We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, wow, wow...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porini Lion Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Lion Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

What an amazing experience! We stayed for 3 nights in tent 3 (Simba) and had such a great time! The staff couldn't have done more for us! The food and chef were superb and waiting staff, Manager and guards were great!

Our Safari guides (Big John and Jackson) were the best, great sense of humour and on every trip we saw something spectacular - we saw Cheetahs, Lions, Leopards, etc and the migration.

We really enjoyed the camp fires in the evening, the meals where all guests eat together so you are encouraged to get to know one another, the hot chocolate wake up calls, safari picnics and drink stops, hippos outside your tent in the evenings (very close) - amazing, amazing experience!

We are so grateful to everyone at Porini for looking after us and making our stay so special and wouln't hesitate in recommending!

I have used a lot of exclamation marks but I do think this was possibly our best holiday ever and largely thanks to the Porini Lion Camp Team!

Thank you again, Chris & Davina x

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisp82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    20
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
169
225
73
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Back at Porini Mara for three days - My second trip this year.

Great to be back and meet old friends both human and animals. It is getting so that I now expect to see leopards on every game drive. Acacia and Fig are regulars and are the most chilled leopards I have seen - just doing their own thing.

There was plenty of lion action also and the Porini pride were very active around the camp. This place is full of lions and there are just so many. Notwithstanding had our usual game walks and bush picnics.

There are usually like minded people here so great to come back to camp sit around the camp fire and share the days experiences.

The conservancy is teeming with game so we declined the usual day trip into the National Reserve but those that went actually saw crocodiles taking a zebra that was doing a river crossing.

Can't wait to get back

Room Tip: All the tents are spacious with a large double bed and a smaller double bed and have good views - if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safaribuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had such a wonderful experience at lion porini camp. The team knew we were on our honeymoon and made such an effort to make our stay special. Every time we drove in from a game drive, alake (sp?) the camp manager and one or or two of the massai staff were there waving and smiling to greet us, and wave us off again when we left. The personalised wake up call with tea, hot chocolate and cookies was just the absolute best! We didn't get that at any other camp or lodge we stayed at.

The tents are very large and spacious )but do get pretty warm in the middle of the day and we were there in June) big bathroom and plenty of hot water for the shower on demand. ALL the staff were just so lovely, they all made the effort to chat with us, answer our questions and offer us whatever we wanted.They really treat you like royalty at lion porini And we loved they they were always in traditional massai gear! Only something little, but we liked it.

William and Josephant were our gamedriver team and were great. They were genuinely excited to see the animals with us and get us up as close as possible. They loved seeing the photos as we took them and were both very knowledgable.

We didn't see rhino, but saw the other big4, cheetah, crocs and 2 kills, so game viewing did not disappoint! Being in a conservancy is so much better than the main reserve, cannot recommend it more highly.

The food was delicious, especially the dinners, they feed you so much it's insane. We felt bad wasting anything but sometimes we just could squeeze anything more thing in!

Everything was just wonderful here but it was the little personal touches that really made this a favourite of our 6 week African honeymoon. Will absolutely be recommending family and friends to stay at a porini camp and if we every come back to Kenya we wouldn't hesitate coming back here.

Room Tip: We had a great open view of the the vast plains and animals, but not shade on our tent so it was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Wehearttravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

As my second safari, I had some expectations. This has been a wonderful experience: the wildlife was spectacular. The conservancy is obviously thriving, with several prides of lions, leopards, elephants, large herds of buffalos, and hippos. The Masai staff and guides are friendly and very competent. Beyond a traditional safari, this camp gives you the opportunity to support the local community, exchange cultural points of view, and participate in the conservation effort of the very thing that brought you here in the first place: wildlife. This has been a holistic experience in this respect, without compromises.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MGSF2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here in January 2014. The game viewing was amazing - we saw the big 5 all on the second morning. We were very lucky - our guide hadn't seen a rhino for 5 months. The accommodation and service were great - luxury tents. Sadly, because of the terrorism threat, there were hardly any visitors to the Mara. Great for game viewing - we were the only safari truck for miles, but a shame for Kenya. The game viewing was way better then Tanzania, which we went to next. Two main reasons: first, there are far more tourists in Tanzania, and second, in the Mara the drivers are allowed to leave the road/track whereas they are not meant to do so in Tanzania (although sometimes they do).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omnitrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was my fourth visit to this camp and probably the best experience of all. The wildlife in the conservancy gets better each time. The staff and the quality of the guides is faultless - what more can I say?! Except that I hope to return soon. Everybody should experience a stay at at least one of the Porini Camps. As a tour operator I have stayed at many accommodations in Kenya and needless to say the Porini Camps, especially Porini Lion Camp are very special. The fact that the majority of the staff are local Masai is a huge attraction to me as well as the camp being very eco-friendly. I would highly recommend a visit - it will literally change your life.

Room Tip: This is all tented (luxury) accommodation and all tents are well spaced and well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

What a wonderful place!!! I have been all over the world and this trip is one of my favorite trips. The service was fabulous and being right up close with all those gorgeous animals was literally breathtaking. I took 1000 pictures and they were all beautiful. When I showed the book around to friends and co-workers, they all commented about the beautiful pictures. It was largely because we were able to get so close to all the animals. The combination of spotters and drivers in the open cars were perfect!

Room Tip: It was pretty expensive but then all safari camps are and this was worth it. Not the type of trip o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fern R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
16.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
9.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#13 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Lion Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Lion Camp

Property: Porini Lion Camp
Address: Olare Motorogi Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porini Lion Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Lion Camp is located in the exclusive 20,000 acre Olare Orok Conservancy bordering the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, home to an abundance of animals. With 10 spacious comfortably furnished tents, each with private verandahs and en-suite bathrooms, the camp is small and exclusive giving a real bush experience. Guests enjoy the game drives in open 4x4's, escorted bush walks with Maasai warriors and sundowners. The Camp is the perfect base to experience the annual wildebeest migration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Porini Lion Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porini Lion Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Lion Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing