We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a very memorable stay at the camp.The staff were very co-operative.We had our parent travelling with us and the chefs went out of the way to make a dish catering to our taste so my parents were comfortable.The staffs were always available at our service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutiecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    42
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
55
53
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Everything was just perfect at this lodge. The rooms were well kept and clean. The washrooms were well equipped and, quite frankly, much nicer than I expected in a tented lodge. The food was great and the staff were great. Would not hesitate to return to this property. Great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Tiplilikwani is a perfect place to stay if your primary goal for a trip to the Mara is to spend the day on safari, and only sleep and eat at the camp at night. The food is perfectly adequate and the rooms are spacious. However, there is really nothing else to do at the camp, and during the day you'll want to be out driving through the Reserve.

Highlight: They do provide great breakfasts "to go." We recommend having them pack up your breakfast and head out of the camp at dawn. This is the best time to see animals (especially lions) and then you can stop mid morning to enjoy your breakfast in the middle of the Mara.

Ultimately, the price is reasonable for what you receive, but if you are looking for more of a luxurious camp, better cuisine for your evening meal, or if you're hoping to spend part of your holiday relaxing at a property, check out other camps.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bucketlisters202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Personal and genuine service by staff at Tipilikwani camp – George and Mary, our waiters and Dennis and James our housekeeper. Chef Samuel at Tipilikwani camp deserves special mention. We believe he could be one of the best chefs in Africa!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMavenNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We arrived at the lodge after a bone rattling 4 wheel drive from Kisumu. The food we were offered on arrival was excellent and our rooms were fabulous. We went on both the early morning and evening game drives and saw the big five plus cheetahs, a leopard and some wonderful colourful birds. We also went hot air ballooning and seeing the Mara from the air was another amazing experience.
There isn't a swimming pool at the lodge but guest can use the one at the Mara Leisure Camp which isn't far away. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Tipilikwani the staff are friendly, food great, beds very comfortable (even a hot water bottle) as it does become cool at night.

Will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Considering that they are part of the same Atua Enkop group,The Tiplikwani hotel was strictly average in terms of their hospitality. The place per se is very nice but the service is very poor compared to the other hotels in the chain. The staff is arrogant and care too hoots about the guests. In fact we found that the Manager of the hotel would end up eating his meals before the guests would. AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nishank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at Tipilikwani Camp. We were especially happy with the service we recieved, our 2 year old son so well looked after and we appreciated the extra touches like special meals made for him.
We enjoyed the meals, and felt full for most of the holiday! Lovely cakes!!

Room Tip: The family room has a bath and plenty of room for a little one to run around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
11.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
225 reviews
12.7 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#39 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,022 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
821 reviews
5.6 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#23 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara

Property: Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Address: C14 Keekorok | Pio Gama Pinto Road, Westlands, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This uniquely situated luxury camp on the banks of the Talek River overlooks the mottled plains of the Maasai Mara, where vast herds of wildlife co-exist with the colourful Maasai people. Between June and October the Maasai Mara plays host to one of the most spectacular wildlife shows on earth the great annual migration of over a million wildebeest and zebra as they enter the Mara ecosystem from Serengeti in neighbouring Tanzania. Tipilikwani's tents enjoy river frontage and are decorated with warm, rich Maasai colours. The family tents have a stand alone bath tub in addition to showers. Excellent food, personalised service and traditional Kenyan hospitality further compliment the prime location. Game drives offer the unforgettable opportunity to enjoy the diversity of animals and birds living permanently in the Masai Mara, as well as many migratory species. Guests can also learn more about the Masai people, proud pastoralists and warriors, many of whom still retain their traditional nomadic lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing