We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get better than this!”
Review of Entim Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Entim Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doesn't get better than this!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a wonderful trip we had staying at the Entim Mara camp. David, the manager, was so wonderful and accomodating. There is nothing else in the Mara like the view we had at the camp where we were nestled along the Mara River. The food, the tents, the grounds... all were exceptional.. didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
102
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Entim camp in the Mara was fantastic.
Entim was perfect for what I had hoped to book, everything was excellent, the tents, the food, the game drives, and particularly the people in terms of the hospitality and warmth of welcome. In particular, Jonathan was our host, and I cannot use enough superlatives to describe him. I travel a lot, and have not been struck by such excellent service in many years. I liked everything about Entim, I am amazed that they manage to cook such excellent food in the middle of the Mara, the location was perfect overlooking a river and crossing area for Wilderbeest, the fact that it was unfenced was excellent (could hear the hippos outside at night, and many animals wandered past during the day), the Masai guards kept us safe at night, and worth again mentioning the superb service of Jonathan and David. Also the game drives (led by first Wilson and second by Dominick) were brilliant, we managed to see the big five and many many lions and other interesting things, I was constantly amazed at how the guides managed to find the lions and cheetahs.
I have no idea what other Mara camps are like, but they would struggle to better Entim. I plan to contact Entim directly to offer my thanks for making our stay so perfect.
Again reiterate the excellent service and hospitality of Jonathan, a massive asset to the Entim experience, keep up the good work sir!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tm2982000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Entim delivered the most amazing safari experience we could have hoped for. We came I suppose slightly ambivalent about going on a safari and that was transformed by the Entim experience. Professional in every way with a innate desire to make your stay so comfortable, safe and special. We will go again and only at Entim. Dave and Liz Edwards Whitstable Kent England.

Room Tip: 6 tents all luxurious - we were on the "south" wing which has amazing views over the Mara.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troinex, Switzerland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent 7 days at the camp in early September 2012 and enjoyed it thoroughly. Staff was great and always at our disposal. Food was delicious and the camp setting is fantastic. In addition, since the camp is located inside the park we were able to get early starts and late returns. I would certainly stay at Entim if / when I were to return to MM.
Jerry Ungar

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The camp is located at the river side and has a beautiful view of the river and the surrounding plains since it is a bit higher than the rest. The camp is located deep inside the park so the action can begin directly after starting your gamedrive. The area is good for cheetah and leopards.
You can make your own plan for the day, so go out first and come back for breakfast or have breakfast first and come back for lunch etc. This is nice since some of the camps have their own program that cannot be changed.

The tents are nice but not luxurious, but who needs that. The reason you come to the Mara is to see the animals and spent as much time on the plains as possible. Sitting in your tent would really be a waste of time. What we would have liked was some extra lights in de room since at night time it was hard to get some fresh clothes out of the bag or to read. Maybe the camp can see if they can put in some extra lights. Also a power outlet to charge batteries would be nice. You can charge your batteries in the lounge area, if you haven’t got to many batteries make sure you charged them on time since power is shut off at 11.

It is a small camp of just 10 tents what makes it very nice and intimate. All the tents are facing the river. Before dinner they make a campfire and everyone joins in to have a drink with a snack and tell each other there stories of the day. It gives a nice touch and makes you feel welcome. The food is good and they have two choices for the main course . Most of the drinks are included.
The staff is friendly and will do their best to make your stay as good as possible.

Going to the Maasai Mara it is very important which camp you pick. There are a lot of camps in this area and not all of them have a good location. A lot of camps are outside the gate. Of course you will see a lot of animals in these areas but the best changes of seeing the big cats and the wildebeest migration is inside the park. If you’re out of the park it can take you a long time to get to the river to see the migration which means that you have to leave early in the afternoon again to be on time at the gate. The gates opens and closes at 6:30. We stayed in several camps in de Mara and all were inside the gates which will give you the best changes of seeing what you wanted to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantalremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Just spent four nights at Entim Camp. Loved everything about this place. Beautiful setting on the Mara River in the very center of the Maasai Mara Reserve. The guest tents are spacious and very comfortable. The guides must be the best as we saw thousands of animals including multiple sightings of the big cats with their cubs. Staffers Jonathon and Lexie are wonderful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HarryTindall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just the best Mara location - for the best wildlife experience ever
-and we have spent many years on safari
It was so good to catch up with wonderful staff we had met previously
Just hope we can return
Kenya is a little far from New Zealand

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valentia40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
14.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
16.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#29 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
900 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
320 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entim Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entim Camp

Property: Entim Camp
Address: PO Box 64196 | Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00620, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entim is located inside the the Masai Mara game reserve and overlooks the mara river One of the migration crossing points is in front of the camp and guests are privileged to enjoy a private crossings in season. The camp is ideal for photographers and private game viewing in our panoramic location.The camp has a private wing that is ideal for photographers. It offers a Photographic tent that is fully equipped with i mac computers and projectors. The camp has new land cruisers customised for game viewing ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Entim Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Entim Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing