We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accomodations and Amazing Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp to your Saves list
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14 Keekorok -Masai Mara Reserve- | Parklands Road off Waiyaki Way, PO Box 42475, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Accomodations and Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Everything was just perfect at this lodge. The rooms were well kept and clean. The washrooms were well equipped and, quite frankly, much nicer than I expected in a tented lodge. The food was great and the staff were great. Would not hesitate to return to this property. Great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Tiplilikwani is a perfect place to stay if your primary goal for a trip to the Mara is to spend the day on safari, and only sleep and eat at the camp at night. The food is perfectly adequate and the rooms are spacious. However, there is really nothing else to do at the camp, and during the day you'll want to be out driving through the Reserve.

Highlight: They do provide great breakfasts "to go." We recommend having them pack up your breakfast and head out of the camp at dawn. This is the best time to see animals (especially lions) and then you can stop mid morning to enjoy your breakfast in the middle of the Mara.

Ultimately, the price is reasonable for what you receive, but if you are looking for more of a luxurious camp, better cuisine for your evening meal, or if you're hoping to spend part of your holiday relaxing at a property, check out other camps.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bucketlisters202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Personal and genuine service by staff at Tipilikwani camp – George and Mary, our waiters and Dennis and James our housekeeper. Chef Samuel at Tipilikwani camp deserves special mention. We believe he could be one of the best chefs in Africa!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMavenNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We arrived at the lodge after a bone rattling 4 wheel drive from Kisumu. The food we were offered on arrival was excellent and our rooms were fabulous. We went on both the early morning and evening game drives and saw the big five plus cheetahs, a leopard and some wonderful colourful birds. We also went hot air ballooning and seeing the Mara from the air was another amazing experience.
There isn't a swimming pool at the lodge but guest can use the one at the Mara Leisure Camp which isn't far away. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Tipilikwani the staff are friendly, food great, beds very comfortable (even a hot water bottle) as it does become cool at night.

Will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Considering that they are part of the same Atua Enkop group,The Tiplikwani hotel was strictly average in terms of their hospitality. The place per se is very nice but the service is very poor compared to the other hotels in the chain. The staff is arrogant and care too hoots about the guests. In fact we found that the Manager of the hotel would end up eating his meals before the guests would. AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nishank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at Tipilikwani Camp. We were especially happy with the service we recieved, our 2 year old son so well looked after and we appreciated the extra touches like special meals made for him.
We enjoyed the meals, and felt full for most of the holiday! Lovely cakes!!

Room Tip: The family room has a bath and plenty of room for a little one to run around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful 3 week holiday in Kenya but our 5 day Safari experience was the best experience i will treasure for the rest of my life!!!
Our safari was organised by JT SAFARIS (Julius) in Diani, Mombasa. We stayed at ASHNIL CAMP (Masai Mara) the 1st night and TIPILIKWANI CAMP (Masai Mara) the 2nd night. Both camps were special and very unique but i think there were better viewing points from TIPILIKWANI CAMP. The sad thing is that we arrived late when it was dark and had to be up very early the next morning for our 8 hour drive to Lake Nkuru and so we didn't have any time here to relax and appreciate everything the camp has to offer. We cannot find anything to complain about - the staff were very welcoming on our arrival and remained so throughout our short stay. The food was delicious too!! The price we paid through JT SAFARIS was cheap and yet we got what seemed to be Royal - 5* accomodation!!! Well done Julius at JT SAFARIS and thank you for all your hard work finding us the best accomodation!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEDDY64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp
#25 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
0.0 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#15 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
15.9 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#70 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok -Masai Mara Reserve- | Parklands Road off Waiyaki Way, PO Box 42475, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing