We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Batta Bing- The grand finale"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porini Lion Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Lion Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Batta Bing- The grand finale"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a great way to start the third leg of our Kenya safari after Porini Amboseli and Mara. We started by booking with Julie from Gamewatchers, who was so patient with all our concerns and always got back to my emails or phone calls promptly. So a big shout out to Julie! We are a family of 8 so there were a lot of differing expectations and needs- especially with teens. The transfer was smooth and everyone was exactly where they were supposed to be, and we were never left wondering what's next. At Mara we were greeted by Goigotti (that's his Kenyan name) who introduced us to the beauty of the conservancy and had all of our accommodations ie. food and itinerary down to a science. The chef, Dickson, and food were excellent, especially since we drove them crazy with all our dietary restrictions, but never did we hear a complaint or a "no we can't," it was always "you are our guest and we will take of it , as it is our pleasure!" In fact, Dickson introduced us to new ways of preparing the foods we've been eating, that even the kids want us to cook it for them like had at Porini Lion Camp. The sleeping accommodations aka "tents," are anything but. If these were the tents used by Lewis and Clark, they wouldn't have come back. Luxurious is an understatement. You feel as though you are part of nature but you've left the mosquitoes behind. Running water, fully functional toilets, spacious, and very, very comfortable beds- CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN! More inviting than some 5 star hotels I've been at. But remember the room is just a great place to freshen up in comfort as the real excitement is outside. The rooms are located just outside of a beautiful stream where the animals drink and frolic, especially hippos and lions, yes lions. On day one, the guides asked us what's left on our bucket list- cheetah, leopard, and rhino we answered. "no pressure here," was the response. Day one- Leopard in a tree and much else, day two 3 cheetah on a hunt (they did not get their prey) and much, much more (crock kill, lions, hippos...), day 3 - early morning drive, not 1 but 2 black rhino! That's the Batta Bing! To end the trip on the last day we spent 2 hours watching a pride of lions play with their cubs in the conservancy. Remember there aren't a lot of people allowed on the conservancy and you can go off roading! The Masai warriors took a special interest in the kids, teaching them about their culture and the flora and fauna. We were able to manage lots of alone time, all the while knowing the kids were in great hands. Game drives were excellent, each time something new and fantastic. The guides were amazing, spotting, naming, and teaching about the various things we were seeing, all the while taking into account our over all demeanor and interest is a talent! Cats, Cats, Cats - lots of 'em! Spending time with the Masai people was eye opening and educational to the entire family and really allowed for a better appreciation of a culture so different than ours. Evening tea/coffee/hot cocoa by the fire or out in the bush was always a special touch and looked forward to. If you get a chance WALK! The conservancy has so much to offer by foot, that we almost missed the beauty of the land by not doing it the Masai Way." Lastly, a big shout out to our guides and spotters, will not mention by name so as not to miss or offend anyone, but the kids keep mentioning the time we spent on that last day walking, meeting other kids herding the sheep and wondering why everyone was asking if they read? (inside joke) (We then transferred to Nairobi) Taking the level of service, value of the staff, the guides and spotters, quality of the food and accommodations - 5 stars! Definitely recommended for an authentic experience in the African Bush. Thank you Porini for the exposure to a different culture, land, people and for doing it so well!!!

Room Tip: They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galapointernational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    20
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
169
225
73
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I was VERY impressed with Porini Lion Camp. The rooms, service, food, comfort, ambiance were all perfect for a Kenyan safari. We saw everything: leopards, lion families, cheatahs, elephants, giraffe, wildebeasts, crocodiles, zebras, etc. etc. Witnessed a river crossing. Being just outside of the Mara Park, has its advantages. I will recommend this camp to anyone who wants to go on safari in Kenya. I'm making plans for my brother and his family to go in a few months. You won't be dissappointed!

Room Tip: They were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at Lion Porini Camp for four days in October 2013, and had a truly great time. From beginning to end, everything runs smoothly. We were picked up at the airport, and on the way to he camp were already seeing all kinds of animals. The initial greeting and briefing upon arrival was insightful. The room was lovely, better than most luxury hotels i have stayed at, and everything functioned seamlessly despite the challenges of the area (they use solar panels for electricity, have very well concealed water deposits for the bathrooms, etc.). Of course you'll hear different kinds of animals through the night (hippos the most noticeable), but what do you expect, you're in a safari... The activities were varied and all entertaining and special. My girlfriend and i had a vehicle (a bit old) to ourselves, as well as a driver and a spotter. The food at the camp was fantastic. It would be great if the camp could provide a cool place to spend that lost hour or two between the morning drive and lunch, when its very hot pretty much anywhere in the camp. Otherwise, perfect in all aspects

Room Tip: You need to flash a light or call staff at night to be able to wander the camp at night (safety reas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Porini Lion Camp at the end of Oct '13 at the end of a month-long trip around East Africa (Kenya, Tanzania & Zanzibar) and it was the absolute highlight of our trip. The whole booking process (via Julie) was very smooth and straightforward and from start to finish it was well organised and we were very well looked after right through from pick up at our hotel, to being dropped back there at the end of our trip. We flew there in a light plane and were met by the very cheerful and traditionally dressed Masaai guides William & Stanley, who remained with us as our guides for the entire 4 days that we were there. The location of the camp is superb, the tents luxurious (complete with flushing toilet and bucket showers that a Masaai will hand deliver hot water to!) and every member of staff was welcoming, friendly and wanting to make your stay the best one possible. (If we were getting up at dawn for a game drive, our wake up call was a Masaai delivering coffee & tea and hot water to wash our faces in, with a cheery 'Jambo' at the door of our tent). When it was someone's birthday, the entire staff delivered a cake with the most superb Masaai singing and traditional dancing to go with it! But it was the game drives that really made this trip. William & Stanley worked hard to ensure that we saw as much as possible and were exceptionally good at knowing where to find it. We saw many different prides of lions (each of which they knew well and could explain the relationships of the lions within it); leopards (very hard to find, but we saw more than one); cheetahs; elephants; giraffe; hyenas; wildebeest; many types of antelope; vultures - you name it, we saw it on EVERY game drive too. But what was the most awesome part about it was just how close we got. There weren't too many cars competing to get near the action and all were respectful at giving each car a turn at getting close enough to see things. At times, we were also the first ones there and so had plenty of time to view things from just feet away. One time, we were so close to a male and female lion that we could have reached out and touched them (not that you would dare!) But it enabled us to really see their body language, hear the sounds they'd make to each other and really get a better understanding of how they behave in the wild. It was incredible. William & Stanley also took the trouble to find the most scenic spots for anywhere we might stop and have breakfast, lunch or a G&T sundowner. For example, we had breakfast, following a dawn game drive, overlooking a river full of hippos. Or a sundowner on a hill overlooking all the animals on the plain, as we watched the sun set. It was truly awesome. They were also very informative about what we were seeing, so we learnt a lot.
Back at camp we were also right in the middle of it all. We could observe the families of baboons just metres away, or zebra and wildebeest at a waterhole not too far away. By night, hippos would graze grass literally just feet from our tent and you could hear the zebras and hyenas calling out in the night. It has given us such a great taste of this extraordinary landscape, filled with its wondrous array of wildlife that we now definitely want to go back. If not to this camp, then possibly one of their other locations, which we have also heard great things about.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

As my husband said, "this is not the camping that I remember doing!" Luxury tents with attention to detail, wonderful service, delicious food, and game rides with excellent Maasai guides that created memories for a lifetime. We never dreamed that we would see all the animals that we did - up close and personal. If you want a trip of a lifetime, Porini Camps is the way to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGH793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashhad, Iran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I live in Kenya and my brother visited me from the US and this was his first time in Africa. I made a two week plan of extreme adventure travelling from Western Kenya to Uganda and Coast of Mombasa with a short stop in Masai Mara. Having done 5 safari trips over the last 10 years, it was becoming tougher and tougher to find a place where I knew he would have the same amazing experiences I have had, but only in a much shorter space of time - 3 days. As I was researching, two of my friends, recommended Porini Lion Camp and they told me that he is going to be spoit for his first safari experience. And they were spot on. Porini Lion Camp is now my second most favourite safari place. Not only because of it's beautiful location and the amazing animals, but also the level of professionalism of the staff and their hospitality.

We had a tough time getting to the camp due to some logistical problem - bad driver - and it took us over 15 hours to get to the camp from Mbale in Uganda. I lieu of our problems, the camp arranged for the Masai guide to come to pick us up at the Olerai Junction which is a good couple of hours drive from the camp. Although the guide was unable to reach us, he contacted his friend who had a matatu and came to pick us up and took us to the nearest town (Talek) to meet our guide. I thought that was genius and we couldn't have thanked our guides enough.

This was just the beginning. As we missed our first day of activities due to being late, the guide took us on a longer route back to the camp, so we could see animals and catch the sunset. I thought that was very considerate of them. My brother couldn't have been happier, and I was thrilled to see it all worked out at the end.

The camp is beautiful, the tents are very well managed and the tranquility of the place is indescribable. To sleep in large canvas tents, where you can undo the window zips and listen to the wildlife all around you, and gaze at the stars, is probably the best and tricky way to sleep - tricky, because you can't possibly want to sleep with everything happening around you! We heard buffalo, hippo, elephant and lions roaring in the distant, not to forget the bush babies playing around the tent.

The Masai guides are superb - they are patient, kind, tolerant with me as a keen photographer, intelligent and definitely have a sixth sense when it comes to the animals. We also visited a Masai Village, which I highly recommend. It was very well organised and we were welcomed with literally open arms and jumping young Masai men to take us into their village. Masai are very proud of their herritage, so they answer all questions and spend as much time as you need with you.

The management was also incredible from the booking team to on land management, you guys made our trip super special. The overall experience was well above my expectation. Thanks to every body in Porini Lion Camp. I will be back and my brother will come back with his family. We can't wait to bring our parents here.

Thank you and see you soon :)

Room Tip: Room are very well spaced from each other. We stayed in room 1, because on the first night we were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamiramisSarkardei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

What an absolutely wonderful experience. From our first enquiries, to making bookings, to adding trips Gamewatchers (Julie...yey!) were outstanding. The transfers, hotels, and ease of travel were made possible by the incredible local knowledge and great communication skills.

And then there are those Porini camps. For a person returning to Kenya my country of birth, after twenty years, and having "been on safari" several times, this safari was magical. The accommodations and food were excellent, but it was the service, the warmth, the sense of humour that stood out for us. As well the drivers/spotters/guides were so patient, professional and knowledgable. We stayed at the Porini Mara and Porini Lion Camps, both fantastic and, from what fellow guests said, it seems all are as good.

We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JER144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
16.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
10.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#15 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Lion Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Lion Camp

Property: Porini Lion Camp
Address: Olare Motorogi Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porini Lion Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Lion Camp is located in the exclusive 20,000 acre Olare Orok Conservancy bordering the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, home to an abundance of animals. With 10 spacious comfortably furnished tents, each with private verandahs and en-suite bathrooms, the camp is small and exclusive giving a real bush experience. Guests enjoy the game drives in open 4x4's, escorted bush walks with Maasai warriors and sundowners. The Camp is the perfect base to experience the annual wildebeest migration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Porini Lion Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porini Lion Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Lion Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing