We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“truly an amazing place....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tijara Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tijara Beach
mombasa
1 review
“truly an amazing place....”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

just wanna thank you both ian and larissa for welcoming us to ur lovely place.. we had such a relaxed weekend and everything was just too beautiful and amazing...tho our stay was really short but we totally enjoyed every minute of it...the place is incredible and just beautifully colorful the flowers the view all of it was a real beauty... waking up to the sounds of the birds and the ocean view was just so good..the staff were so friendly and meals were great...loved the soup lol... cant wait to plan for a longer stay at tijara..... thank you so much and keep up the good work you guys have put into it. see you soon.

Room Tip: we stayed at bahari room....totally secluded and private....amazing!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prateshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for this fantastic review! We really enjoyed meeting you and hosting you here and we are hoping to see you at Tijara very soon again, hopefully for a longer stay! We totally agree - waking up with the sounds of the birdsong and the ocean is precious in today's busy world!
Larissa & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
61
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Ian and Larissa have created paradise. The scenery changes with the tide to reveal beautiful landscapes for walking and snorkelling, or just watching the fisherman go out. The breezes float through the cottage, and the 'outdoor' bathroom was fun! And when you feel like a coffee or a gin and tonic, just ring for Frank who will bring it to your door with a smile. A very special holiday, not sure we will ever better it. We had such a happy time with you. Thank you. Karen and Andy.

Room Tip: No need for help to chose a good room, they are all perfect. Huge four poster bed with sea views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Karen and Andy,
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are happy that you enjoyed your staying with us so much! We certainly enjoyed your company and we will look forward to seeing you here again soon! A very special thanks for posting your lovely photos here!
Larissa & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at Tijara Beach with our friends in September 2012.
And what a wonderful place, a little oasis.
Nothing bad to say! Service, Staff, Food, Cottages, Gardens and Beach all excellent.
And a warm welcome from both Larissa & Ian who could not do enough for us.
Make sure to visit the rock pools, the bats and the Tumaini school.
Also keep a lookout at night for the bush babies!
We look forward to visiting again and would not hesitate to recommend Tijara to our friends.
Carole & Ken

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Carole and Ken,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and it was our pleasure to host you at Tijara. We will be looking forward to your return and would like to thank you both for your interest in Tumaini project. Our special thank you to Carole once again for sharing your wonderful photos of kids which will be used in our blog post which is coming up shortly.
Once again thank you for this review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having moved to Nairobi, Kenya one year ago and having spent a lot of time to start with to find the perfect escape, we came across to Tijara Beach and have never looked back ever since. Tijara Beach is just a little piece of paradise; a place that we just didn’t think could exist. 4 gorgeous cottages just sit on top of the cliff, with absolute stunning views on the Indian Ocean surrounding with gorgeous gardens full of colourful flowers, in a few words a real breathtaking place, not to mention the food which is just exquisite!. Tijara has got its own private beach, some lovely caves can be visited nearby and you can enjoy a fantastic lagoon where the best snorkelling can be done.
Larissa and Ian can be very proud of such an accomplishment as they have devoted so much hard work. You will be looked after very well and feel very welcome, at home!
We keep going back as we feel a few days retreat there feel like a complete week off, your batteries will be fully recharged guaranteed!
Lucie and David

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Lucie and David, thank you very much for your wonderful review and for sharing your views with others. We love hosting your here and are looking forward to your next visit. Snorkelling has been amazing and qiute a few new fish have been seen recently! Once again thank you for this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Tijara beach on our honeymoon in October 2012. From the moment Ian picked us up at the airport in Diani beach we began to relax, & didn't stop for 3 days. It was just what the doctor ordered after being on safari. Even though it rained for pretty much our whole stay we still had a great time. There were loads of different activities to do but we just preferred to stay on our private veranda & watch the fishing boats come in or go swimming in the pool between showers! Our cottage was beautiful & very cosy. The door in the bathroom opens straight out onto the veranda to picturesque views of the beach.
The food was amazing, each morning at breakfast Ian or Larissa discussed what our lunch & dinner options were and each meal was delicious.
We really enjoyed our stay at Tijara beach, & we cant wait to go back someday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillyd95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are glad that we made your special stay so memorable! Next time we will pre-book good weather as well! :))) It was our pleasure to meet you and to host you here and we hope to see you at Tijara again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Tijara has it all: beauty, tranquility and an incomparable personalised hospitality. Our children (ages 9,8 and 5) spent hours in the company of Sasha and Ivan - the owners' (Ian and Larissa) two lovely children- swimming, exploring the beautiful gardens and going on shell gathering expeditions on the reef during low tide. For us, the 'grown ups', the highlight was the ability to sit back and relax whilst every whim was attended to by the unfailingly friendly and attentive staff (thank you Frank and Anne!) as well as some amazing snorkelling on Tijara's own coral reef in the company of Ian and Larissa. In all, a wonderful week never to be forgotten! We will definitely visit again in the near future!

Felipe, Susan, Sebastian, Mateo and Talia (from Cape Town, South Africa)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Felipe and Susan, thank you for your lovely review and it was our pleasure to host your wonderful family here. We are indeed happy that you enjoyed your family holiday here as we see Tijara as a tranquil paradise for couples as well as families who truly want to spend quality time together. Snorkelling is amazing here and we will look forward to more snorkelling trips together. A special thanks goes to Mateo who provided us with his amazing photos and his very artistic installations! We wish you all the best in 2013 and will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aargau
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The place is situated 7 km S of Mombasa and has only 4 beautiful cottages. The owners (Ian and Larissa) live also on the ground. All inclusive. To order drinks a moble phone is provided for every cottage. Very nice cottages all with view to the Indian ocean. Very personal service e.g. menues for every party will be discussed daily at breakfast time. There is also a clean saltwater pool. All hotels at the South Coast face the problem of the Likoni Ferry but not Tijara because they have a priority at the ferry. Fantastic is also the fact that there are no moscitos even at night at the open dining room. This is because of the coast wind. The place is not designed for people looking for animation. Swimming in the sea is difficult at low tide.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review and it was certainly our pleasure to meet you and to host you at Tijara!
Indeed Tijara is an ultimate escape from the world with any activity easily arranged for our guests if feel like doing something. Alternatively, reef and cave walks as well as snorkelling at low tide is a very enjoyable pass time. Otherwise the sights and sounds of the ocean and birdsong are your company here! Once again thank you for staying with us! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mombasa
13.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
373 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
402 reviews
10.3 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
520 reviews
7.9 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,905 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tijara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tijara Beach

Property: Tijara Beach
Address: Kilindini | P.O. Box 99914, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Hotel Class:4 star — Tijara Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, private and secluded, yet only a short distance south from Mombasa Island in Kenya, Tijara Beach is an exclusive private resort hosting not more than 8 people. The owners who live on the property and manage it are always available should their guests need anything.Tijara is about total relaxation, getting out of touch with the world and appreciating the beauty of barefoot luxury. It is for people who appreciate tranquility, nature, personal service and absolute privacy. Unwind and renew your spirit at the best escape from the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tijara Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tijara Beach Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing