We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This was our second trip and its just as good as 2007 with the improvement of the hotel's bridge over the Talek river which means that you can save time on the drive into the Mara reserve.
The tents (rooms) are wonderful and the friendly staff are kind and genuine.
We loved to hear the animals in the night - safe inside our tent, and to see the stars so bright in the dark sky. Get up early and see the sunrise over the hills. Stay out until dusk. Lots of lions in the park just now.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 184 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2010

What else is there to say? A top-notch African safari experience; we can't think of anything that could have made our stay more enjoyable. Camp staff are outstanding, the grounds are beautiful, the tents are unforgettable, and the dining is superb. Met or exceeded all of our expectations.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank gsa_and_av
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed in this camp for two nights during our three tay safari.The tents were all different inside,some with large kingsize bed(ours) or two large double beds. The shower and wc were better than those at our hotel.shower gel shampoo etc provided,even mosqueto repelent. The food was waiter service,with a good choice of three courses meals. The prices for drinks etc reasonable. The staff you couldn't fault, your bed made up everyday while your out on a drive. Then again its prpared later while your on your evening drive. certainly the best I have stayed in. see pics

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We arranged our safari with WT safaris.. a 3 day trip to Masai Mara. the camp was absolutely amazing... stunning scenary. hearing hyenas at night was incredible. or masai guides.. Dee and Jonathon were great, brilliant spotters and really nice. The manager was great too always making sure we were ok and having a good time. we spotted 3 of the big five missing leopard and rhino. the cheetah and her 3 cubs were beautiful and the highlight of the safari.. and seeing a gazelle being born was amazing too. amazing safari from a beautiful camp. loved it. cant wait to go back to the Mara! xxx

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlecaz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Had a great 3 night stay here. Evans the manager, along with Dee & Jonathon our masai guides could not have been better. The rooms were amazing. Food & service was fantastic.
This was our 6th safari & can honesty say that we had the best game drives ever. Within minutes of landing we saw lion, giraffe etc. also saw a thomson gazelle being born only to see a mother cheetah taking it to her 3 young cubs. We also witnessed the crossing at the Mara river which was a bit gruesome, massive crocs!!
Only minus was the terrible drought that they are having. The masai can not usualy graze their cattle in the park but the restriction was lifted, which meant that their stock grazed near to the camp, which pushed the wild animals away. Although you could not blame the masai for that as their animals are dying. All in all a fantastic experience, well recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toscaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

I recently stayed at this tented camp for three nights. The employees were always very friendly and helpful. Two of our group members were sick, and their main concern was the welfare of these two. They took food to the tents and checked on them. The food was excellant, and offered a variety every night. I loved listening to the animals during the night.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandaPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Well were do i start...

Having never been to "the Mara" before i didn't really know what to expect. However, as soon as we arrived at Tipilikwani I knew this was going to be a truly wonderful experience.

We were met by Uri who is the manager and he explained a few things whilst we were supplied with delicious niblets (much needed after a long bumpy 5 hour drive from Nairobi, definitely going to fly next time).

The food was as good and varied as Ive had in any hotel, beautiful breakfasts, 3 course lunch and 5 course dinner. The restaurant offers a panoramic view across the Mara.

The tents as comfortable as any hotel room and they even put a hot water bottle in your bed for when we return after dinner which was a nice touch. Each tent also has a fantastic balcony view over the Talek River and onto the Mara where you can sit and watch the wildlife walk by.

We felt safe at all times especially at night because a Masai Warrior is on hand to escort you to and from your tent.

As for the location the camp is 10 mins outside the Talek gate which wasn't a problem.

I for one will definitely be returning to Tipilikwani sometime soon and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.5 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
235 reviews
12.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,051 reviews
12.7 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#38 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,047 reviews
8.5 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#67 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
191 reviews
5.6 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#24 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara

Address: C14 Keekorok | Pio Gama Pinto Road, Westlands, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $344 - $895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This uniquely situated luxury camp on the banks of the Talek River overlooks the mottled plains of the Maasai Mara, where vast herds of wildlife co-exist with the colourful Maasai people. Between June and October the Maasai Mara plays host to one of the most spectacular wildlife shows on earth the great annual migration of over a million wildebeest and zebra as they enter the Mara ecosystem from Serengeti in neighbouring Tanzania. Tipilikwani's tents enjoy river frontage and are decorated with warm, rich Maasai colours. The family tents have a stand alone bath tub in addition to showers. Excellent food, personalised service and traditional Kenyan hospitality further compliment the prime location. Game drives offer the unforgettable opportunity to enjoy the diversity of animals and birds living permanently in the Masai Mara, as well as many migratory species. Guests can also learn more about the Masai people, proud pastoralists and warriors, many of whom still retain their traditional nomadic lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing