We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine”
Review of Tijara Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tijara Beach
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Tijara for three nights in August. The breathtaking natural beauty of the setting has been enhanced by the sophisticated design of the property. Everything is pleasing to the eye: the gardens, pool, spectacular views of the sea from the dining area, grounds, and your private deck (even the shower!), and the beautiful fabrics, tiles and handmade furniture in the cottages. The food was fresh and delicious and it was fun to participate in choosing the menu for the day as I enjoyed breakfast al fresco. The very friendly and efficient staff made me feel so comfortable and welcome. Topping this all off is the magnificent reef - the walk out to the breakers and lagoon snorkeling were like a safari at sea. Ian and Larissa have created something very special.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank kjd1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your staying with us! Our reef is indeed amazing and we love sharing it with ur guests, snorkelling is always such a pleasure for us and we are always thrilled when our passion is shared :) We thank you for choosing Tijara for your break at the coast and we will look forward to hosting you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 98 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am slow in posting my review as our holiday was in March, but we are still talking about how lovely it was. We stayed for 3 nights, which was perfect for us. Highlights were the beauty and restful nature of the location, loveliness and creativity of accomodation, delicious food, quiet service, hassle free beach and delightful hosts. It is the best holiday we have ever had in Africa or perhaps anywhere. I would go again in a heartbeat! Makes a great long weekend if you happen to live in Kigali, Rwanda.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are very happy that we made your small holiday so memorable :) Indeed with direct flight from Kigali to Mombasa it is so easy to have a very nice weekend at the coast getting away from landlocked Rwanda to have some fresh seafood! We will love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had the most relaxing holiday in years. The rooms are so peaceful with lovely views of the gardens and ocean. The colours of the sea are complimented by the blaze of flowers in the gardens. Friendly staff, a delicious swimming pool, and good snorkeling - all added to our week of bliss.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masharubu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! Perhaps a painting or two of our birds or beautiful scenary will be inspired by staying here? It was our pleasure to have you here and we will look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We've had the most amazing time here at Tijara. Truly an oasis by the water. The service, food and people were fantastic. Ian is an awesome host. The walk down to the bat caves was unforgettable! Can't wait to come back! We will definitely recommend Tijara to our friends!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrissieLamchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you and we will look forward to having you back! Snorkeling is something you need to do - have a look at our newly relaunched website for underwater shots from our lagoon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed at Tijara Beach this past weekend and the place is amazing. The staff were exceptionally kind and Ian was amazing always taking time to check up on us.
The food was delicious and the stay was quiet, and what I needed before getting back to work and also for a perfect Birthday weekend romantic getaway! Keep it up Tijara team.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

We appreciate your comment and are very glad that you had such a nice stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Peaceful and beautiful, heavenly paradise, THE place to relax and get away from busy life, no hassle from beach boys as you enjoy Tijara's private beach, snorkling enjoyed by the whole family as we were out to "finding Nemo", the children now know what an "Amnemonemomne" looks like, Halima's massages while listening to the sound of the ocean making you to fall asleep no matter what time of day, lovely food, and just absolutely the right place to be when you are looking for somewhere to relax in paradise! Ian and Larissa, thank you so much for everything!

Room Tip: Cottage 3 is our favourite! But they all have stunning views, and similar facilities anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you very much! Finding Nemo expedition was a lot of fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I've stayed in a few places in Mombasa area and I was disappointed with all of them. This place changes everything. WOW!!! What a terrific place!!! Everything is just perfect. So many terrific touches. The cottages are so beautiful, the place is so private, romantic and stunning. It's difficult to put into words. I can really only say go there and you will love it as much as we did for sure. We will go back for any of our special occasions.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 which was amazing but they looked like they were all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chookmeister69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your review! We will look forward to your coming to celebrate a special occasion at Tijara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
11.2 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
132 reviews
6.8 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#13 of 60 in Mombasa
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 60 in Mombasa
3,099 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tijara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tijara Beach

Address: Kilindini | P.O. Box 99914, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Hotel Class:4 star — Tijara Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, private and secluded, yet only a short distance south from Mombasa Island in Kenya, Tijara Beach is an exclusive private resort hosting not more than 8 people. The owners who live on the property and manage it are always available should their guests need anything.Tijara is about total relaxation, getting out of touch with the world and appreciating the beauty of barefoot luxury. It is for people who appreciate tranquility, nature, personal service and absolute privacy. Unwind and renew your spirit at the best escape from the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Tijara Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tijara Beach Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing