No longer, sadly.
I am sure they will come good in time , though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greville D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“My favourite in Mombasa!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The bonus for having to go over to Mombasa for business is that I know for sure that I can count on a lovely meal (or two) at the Tamarind.
I'm suprised to see some negative recent comments on TA, I have been going to Tamarind for over 10 years and have not once been disappointed, always had awesome food in the most amazing setting. I even dare to say that this is where I had the best sea food in Eastern Africa, I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyingGonzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Tamarind restaurant has a well deserved reputation. Its seafood dishes are excellent. It has a great atmosphere, helped by its half-outdoors, waterfront site which overlooks the old town from across the water. Service was good. Price was definitely high for Mombasa, but not unfairly so, and still cheaper than most comparable European restaurants. Would definitely recommend as a "splurge" meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bazyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalter, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old Glory”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

In January I held my birthday party at the Tamarind in Mombasa.My daughter Ann who lives in Kenia suggested this restaurant.
The location is spectacular.
Living in Belgium which is a gastronomic paradise,our expectations were not high alas the best I can say bout the meal was mediocre and that is being generous.
The wine list was poor and the service slow,even Henry our Kenian friend complained about the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonymemling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Mombasa also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Tamarind Mombasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing