We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind Mombasa

Tamarind Mombasa
Ranked #1 of 132 Restaurants in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I have been going there atleast once a month for past few yrs. Recently I have stopped. Reasons. Menu is the excat same no changes what we all expect prices are too high althought servings are huge portions but reduce prices. No doubt its best for seafood than any place and the views are splendid. The chefs need to be spontaneous kidogo

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amu838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We thank you very much for taking the time to review the Tamarind Mombasa and regret that we did not live up to your expectations. We have discussed our short comings with the whole team and will endeavour to be more creative with our offering in the future. We hope that you will give us another chance and visit the restaurant again and once again many thanks for your feed back.
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    144
    39
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The professional service
The great place
The magic scenery
The good wine selection
The outstanding food

We loved the Kenian osters selection -again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krishnagg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood platter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent seafood platter and nice atmosphere, very busy though and not really the personal service as expected

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank koends12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Manager at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Many thanks for the feedback on Tamarind Mombasa. We are happy the seafood platter was excellent, however very sorry that the level of service didn't live up to your expectation. We place great emphasis on superior customer service and we are sorry that we performed poorly on this occasion.

I hope you will give us another try in the future.

kind regards Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“One of the best in Mombasa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed there for a couple of nights in Dec. last year,
the staff is great and will help you in any circumstance, delicious food especially breakfast
with a gorgeous view. The only thing is; sometimes noisy in the night during weekends
otherwise, this is one of the best places to recommend in Mombasa.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great seafood, wonderful setting and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Tamarind came highly recommended so I was happy to drop in on the way from Mombasa Airport to Diani Beach with my girlfriend and some good friends. We had actually mis-timed it and arrived when the kitchen had just closed. No problem, kitchen was quickly re-opened and a feast of seafood and several cocktails were prepared for us - try getting that level of service in the UK..........
The food was wonderful, the setting and views very pleasant, the drinks cold and not so expensive - all in all a very good way to start a trip the Indian Ocean beaches south of Mombasa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TMcMurray_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Manager at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Many thanks for your fantastic feed back about your meal at Tamarind Mombasa. We are so happy to hear that the food and service lived up to your high expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back and being of service to you you again.
Best regards Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Mombasa also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Tamarind Mombasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing